Technical reference
Buffalo LinkStation 220 12TB specifications
LS220D1202 · 2 bays · 12TB HDDs included · US configuration
Complete specifications with requirements, upgrade limits and sources. For our buying judgment, reviews and prices, return to the buying guide.
Find a specification
All specifications are shown below. Jump to a category or search for a detail, including its requirements and sources.
Search all 43 specifications, including conditions and limits.
Identity
Manufacturer values and explicit qualification notes.
| Exact manufacturer model | LS220D1202[1] United States factory-populated configuration; the B suffix identifies SoHo. |
|---|---|
| Country of Origin | Japan[1] Manufacturer Specifications → Identity → Country of Origin; 220 column where applicable. |
Storage
Manufacturer values and explicit qualification notes.
| Included raw HDD capacity | 12 TB total[1] 2 installed HDD(s); capacity before RAID, formatting and system overhead. |
|---|---|
| Capacity with drive-failure protection | About 6 TB before overhead in RAID 1[1] Calculated from two equal-capacity disks; RAID is not a backup. |
| Number of drive bays | 2[1] Manufacturer Specifications → Storage → Number of drive bays; 220 column where applicable. |
| Drive interface | SATA 3 Gbps[1] Manufacturer Specifications → Storage → Drive interface; 220 column where applicable. |
| Supported RAID levels | 0/1/JBOD[1] Manufacturer Specifications → Storage → Supported RAID levels; 220 column where applicable. |
| Included HDD model, RPM and recording method | Not guaranteed for current retail inventory[1] A past review sample does not establish the HDD revision supplied today. |
| M.2 NVMe and PCIe expansion | No supported upgrade documented in the reviewed US specification[1] The product is sold as a populated SATA appliance; obtain model-specific confirmation before planning upgrades. |
| Internal filesystem and snapshot support | Not established by the cited US product page[1] No Btrfs/ZFS snapshot capability is assumed. |
Compute
Manufacturer values and explicit qualification notes.
| Processor | 800 MHz dual issue ARM[1] Manufacturer Specifications → Compute → Processor; 220 column where applicable. |
|---|---|
| Memory | 256 MB DDR3[1] Manufacturer Specifications → Compute → Memory; 220 column where applicable. |
| Maximum memory / user expansion | Not specified in the reviewed US documents[1] Do not assume the installed memory can be upgraded. |
Network
Manufacturer values and explicit qualification notes.
| Standards compliance | IEEE802.3 (10BASE-T), IEEE802.3u (100BASE-TX), IEEE802.3ab (1000BASE-T), AUTO-MDIX[1] Manufacturer Specifications → Network → Standards compliance; 220 column where applicable. |
|---|---|
| Data transfer rates | 10/100/1000 Mbps (auto sensing)[1] Manufacturer Specifications → Network → Data transfer rates; 220 column where applicable. |
| Number of ports | 1[1] Manufacturer Specifications → Network → Number of ports; 220 column where applicable. |
| Connector type | RJ-45[1] Manufacturer Specifications → Network → Connector type; 220 column where applicable. |
| Supported protocols | TCP/IP[1] Manufacturer Specifications → Network → Supported protocols; 220 column where applicable. |
| Network file services | CIFS/SMB, AFP, HTTP/HTTPS, FTP[1] Manufacturer Specifications → Network → Network file services; 220 column where applicable. |
USB
Manufacturer values and explicit qualification notes.
| Standards compliance | USB 2.0[1] Manufacturer Specifications → USB → Standards compliance; 220 column where applicable. |
|---|---|
| Data transfer rates | 480 Mbps* (USB 2.0)[1] Manufacturer Specifications → USB → Data transfer rates; 220 column where applicable. |
| Number of ports | 1[1] Manufacturer Specifications → USB → Number of ports; 220 column where applicable. |
Power and environment
Manufacturer values and explicit qualification notes.
| Power consumption | Max 48W[1] Manufacturer Specifications → Power and environment → Power consumption; 220 column where applicable. Rated maximum, not measured average consumption. |
|---|---|
| Power supply | External AC 100-240V Universal 50/60Hz[1] Manufacturer Specifications → Power and environment → Power supply; 220 column where applicable. |
| Operating temperature | 41˚ - 95˚F (5˚ - 35˚C)[1] Manufacturer Specifications → Power and environment → Operating temperature; 220 column where applicable. |
| Operating humidity | 20 - 80% non-condensing[1] Manufacturer Specifications → Power and environment → Operating humidity; 220 column where applicable. |
| Idle/load power and acoustic measurement | No applicable current-stock measurement established[1] Official maximum power is not idle consumption or acoustic performance. |
Physical and included items
Manufacturer values and explicit qualification notes.
| Dimensions (L x W x H) | 8.07 x 3.42 x 5.02 in[1] Manufacturer Specifications → Physical and included items → Dimensions (L x W x H); 220 column where applicable. |
|---|---|
| Weight | 5.5 lbs[1] Manufacturer Specifications → Physical and included items → Weight; 220 column where applicable. |
| Compatible hard drives (LinkStation™ 220 only) | OP-HDBST-3Y Series[1] Manufacturer Specifications → Physical and included items → Compatible hard drives (LinkStation™ 220 only); 220 column where applicable. |
| Client OS support | Windows 11; Windows® 10; Windows® 8 (32-bit/64-bit); Windows® 8.1 (32-bit/64-bit); Windows® 7 (32-bit/64-bit) Windows Vista® (32-bit/64-bit); Windows® XP; Windows® 2000; Windows Server® 2012; Windows Server® 2008; Windows Server® 2003; Windows® 2000 Server; Mac OS® X up to 10.10*[1] Manufacturer Specifications → Physical and included items → Client OS support; 220 column where applicable. Legacy OS list does not establish current Time Machine support; see the separate macOS 26 row. The web table incorrectly attaches 32-bit to Windows 11; that suffix is omitted. |
| Included software | NAS Navigator 2; NovaBACKUP Buffalo Edition (registration required for download)[1] Manufacturer Specifications → Physical and included items → Included software; 220 column where applicable. |
| Box contents | LinkStation™, Setup CD-ROM, Quick setup guide, Ethernet cable, AC adapter, Warranty Statement[1] Manufacturer Specifications → Physical and included items → Box contents; 220 column where applicable. |
Software and backup
Manufacturer values and explicit qualification notes.
| macOS 26 Time Machine | LS200 listed as not compatible in Buffalo KB6060[2] The notice distinguishes existing AFP setups from new Time Machine configurations; this is version-specific. |
|---|---|
| Backup utilities | NAS Navigator 2; NovaBACKUP Buffalo Edition; USB backup[1] Check registration and the license terms for the supplied edition; cloud storage accounts and capacity can cost extra. |
| Remote file access | Buffalo WebAccess[1] Remote access depends on your network setup and supported client; local file sharing works on the LAN. |
| Docker, virtual machines and advanced media transcoding | No supported host or transcoding workload established[1] File serving and DLNA availability do not prove Plex hardware transcoding or an expandable app platform. |
| Published firmware in the checked download table | 1.86 (2025-10-30)[1] Observation of the manufacturer download table; not a claim about the version installed in a shipped unit. |
Ownership
Manufacturer values and explicit qualification notes.
| US limited warranty | 2 years[3] Current Buffalo Americas warranty table; retain proof of purchase and observe region conditions. |
|---|---|
| Data recovery and replacement terms | Data is not covered by the hardware warranty[3] Recovery service availability is not a recovery guarantee; a separate backup remains necessary. |
Additional verified notes
Capacity-page footnotes, related benches and source conflicts recorded this round.
| Observed vs claimed factory RAID default | US consumer spec table does not state the shipped RAID mode[1][7] ServeTheHome's empty LS220D started in JBOD. Some merchant Q&A claim RAID 1 default. Confirm the array in NAS Navigator before copying data. |
|---|---|
| Cooling — merchant vs photos | Rear fan present in independent LS220D / SoHo photos; B&H spec table says Cooling No[7][8] Do not use the B&H Cooling No field. No dBA figure is adopted. |
| NAS Navigator for Windows in the 2026-09-11 download table | 3.1.6 (2026-08-07)[1] Utility version on the family download table; not the firmware inside a sealed retail unit. |
Exact product identity & open questions
- Manufacturer model
- LS220D1202[1]
- US factory configuration
- 12TB total across 2 HDD(s)[1]
- SoHo / B-suffix relationship
- US SoHo SKUs add a B suffix (for example LS220D0402B) and are a different catalog product[1]
- Current included HDD revision: Exact HDD model, recording method, workload rating and firmware supplied in current inventory are not guaranteed in the reviewed US documents.
- Undocumented expansion and filesystem details: Maximum memory, internal filesystem, snapshots and third-party application hosting are not established; no such capabilities are promised.
- Applicable independent test: No accepted original test of this exact factory-populated US capacity. ServeTheHome measured an empty LS220D with two user-installed WD Red 4TB disks (ATTO RAID 1 text ~55 MB/s writes; idle ~12.4 W). TweakTown's SoHo LS220D0402B with 2×2TB WD Blue copied a 10GB file at 27/24 MB/s write (RAID 0/1) and a 600MB file at 51/49 MB/s read. Neither sample is this factory-populated US SKU.
- Video ASR and frames: YouTube extraction failed this round. tCsgfaJBI9M appears to be an LS210 2TB listing video; dPhV43m-reI is Lon.TV LS720. No listening or frame claims.
Sources
Research updated Sep 11, 2026. Individual source check dates are listed below. Measurements belong to the named reviewers; tested configurations and software versions may differ from the product you buy.
- [1] Buffalo LinkStation 220 12TB official specifications ↗
Checked Sep 11, 2026 · Specifications tables → 210/220 columns; Downloads firmware 1.86 (2025-10-30); NAS Navigator 3.1.6 (2026-08-07)
- [2] Buffalo macOS 26 Time Machine compatibility ↗
Checked Sep 11, 2026 · KB6060 → Model Series Compatibility; article updated 2025-10-13
- [3] Buffalo Americas warranty terms ↗
Checked Sep 11, 2026 · NAS warranty table → LS200/LS700 or SoHo; proof of purchase and region restrictions
- [4] Amazon — LS220D1202 ↗
Checked Sep 10, 2026 · Product information → Model Number / Mfr Part Number; selected retail buy box; Sold by Buffalo Americas Inc. Main price requires cart.
- [5] Best Buy — LS220D1202 ↗
Checked Sep 10, 2026 · Product heading / Model; Sold & shipped by; New marketplace offers. Cached delivery dates are not a current offer observation.
- [6] Buffalo Americas LinkStation 220 ↗
Checked Sep 11, 2026 · Overview RAID 0/1; family firmware still on 200-series downloads
- [7] ServeTheHome LS220D 2-Drive NAS Review ↗
Checked Sep 11, 2026 · Empty enclosure + 2× WD Red 4TB; ATTO/NASPT/power; JBOD default
- [8] TweakTown LinkStation SOHO 4TB NAS Review ↗
Checked Sep 11, 2026 · LS220D0402B 2×2TB WD Blue SMB 10GB/600MB transfers; Wayback 2026-09-11
- [9] B&H LS220D1202 ↗
Checked Sep 11, 2026 · Heading Buffalo 12TB LinkStation 220 NAS Server (2 x 6TB); In Stock; $461.99; Specs → 2x 6 TB SATA II.
Research and review record
- Research: Grok 4.6 · Source research and data update
- Self-check: Grok 4.6 · Researcher self-check
- Independent review: GPT-6 (Codex) · Official exact-capacity SKU tables and family/legacy footnotes, documented software limitations and conflicts, original review applicability and complete available measurements, dated primary merchant evidence; inaccessible evidence remains explicit.
- Editorial integration: GPT-6 (Codex) · Editorial integration and validation
Independent review completed for the scope recorded in the audit.
Source evidence and review history (JSON)