Skip to content
← Back to buying guide

Technical reference

Synology Enterprise Series HAT5310-16T 16TB specifications

One Synology Enterprise Series 16TB HAT5310-16T internal SATA hard drive. NAS enclosure and other drives sold separately.

Complete specifications with requirements, upgrade limits and sources. For our buying judgment, reviews and prices, return to the buying guide.

Find a specification

All specifications are shown below. Jump to a category or search for a detail, including its requirements and sources.

Search all 33 specifications, including conditions and limits.

Exact identity & capacity

Match the complete model number and plan usable capacity.

Exact identity & capacity specifications
Capacity16TB decimal[1]
Exact modelHAT5310-16T[1]

Connection & sector format

Check the physical bay, SATA connection and sector presentation.

Connection & sector format specifications
Form factor / interface3.5-inch / SATA 6Gb/s[1]
Sector format512e[1]

Recording & NAS firmware

These rows distinguish recording method, vibration controls and vendor integration.

Recording & NAS firmware specifications
Recording / drive designCMR / Helium-sealed[1]
Persistent write cacheSupported at Enterprise-series scope[1]
DSM firmware updateOne-click update in compatible Synology systems[1]
Validation statementUp to 500,000 hours of Synology compatibility and stress testing[1]

Family validation statement; not this unit's operating age.

Rated performance

Published ratings describe specific conditions and are not every workload.

Rated performance specifications
Rotational speed7,200 rpm[1]
Buffer size512 MB[1]
Maximum sustained transfer, typical281 MB/s[1]

Workload & reliability ratings

Population and workload ratings do not predict one unit's life.

Workload & reliability ratings specifications
MTBF2,500,000 hours[1]

Population/design statistic, not individual-drive lifespan.

Workload rating550TB/year transferred[1]
Unrecoverable read error ratingUnknown; not stated in the current Synology data sheet[1]
Load/unload cycle ratingUnknown; not stated in the current Synology data sheet[1]

Warranty & support

Confirm regional coverage and proof-of-purchase requirements.

Warranty & support specifications
Limited warranty5 years[1]

Power & spin-up planning

Size power and cooling for active work as well as idle.

Power & spin-up planning specifications
Supply voltage12V ±10%; 5V +10/−7%[1]
Idle power average4.16W[1]
Average operating power8.35W[1]
Startup currentUnknown; not stated in the current Synology data sheet[1]
Standby / sleep powerUnknown; not stated in the current Synology data sheet[1]

Temperature, vibration & shock

Stay within the documented installation and handling limits.

Temperature, vibration & shock specifications
Operating temperature5 to 60°C[1]
Non-operating temperature−40 to 70°C[1]
Operating / non-operating shock (2ms)686 / 2,450 m/s²[1]
Operating vibration5–300 Hz: 7.35 m/s²; 300–500 Hz: 2.45 m/s²[1]
Non-operating vibration5–500 Hz: 29.4 m/s²[1]
Operating / non-operating altitude−304.8 to 3,048m / −304.8 to 12,192m[1]
Operating / non-operating humidity5–90% / 5–95% RH, non-condensing[1]

Published acoustics

Drive ratings do not predict sound from an assembled NAS.

Published acoustics specifications
Idle / seek acousticsUnknown; not stated in the current Synology data sheet[1]

Dimensions & mounting

Confirm tray fit, mounting holes and weight.

Dimensions & mounting specifications
Height × width × depth26.1 × 101.85 × 147 mm[1]
Weight720 g[1]

Compliance

Regulatory statements apply to the documented revision.

Compliance specifications
CertificationsCE, BSMI, RCM, KC, ICES, UKCA, TUV, UL, RoHS[1]

Compatibility & revision boundaries

Verify the exact host and do not substitute a neighboring MPN.

Compatibility & revision boundaries specifications
Host compatibilityCheck the exact Synology NAS model and drive compatibility list before purchase[1]

Exact product identity & open questions

Manufacturer part number
HAT5310-16T[1]
Product
One 16TB internal 3.5-inch SATA HDD from the Synology Enterprise Series family; enclosure and additional drives sold separately.[1]
Revision rule
Match the complete HAT5310-16T suffix on the listing and delivered label; another 16TB family member is not interchangeable evidence.[1]
  • Long-term reliability: No controlled exact-MPN field failure-rate or service-life study is adopted. Workload, MTBF/MTTF and warranty ratings do not predict the life of the delivered unit.
  • Host compatibility: The target NAS model, bay position, firmware and capacity ceiling were not specified. Family NAS positioning does not establish arbitrary host compatibility.
  • Original exact-MPN testing and indexing: English and model-only searches plus 2026-09-10 candidates still found no independent HAT5310-16T lab. Manufacturer RAID 5 marketing used 12 × HAT5320-8T, not this SKU. Keep noindex pending a suitable exact test and independent editorial review.
  • Unpublished exact-model specifications: The 24 April 2026 family data sheet still does not state unrecoverable read error, load/unload cycles, startup current, standby/sleep power, or idle/seek acoustics for the HAT5310-16T column.
  • Current US offer coverage: Newegg listed the exact new HAT5310-16T for $1,036.03, sold by NothingButSavings, in the September 11 observation. CDW listed $1,109.99, with visible stock still unverified. B&H retains its August 30 observation. Recheck delivered cost and stock before buying.

Sources

Research updated Sep 11, 2026. Individual source check dates are listed below. Measurements belong to the named reviewers; tested configurations and software versions may differ from the product you buy.

  1. [1] Synology Enterprise Series HDD data sheet — April 2026 ↗

    Checked Sep 11, 2026 · Technical Specifications pages 4–5, exact HAT5310-16T column and shared family notes.

  2. [2] B&H: HAT5310-16T historical US listing ↗

    Checked Aug 30, 2026 · Catalog record dated 2026-08-30: exact MPN, new condition, seller status retailer, availability in-stock. Historical catalog reference price $949.99. Any usable 2026-09-10 main offer is recorded separately rather than overwriting this historical observation.

  3. [3] Adorama: HAT5310-16T historical US listing ↗

    Checked Aug 31, 2026 · Catalog record dated 2026-08-31: exact MPN, new condition, seller status retailer, availability listed. No historical price adopted for this URL. Any usable 2026-09-10 main offer is recorded separately rather than overwriting this historical observation.

  4. [4] Amazon: HAT5310-16T historical US listing ↗

    Checked Aug 31, 2026 · Catalog record dated 2026-08-31: exact MPN, new condition, seller status marketplace-unverified, availability listed. No historical price adopted for this URL. Any usable 2026-09-10 main offer is recorded separately rather than overwriting this historical observation.

  5. [5] Synology drive compatibility policies FAQ ↗

    Checked Sep 11, 2026 · FAQ on 2025-and-later storage compatibility; host-specific list still required

  6. [6] Synology Enterprise Series 3.5-inch SATA HDD ↗

    Checked Sep 11, 2026 · Series marketing, CMR/firmware claims, applied-model names in HTML

  7. [7] CDW — HAT5310-16T (price dated; visible stock unverified) ↗

    Checked Sep 11, 2026 · HAT5310-16T $1,109.99; ui-inventory empty; hidden In Stock fields only

  8. [8] Newegg — HAT5310-16T sold by NothingButSavings ↗

    Checked Sep 11, 2026 · Primary item price $1,036.03; sold-by NothingButSavings; new-condition and stock fields.

  9. [10] Newegg: HAT5310-16T historical US listing ↗

    Checked Aug 31, 2026 · Catalog record dated 2026-08-31: exact MPN, new condition, seller status marketplace-unverified, availability listed. No historical price adopted for this URL. Any usable 2026-09-10 main offer is recorded separately rather than overwriting this historical observation.

  10. [11] Newegg: HAT5310-16T current US new listing ↗

    Checked Sep 10, 2026 · Exact MPN in H1; selected main offer shows Add to cart, seller NothingButSavings, and a visible price of $1036.03.

Research and review record

  • Research: Grok 4.6 · Source research and data update
  • Self-check: Grok 4.6 · Researcher self-check
  • Independent review: GPT-6 (Codex) · Exact identity and official specification/revision boundaries, original related-source applicability, dated merchant qualification and reader consistency; explicit missing evidence remains partial. Existing noindex decision preserved.
  • Editorial integration: GPT-6 (Codex) · Editorial integration and validation

Independent review completed for the scope recorded in the audit.

Source evidence and review history (JSON)

How we research products·Affiliate disclosure