Skip to content
← Back to buying guide

Technical reference

Toshiba N300 HDWG81GXZSTA 16TB specifications

One Toshiba N300 16TB HDWG81GXZSTA internal SATA hard drive. NAS enclosure and other drives sold separately.

Complete specifications with requirements, upgrade limits and sources. For our buying judgment, reviews and prices, return to the buying guide.

Find a specification

All specifications are shown below. Jump to a category or search for a detail, including its requirements and sources.

Search all 36 specifications, including conditions and limits.

Exact identity & capacity

Match the complete model number and plan usable capacity.

Exact identity & capacity specifications
Capacity16TB decimal[1]
Exact retail-packaging MPNHDWG81GXZSTA[1]

Connection & sector format

Check the physical bay, SATA connection and sector presentation.

Connection & sector format specifications
Form factor / interface3.5-inch / SATA 6.0Gb/s[1]
Sector format512e Advanced Format[1]

Recording & NAS firmware

These rows distinguish recording method, vibration controls and vendor integration.

Recording & NAS firmware specifications
Recording technologyCMR[1]
NAS firmwareNASLink[1]
Rotational-vibration sensorsYes[1]
Native command queuingYes[1]
Shock sensorYes[1]
Cache technology / ramp loadingToshiba Cache Technology / not stated[1]

Rated performance

Published ratings describe specific conditions and are not every workload.

Rated performance specifications
Rotational speed7,200 rpm[1]
Maximum sustained transfer, typical294 MB/s[1]
Cache1024 MB[1]

NAS class & bay guidance

Bay-class statements do not replace the host vendor's compatibility list.

NAS class & bay guidance specifications
Supported bay classUp to 12 bays[1]

Footnote 4: compatibility still varies by host; this is not a NAS vendor HCL.

Intended operation24×7 NAS[1]

Workload & reliability ratings

Population and workload ratings do not predict one unit's life.

Workload & reliability ratings specifications
Annual workload rating180TB/year read, written or verified[1]

Toshiba annualizes as (lifetime writes + lifetime reads) × 8760 / power-on hours when power-on ≥ 8760 h; if power-on is shorter, the rate is writes + reads. Stated under 40°C ambient. After the rating the drive may decline; this does not change the warranty. Workload is data written, read or verified by host commands.

MTTF1,200,000 hours[1]

Population statistic, not a lifespan. Footnote 7 pairs this column’s 1,200,000 hours with AFR 0.73% under 24×7, this model’s workload rating, and average HDA surface ≤40°C. Case/HDA surface above 40°C may degrade reliability and reduce the warranty period. That is not the 5–60°C operating-surface range.

Unrecoverable error rate1 per 10^15 bits read[1]
Load/unload cycles600,000[1]

Warranty & support

Confirm regional coverage and proof-of-purchase requirements.

Warranty & support specifications
Limited warranty3 years[1]

Standard limited warranty. Footnote 7: HDA surface above 40°C may reduce the warranty period.

Power & spin-up planning

Size power and cooling for active work as well as idle.

Power & spin-up planning specifications
Operating power6.94W[1]

Toshiba method: 80% random read/write and 20% performance idle.

Active Idle-A power3.66W[1]

Do not treat Active Idle-A as identical to another vendor's idle state.

Supply voltage5 VDC +10%/-7%; 12 VDC ±10%[1]
Startup currentUnknown; not stated in the adopted exact-model table[1]
Standby / sleep powerUnknown; not stated in the adopted exact-model table[1]

Temperature, vibration & shock

Stay within the documented installation and handling limits.

Temperature, vibration & shock specifications
Operating temperature5 to 60°C drive surface[1]

Drive-surface operating range. MTTF and warranty conditions use average HDA surface ≤40°C, not this 60°C maximum.

Non-operating temperature−40 to 70°C[1]
Operating vibration7.35 m/s², 5–300 Hz; 2.45 m/s², 300–500 Hz[1]
Non-operating vibration29.4 m/s² (3.0G), 5–500 Hz[1]
Operating / non-operating shock (2ms)490 / 1,960 m/s²[1]

Published acoustics

Drive ratings do not predict sound from an assembled NAS.

Published acoustics specifications
Idle acoustics, typical20 dB[1]

The Toshiba sheet does not state acoustic quantity, weighting or test standard.

Seek acousticsUnknown; not stated in the adopted exact-model table[1]

Dimensions & mounting

Confirm tray fit, mounting holes and weight.

Dimensions & mounting specifications
Height × width × depth26.1 × 101.85 × 147 mm maximum[1]
Weight730 g maximum[1]
Bottom mounting holesType 1[1]

Compliance

Regulatory statements apply to the documented revision.

Compliance specifications
RoHS compatibleYes[1]

Exact product identity & open questions

Manufacturer part number
HDWG81GXZSTA[1]
Product
One 16TB internal 3.5-inch SATA HDD from the Toshiba N300 family; enclosure and additional drives sold separately.[1]
Revision rule
Match the complete HDWG81GXZSTA suffix on the listing and delivered label; another 16TB family member is not interchangeable evidence.[1]
Bulk / OEM packaging MPN
HDWG81GUZSVA[1]
  • Long-term reliability: No controlled exact-MPN field failure-rate or service-life study is adopted. Workload, MTTF and warranty ratings do not predict the life of the delivered unit.
  • Host compatibility: Bay-class statements (up to 12 bays) still require the NAS vendor compatibility list, firmware and capacity ceiling for the installed enclosure.
  • Current US offer coverage: No exact-MPN new main offer returned a usable selected page on 2026-09-11; B&H/Amazon/Adorama/Newegg/Micro Center/Walmart/Connection attempts were blocked or incomplete. 1 older listing(s) remain historical only.
  • Original exact-MPN testing and indexing: Exact-MPN searches still found no applicable original test with enough configuration and visible results to adopt. Related-family tests are retained separately. Keep the page noindex pending suitable testing and independent editorial review.
  • Unpublished exact-model specifications: The adopted official column does not state startup current, standby/sleep power or seek acoustics. Those fields remain Unknown rather than being copied from another MPN.
  • Video contact: YouTube candidates from prior audits and this round were not given complete ASR plus identity frames in this session. No listening or dBA inference is claimed.

Sources

Research updated Sep 11, 2026. Individual source check dates are listed below. Measurements belong to the named reviewers; tested configurations and software versions may differ from the product you buy.

  1. [1] Toshiba N300 sales sheet TAEC-2839 (2026-07) ↗

    Checked Sep 11, 2026 · Retail-packaging column HDWG81GXZSTA; Drive Bays Supported up to 12. TAEC-2839 closing page footnotes 6–7 (2026.07.10-2839-R2.0): workload annualized under 40°C ambient; MTTF assumes average HDA surface ≤40°C; surface >40°C may degrade reliability and reduce warranty. Footnote 4: host compatibility varies.

  2. [2] B&H: HDWG81GXZSTA historical US listing ↗

    Checked Aug 30, 2026 · Catalog record dated 2026-08-30: exact MPN, new condition, seller status retailer, availability in-stock. Historical catalog reference price $639.99. Any usable 2026-09-10 main offer is recorded separately rather than overwriting this historical observation.

  3. [3] Toshiba N300 sales sheet TAEC2564 (2026-02-25 R6.0) ↗

    Checked Sep 11, 2026 · Retail column HDWG81GXZSTA reread from rendered pages 3–5; values matched TAEC-2839.

  4. [4] Toshiba N300 US product page ↗

    Checked Sep 11, 2026 · Family maxima: up to 22TB, 298 MB/s, 1 GB cache, 12 bays, 180 TB/year, 3-year warranty; footnotes 1–14. Datasheet CTA points to TAEC-2839.

Research and review record

  • Research: Grok 4.6 · Source research and data update
  • Self-check: Grok 4.6 · Researcher self-check
  • Independent review: GPT-6 (Codex) · Exact HDWG81GXZSTA manufacturer column, capacity/revision identity, material warranty/temperature/workload footnotes; bounded related-test applicability and dated merchant retention. No exact-MPN original measurement is claimed; partial coverage and existing noindex preserved.
  • Editorial integration: GPT-6 (Codex) · Editorial integration and validation

Independent review completed for the scope recorded in the audit.

Source evidence and review history (JSON)

How we research products·Affiliate disclosure