Technical reference
Toshiba N300 Pro HDWG51GXZSTB 16TB specifications
One Toshiba N300 Pro 16TB HDWG51GXZSTB internal SATA hard drive. NAS enclosure and other drives sold separately.
Complete specifications with requirements, upgrade limits and sources. For our buying judgment, reviews and prices, return to the buying guide.
Find a specification
All specifications are shown below. Jump to a category or search for a detail, including its requirements and sources.
Search all 37 specifications, including conditions and limits.
Exact identity & capacity
Connection & sector format
Recording & NAS firmware
These rows distinguish recording method, vibration controls and vendor integration.
| Recording technology | CMR[1] |
|---|---|
| NAS firmware | N300 Pro NAS firmware[1] |
| Rotational-vibration sensors | Yes[1] |
| Native command queuing | Yes[1] |
| Shock sensor | Yes[1] |
| Cache technology / ramp loading | Toshiba Cache Technology / Yes[1] |
Rated performance
NAS class & bay guidance
Workload & reliability ratings
Population and workload ratings do not predict one unit's life.
| Annual workload rating | 300TB/year read, written or verified[1] Toshiba annualizes as (lifetime writes + lifetime reads) × 8760 / power-on hours when power-on ≥ 8760 h; if power-on is shorter, the rate is writes + reads. Stated under 40°C ambient. After the rating the drive may decline; this does not change the warranty. Workload is data written, read or verified by host commands. |
|---|---|
| MTTF | 1,200,000 hours[1] Population statistic, not a lifespan. Footnote 7 pairs this column’s 1,200,000 hours with AFR 0.73% under 24×7, this model’s workload rating, and average HDA surface ≤40°C. Case/HDA surface above 40°C may degrade reliability and reduce the warranty period. That is not the 5–60°C operating-surface range. |
| Unrecoverable error rate | 1 per 10^14 bits read[1] |
| Load/unload cycles | 600,000[1] |
Warranty & support
Confirm regional coverage and proof-of-purchase requirements.
| Limited warranty | 5 years[1] Standard limited warranty. Footnote 7: HDA surface above 40°C may reduce the warranty period. |
|---|
Power & spin-up planning
Size power and cooling for active work as well as idle.
| Operating power | 7.48W[1] Toshiba method: 80% random read/write and 20% performance idle. |
|---|---|
| Active Idle-A power | 4.14W[1] Do not treat Active Idle-A as identical to another vendor's idle state. |
| Supply voltage | 5 VDC +10%/-7%; 12 VDC ±10%[1] |
| Startup current | Unknown; not stated in the adopted exact-model table[1] |
| Standby / sleep power | Unknown; not stated in the adopted exact-model table[1] |
Temperature, vibration & shock
Stay within the documented installation and handling limits.
| Operating temperature | 5 to 60°C drive surface[1] Drive-surface operating range. MTTF and warranty conditions use average HDA surface ≤40°C, not this 60°C maximum. |
|---|---|
| Non-operating temperature | −40 to 70°C[1] |
| Operating vibration | 7.35 m/s² (0.75G), 5–300 Hz; 2.45 m/s² (0.25G), 300–500 Hz[1] |
| Non-operating vibration | 29.4 m/s² (3.0G), 5–500 Hz[1] |
| Operating / non-operating shock (2ms) | 686 / 2,450 m/s²[1] |
Published acoustics
Dimensions & mounting
Compliance
Regulatory statements apply to the documented revision.
| RoHS compatible | Yes[1] |
|---|
Compatibility & revision boundaries
Verify the exact host and do not substitute a neighboring MPN.
| Current retail revision | The current 2026 N300 Pro range uses HDWG81GXZSTB at 16TB[2] This page retains the assigned HDWG51GXZSTB and does not borrow the replacement model's column. |
|---|
Exact product identity & open questions
- Manufacturer part number
- HDWG51GXZSTB[1]
- Product
- One 16TB internal 3.5-inch SATA HDD from the Toshiba N300 Pro family; enclosure and additional drives sold separately.[1]
- Revision rule
- Match the complete HDWG51GXZSTB suffix on the listing and delivered label; another 16TB family member is not interchangeable evidence.[1]
- Bulk / OEM packaging MPN
- HDWG51GUZSVB[1]
- Current 16TB retail replacement
- HDWG81GXZSTB on the July 2026 N300 Pro sheet; not this assigned SKU.[5]
- Long-term reliability: No controlled exact-MPN field failure-rate or service-life study is adopted. Workload, MTTF and warranty ratings do not predict the life of the delivered unit.
- Host compatibility: Bay-class statements (up to 24 bays) still require the NAS vendor compatibility list, firmware and capacity ceiling for the installed enclosure.
- Current US offer coverage: No exact-MPN new main offer returned a usable selected page on 2026-09-11; B&H/Amazon/Adorama/Newegg/Micro Center/Walmart/Connection attempts were blocked or incomplete. 2 older listing(s) remain historical only.
- Original exact-MPN testing and indexing: Exact-MPN searches still found no applicable original test with enough configuration and visible results to adopt. Related-family tests are retained separately. Keep the page noindex pending suitable testing and independent editorial review.
- Unpublished exact-model specifications: The adopted official column does not state startup current, standby/sleep power or seek acoustics. Those fields remain Unknown rather than being copied from another MPN.
- Video contact: YouTube candidates from prior audits and this round were not given complete ASR plus identity frames in this session. No listening or dBA inference is claimed.
- Current Toshiba retail revision: Assigned HDWG51GXZSTB is the 16TB retail column on the 31 March 2025 sheet. The July 2026 sheet lists HDWG81GXZSTB at 16TB with 1024 MB cache, 294 MB/s, 550 TB/year and 2.5 million-hour MTTF. Do not mix those columns.
Sources
Research updated Sep 11, 2026. Individual source check dates are listed below. Measurements belong to the named reviewers; tested configurations and software versions may differ from the product you buy.
- [1] Toshiba N300 Pro sales sheet 2025-03-31 (HDWG51GXZSTB column) ↗
Checked Sep 11, 2026 · 16TB retail-packaging column HDWG51GXZSTB on the 31 March 2025 sheet. Closing-page footnotes 6–7 (2025.03.19-2453-R2.1): same 40°C ambient workload annualization and HDA surface ≤40°C MTTF/warranty caveat. Up to 24 bays; footnote 4 host compatibility varies.
- [2] Toshiba N300 Pro product page ↗
Checked Sep 10, 2026 · Current page and 2026 sheet use a newer 16TB retail MPN; used to document the revision boundary only.
- [3] B&H: HDWG51GXZSTB historical US listing ↗
Checked Aug 30, 2026 · Catalog record dated 2026-08-30: exact MPN, new condition, seller status retailer, availability in-stock. Historical catalog reference price $558.99. Any usable 2026-09-10 main offer is recorded separately rather than overwriting this historical observation.
- [4] Amazon: HDWG51GXZSTB historical US listing ↗
Checked Aug 31, 2026 · Catalog record dated 2026-08-31: exact MPN, new condition, seller status marketplace-unverified, availability listed. No historical price adopted for this URL. Any usable 2026-09-10 main offer is recorded separately rather than overwriting this historical observation.
- [5] Toshiba N300 Pro sales sheet TAEC-2839 (2026-07) ↗
Checked Sep 11, 2026 · Current 16TB retail column is HDWG81GXZSTB (1024 MB, 294 MB/s, 550 TB/year, 2.5M MTTF). Do not copy onto HDWG51GXZSTB.
- [6] NASLink firmware white paper (April 1, 2026) ↗
Checked Sep 11, 2026 · Family firmware description; N300 Pro page also cites NASLink. Not an exact-MPN benchmark.
Research and review record
- Research: Grok 4.6 · Source research and data update
- Self-check: Grok 4.6 · Researcher self-check
- Independent review: GPT-6 (Codex) · Exact HDWG51GXZSTB manufacturer column, capacity/revision identity, material warranty/temperature/workload footnotes; bounded related-test applicability and dated merchant retention. No exact-MPN original measurement is claimed; partial coverage and existing noindex preserved.
- Editorial integration: GPT-6 (Codex) · Editorial integration and validation
Independent review completed for the scope recorded in the audit.
Source evidence and review history (JSON)