Skip to content
← Back to buying guide

Technical reference

Buffalo LinkStation 220 8TB specifications

LS220D0802 · 2 bays · 8TB HDDs included · US configuration

Complete specifications with requirements, upgrade limits and sources. For our buying judgment, reviews and prices, return to the buying guide.

Find a specification

All specifications are shown below. Jump to a category or search for a detail, including its requirements and sources.

Search all 43 specifications, including conditions and limits.

Identity

Manufacturer values and explicit qualification notes.

Identity specifications
Exact manufacturer modelLS220D0802[1]

United States factory-populated configuration; the B suffix identifies SoHo.

Country of OriginJapan[1]

Manufacturer Specifications → Identity → Country of Origin; 220 column where applicable.

Storage

Manufacturer values and explicit qualification notes.

Storage specifications
Included raw HDD capacity8 TB total[1]

2 installed HDD(s); capacity before RAID, formatting and system overhead.

Capacity with drive-failure protectionAbout 4 TB before overhead in RAID 1[1]

Calculated from two equal-capacity disks; RAID is not a backup.

Number of drive bays2[1]

Manufacturer Specifications → Storage → Number of drive bays; 220 column where applicable.

Drive interfaceSATA 3 Gbps[1]

Manufacturer Specifications → Storage → Drive interface; 220 column where applicable.

Supported RAID levels0/1/JBOD[1]

Manufacturer Specifications → Storage → Supported RAID levels; 220 column where applicable.

Included HDD model, RPM and recording methodNot guaranteed for current retail inventory[1]

A past review sample does not establish the HDD revision supplied today.

M.2 NVMe and PCIe expansionNo supported upgrade documented in the reviewed US specification[1]

The product is sold as a populated SATA appliance; obtain model-specific confirmation before planning upgrades.

Internal filesystem and snapshot supportNot established by the cited US product page[1]

No Btrfs/ZFS snapshot capability is assumed.

Compute

Manufacturer values and explicit qualification notes.

Compute specifications
Processor800 MHz dual issue ARM[1]

Manufacturer Specifications → Compute → Processor; 220 column where applicable.

Memory256 MB DDR3[1]

Manufacturer Specifications → Compute → Memory; 220 column where applicable.

Maximum memory / user expansionNot specified in the reviewed US documents[1]

Do not assume the installed memory can be upgraded.

Network

Manufacturer values and explicit qualification notes.

Network specifications
Standards complianceIEEE802.3 (10BASE-T), IEEE802.3u (100BASE-TX), IEEE802.3ab (1000BASE-T), AUTO-MDIX[1]

Manufacturer Specifications → Network → Standards compliance; 220 column where applicable.

Data transfer rates10/100/1000 Mbps (auto sensing)[1]

Manufacturer Specifications → Network → Data transfer rates; 220 column where applicable.

Number of ports1[1]

Manufacturer Specifications → Network → Number of ports; 220 column where applicable.

Connector typeRJ-45[1]

Manufacturer Specifications → Network → Connector type; 220 column where applicable.

Supported protocolsTCP/IP[1]

Manufacturer Specifications → Network → Supported protocols; 220 column where applicable.

Network file servicesCIFS/SMB, AFP, HTTP/HTTPS, FTP[1]

Manufacturer Specifications → Network → Network file services; 220 column where applicable.

USB

Manufacturer values and explicit qualification notes.

USB specifications
Standards complianceUSB 2.0[1]

Manufacturer Specifications → USB → Standards compliance; 220 column where applicable.

Data transfer rates480 Mbps* (USB 2.0)[1]

Manufacturer Specifications → USB → Data transfer rates; 220 column where applicable.

Number of ports1[1]

Manufacturer Specifications → USB → Number of ports; 220 column where applicable.

Power and environment

Manufacturer values and explicit qualification notes.

Power and environment specifications
Power consumptionMax 48W[1]

Manufacturer Specifications → Power and environment → Power consumption; 220 column where applicable. Rated maximum, not measured average consumption.

Power supplyExternal AC 100-240V Universal 50/60Hz[1]

Manufacturer Specifications → Power and environment → Power supply; 220 column where applicable.

Operating temperature41˚ - 95˚F (5˚ - 35˚C)[1]

Manufacturer Specifications → Power and environment → Operating temperature; 220 column where applicable.

Operating humidity20 - 80% non-condensing[1]

Manufacturer Specifications → Power and environment → Operating humidity; 220 column where applicable.

Idle/load power and acoustic measurementNo applicable current-stock measurement established[1]

Official maximum power is not idle consumption or acoustic performance.

Physical and included items

Manufacturer values and explicit qualification notes.

Physical and included items specifications
Dimensions (L x W x H)8.07 x 3.42 x 5.02 in[1]

Manufacturer Specifications → Physical and included items → Dimensions (L x W x H); 220 column where applicable.

Weight5.5 lbs[1]

Manufacturer Specifications → Physical and included items → Weight; 220 column where applicable.

Compatible hard drives (LinkStation™ 220 only)OP-HDBST-3Y Series[1]

Manufacturer Specifications → Physical and included items → Compatible hard drives (LinkStation™ 220 only); 220 column where applicable.

Client OS supportWindows 11; Windows® 10; Windows® 8 (32-bit/64-bit); Windows® 8.1 (32-bit/64-bit); Windows® 7 (32-bit/64-bit) Windows Vista® (32-bit/64-bit); Windows® XP; Windows® 2000; Windows Server® 2012; Windows Server® 2008; Windows Server® 2003; Windows® 2000 Server; Mac OS® X up to 10.10*[1]

Manufacturer Specifications → Physical and included items → Client OS support; 220 column where applicable. Legacy OS list does not establish current Time Machine support; see the separate macOS 26 row. The web table incorrectly attaches 32-bit to Windows 11; that suffix is omitted.

Included softwareNAS Navigator 2; NovaBACKUP Buffalo Edition (registration required for download)[1]

Manufacturer Specifications → Physical and included items → Included software; 220 column where applicable.

Box contentsLinkStation™, Setup CD-ROM, Quick setup guide, Ethernet cable, AC adapter, Warranty Statement[1]

Manufacturer Specifications → Physical and included items → Box contents; 220 column where applicable.

Software and backup

Manufacturer values and explicit qualification notes.

Software and backup specifications
macOS 26 Time MachineLS200 listed as not compatible in Buffalo KB6060[2]

The notice distinguishes existing AFP setups from new Time Machine configurations; this is version-specific.

Backup utilitiesNAS Navigator 2; NovaBACKUP Buffalo Edition; USB backup[1]

Check registration and the license terms for the supplied edition; cloud storage accounts and capacity can cost extra.

Remote file accessBuffalo WebAccess[1]

Remote access depends on your network setup and supported client; local file sharing works on the LAN.

Docker, virtual machines and advanced media transcodingNo supported host or transcoding workload established[1]

File serving and DLNA availability do not prove Plex hardware transcoding or an expandable app platform.

Published firmware in the checked download table1.86 (2025-10-30)[1]

Observation of the manufacturer download table; not a claim about the version installed in a shipped unit.

Ownership

Manufacturer values and explicit qualification notes.

Ownership specifications
US limited warranty2 years[3]

Current Buffalo Americas warranty table; retain proof of purchase and observe region conditions.

Data recovery and replacement termsData is not covered by the hardware warranty[3]

Recovery service availability is not a recovery guarantee; a separate backup remains necessary.

Additional verified notes

Capacity-page footnotes, related benches and source conflicts recorded this round.

Additional verified notes specifications
Observed vs claimed factory RAID defaultUS consumer spec table does not state the shipped RAID mode[1][7]

ServeTheHome's empty LS220D started in JBOD. Some merchant Q&A claim RAID 1 default. Confirm the array in NAS Navigator before copying data.

Cooling — merchant vs photosRear fan present in independent LS220D / SoHo photos; B&H spec table says Cooling No[7][8]

Do not use the B&H Cooling No field. No dBA figure is adopted.

NAS Navigator for Windows in the 2026-09-11 download table3.1.6 (2026-08-07)[1]

Utility version on the family download table; not the firmware inside a sealed retail unit.

Exact product identity & open questions

Manufacturer model
LS220D0802[1]
US factory configuration
8TB total across 2 HDD(s)[1]
SoHo / B-suffix relationship
US SoHo SKUs add a B suffix (for example LS220D0402B) and are a different catalog product[1]
  • Current included HDD revision: Exact HDD model, recording method, workload rating and firmware supplied in current inventory are not guaranteed in the reviewed US documents.
  • Undocumented expansion and filesystem details: Maximum memory, internal filesystem, snapshots and third-party application hosting are not established; no such capabilities are promised.
  • Applicable independent test: No accepted original test of this exact factory-populated US capacity. ServeTheHome measured an empty LS220D with two user-installed WD Red 4TB disks (ATTO RAID 1 text ~55 MB/s writes; idle ~12.4 W). TweakTown's SoHo LS220D0402B with 2×2TB WD Blue copied a 10GB file at 27/24 MB/s write (RAID 0/1) and a 600MB file at 51/49 MB/s read. Neither sample is this factory-populated US SKU.
  • Video ASR and frames: YouTube extraction failed this round. tCsgfaJBI9M appears to be an LS210 2TB listing video; dPhV43m-reI is Lon.TV LS720. No listening or frame claims.

Sources

Research updated Sep 11, 2026. Individual source check dates are listed below. Measurements belong to the named reviewers; tested configurations and software versions may differ from the product you buy.

  1. [1] Buffalo LinkStation 220 8TB official specifications ↗

    Checked Sep 11, 2026 · Specifications tables → 210/220 columns; Downloads firmware 1.86 (2025-10-30); NAS Navigator 3.1.6 (2026-08-07)

  2. [2] Buffalo macOS 26 Time Machine compatibility ↗

    Checked Sep 11, 2026 · KB6060 → Model Series Compatibility; article updated 2025-10-13

  3. [3] Buffalo Americas warranty terms ↗

    Checked Sep 11, 2026 · NAS warranty table → LS200/LS700 or SoHo; proof of purchase and region restrictions

  4. [4] Amazon — LS220D0802 ↗

    Checked Sep 10, 2026 · Product information → Model Number / Mfr Part Number; selected retail buy box; Sold by Buffalo Americas Inc. Main price requires cart.

  5. [5] Best Buy — LS220D0802 ↗

    Checked Sep 10, 2026 · Product heading / Model; Sold & shipped by; New marketplace offers. Cached delivery dates are not a current offer observation.

  6. [6] Buffalo Americas LinkStation 220 ↗

    Checked Sep 11, 2026 · Overview RAID 0/1; family firmware still on 200-series downloads

  7. [7] ServeTheHome LS220D 2-Drive NAS Review ↗

    Checked Sep 11, 2026 · Empty enclosure + 2× WD Red 4TB; ATTO/NASPT/power; JBOD default

  8. [8] TweakTown LinkStation SOHO 4TB NAS Review ↗

    Checked Sep 11, 2026 · LS220D0402B 2×2TB WD Blue SMB 10GB/600MB transfers; Wayback 2026-09-11

  9. [9] B&H LS220D0802 ↗

    Checked Sep 11, 2026 · Heading Buffalo 8TB LinkStation 220 NAS Server (2 x 4TB); Temporarily Out of Stock; expected Sep 18, 2026; $362.99.

Research and review record

  • Research: Grok 4.6 · Source research and data update
  • Self-check: Grok 4.6 · Researcher self-check
  • Independent review: GPT-6 (Codex) · Official exact-capacity SKU tables and family/legacy footnotes, documented software limitations and conflicts, original review applicability and complete available measurements, dated primary merchant evidence; inaccessible evidence remains explicit.
  • Editorial integration: GPT-6 (Codex) · Editorial integration and validation

Independent review completed for the scope recorded in the audit.

Source evidence and review history (JSON)

How we research products·Affiliate disclosure