Technical reference
Toshiba N300 HDWG81EXZSTA 14TB specifications
One Toshiba N300 14TB HDWG81EXZSTA internal SATA hard drive. NAS enclosure and other drives sold separately.
Complete specifications with requirements, upgrade limits and sources. For our buying judgment, reviews and prices, return to the buying guide.
Find a specification
All specifications are shown below. Jump to a category or search for a detail, including its requirements and sources.
Search all 36 specifications, including conditions and limits.
Exact identity & capacity
Connection & sector format
Recording & NAS firmware
These rows distinguish recording method, vibration controls and vendor integration.
| Recording technology | CMR[1] |
|---|---|
| NAS firmware | NASLink[1] |
| Rotational-vibration sensors | Yes[1] |
| Native command queuing | Yes[1] |
| Shock sensor | Yes[1] |
| Cache technology / ramp loading | Toshiba Cache Technology / not stated[1] |
Rated performance
NAS class & bay guidance
Workload & reliability ratings
Population and workload ratings do not predict one unit's life.
| Annual workload rating | 180TB/year read, written or verified[1] Toshiba annualizes as (lifetime writes + lifetime reads) × 8760 / power-on hours when power-on ≥ 8760 h; if power-on is shorter, the rate is writes + reads. Stated under 40°C ambient. After the rating the drive may decline; this does not change the warranty. Workload is data written, read or verified by host commands. |
|---|---|
| MTTF | 1,200,000 hours[1] Population statistic, not a lifespan. Footnote 7 pairs this column’s 1,200,000 hours with AFR 0.73% under 24×7, this model’s workload rating, and average HDA surface ≤40°C. Case/HDA surface above 40°C may degrade reliability and reduce the warranty period. That is not the 5–60°C operating-surface range. |
| Unrecoverable error rate | 1 per 10^15 bits read[1] |
| Load/unload cycles | 600,000[1] |
Warranty & support
Confirm regional coverage and proof-of-purchase requirements.
| Limited warranty | 3 years[1] Standard limited warranty. Footnote 7: HDA surface above 40°C may reduce the warranty period. |
|---|
Power & spin-up planning
Size power and cooling for active work as well as idle.
| Operating power | 6.94W[1] Toshiba method: 80% random read/write and 20% performance idle. |
|---|---|
| Active Idle-A power | 3.66W[1] Do not treat Active Idle-A as identical to another vendor's idle state. |
| Supply voltage | 5 VDC +10%/-7%; 12 VDC ±10%[1] |
| Startup current | Unknown; not stated in the adopted exact-model table[1] |
| Standby / sleep power | Unknown; not stated in the adopted exact-model table[1] |
Temperature, vibration & shock
Stay within the documented installation and handling limits.
| Operating temperature | 5 to 60°C drive surface[1] Drive-surface operating range. MTTF and warranty conditions use average HDA surface ≤40°C, not this 60°C maximum. |
|---|---|
| Non-operating temperature | −40 to 70°C[1] |
| Operating vibration | 7.35 m/s², 5–300 Hz; 2.45 m/s², 300–500 Hz[1] |
| Non-operating vibration | 29.4 m/s² (3.0G), 5–500 Hz[1] |
| Operating / non-operating shock (2ms) | 490 / 1,960 m/s²[1] |
Published acoustics
Dimensions & mounting
Compliance
Regulatory statements apply to the documented revision.
| RoHS compatible | Yes[1] |
|---|
Exact product identity & open questions
- Manufacturer part number
- HDWG81EXZSTA[1]
- Product
- One 14TB internal 3.5-inch SATA HDD from the Toshiba N300 family; enclosure and additional drives sold separately.[1]
- Revision rule
- Match the complete HDWG81EXZSTA suffix on the listing and delivered label; another 14TB family member is not interchangeable evidence.[1]
- Bulk / OEM packaging MPN
- HDWG81EUZSVA[1]
- Long-term reliability: No controlled exact-MPN field failure-rate or service-life study is adopted. Workload, MTTF and warranty ratings do not predict the life of the delivered unit.
- Host compatibility: Bay-class statements (up to 12 bays) still require the NAS vendor compatibility list, firmware and capacity ceiling for the installed enclosure.
- Current US offer coverage: No exact-MPN new main offer returned a usable selected page on 2026-09-11; B&H/Amazon/Adorama/Newegg/Micro Center/Walmart/Connection attempts were blocked or incomplete. 1 older listing(s) remain historical only.
- Original exact-MPN testing and indexing: Exact-MPN searches still found no applicable original test with enough configuration and visible results to adopt. Related-family tests are retained separately. Keep the page noindex pending suitable testing and independent editorial review.
- Unpublished exact-model specifications: The adopted official column does not state startup current, standby/sleep power or seek acoustics. Those fields remain Unknown rather than being copied from another MPN.
- Video contact: YouTube candidates from prior audits and this round were not given complete ASR plus identity frames in this session. No listening or dBA inference is claimed.
Sources
Research updated Sep 11, 2026. Individual source check dates are listed below. Measurements belong to the named reviewers; tested configurations and software versions may differ from the product you buy.
- [1] Toshiba N300 sales sheet TAEC-2839 (2026-07) ↗
Checked Sep 11, 2026 · Retail-packaging column HDWG81EXZSTA; Drive Bays Supported up to 12. TAEC-2839 closing page footnotes 6–7 (2026.07.10-2839-R2.0): workload annualized under 40°C ambient; MTTF assumes average HDA surface ≤40°C; surface >40°C may degrade reliability and reduce warranty. Footnote 4: host compatibility varies.
- [2] B&H: HDWG81EXZSTA historical US listing ↗
Checked Aug 30, 2026 · Catalog record dated 2026-08-30: exact MPN, new condition, seller status retailer, availability in-stock. Historical catalog reference price $609.99. Any usable 2026-09-10 main offer is recorded separately rather than overwriting this historical observation.
- [3] Toshiba N300 sales sheet TAEC2564 (2026-02-25 R6.0) ↗
Checked Sep 11, 2026 · Retail column HDWG81EXZSTA reread from rendered pages 3–5; values matched TAEC-2839.
- [4] Toshiba N300 US product page ↗
Checked Sep 11, 2026 · Family maxima: up to 22TB, 298 MB/s, 1 GB cache, 12 bays, 180 TB/year, 3-year warranty; footnotes 1–14. Datasheet CTA points to TAEC-2839.
- [5] NASLink firmware white paper (April 1, 2026) ↗
Checked Sep 11, 2026 · Family firmware description for N300 NAS/RAID mixed workloads; not an exact-MPN benchmark.
Research and review record
- Research: Grok 4.6 · Source research and data update
- Self-check: Grok 4.6 · Researcher self-check
- Independent review: GPT-6 (Codex) · Exact HDWG81EXZSTA manufacturer column, capacity/revision identity, material warranty/temperature/workload footnotes; bounded related-test applicability and dated merchant retention. No exact-MPN original measurement is claimed; partial coverage and existing noindex preserved.
- Editorial integration: GPT-6 (Codex) · Editorial integration and validation
Independent review completed for the scope recorded in the audit.
Source evidence and review history (JSON)