Skip to content
← Back to buying guide

Technical reference

Western Digital WD Red Pro WD103KFBX 10TB specifications

One Western Digital WD Red Pro 10TB WD103KFBX internal SATA hard drive. NAS enclosure and other drives sold separately.

Complete specifications with requirements, upgrade limits and sources. For our buying judgment, reviews and prices, return to the buying guide.

Find a specification

All specifications are shown below. Jump to a category or search for a detail, including its requirements and sources.

Search all 33 specifications, including conditions and limits.

Exact identity & capacity

Match the complete model number and plan usable capacity.

Exact identity & capacity specifications
Formatted capacity10TB decimal[1]
Exact modelWD103KFBX[1]
Same-capacity related MPNWD102KFBX is a 256 MB air 10TB Red Pro column; 2017 helium 10TB Pro reviews are another generation[1]

Connection & sector format

Check the physical bay, SATA connection and sector presentation.

Connection & sector format specifications
Form factor / interface3.5-inch / SATA 6Gb/s[1]
Advanced FormatYes; logical/physical byte sizes not stated in this brief[1]

Recording & NAS firmware

These rows distinguish recording method, vibration controls and vendor integration.

Recording & NAS firmware specifications
Recording / drive technologyCMR / Air[1]
Rotational-vibration sensorsYes[1]
Native command queuingYes[1]
OptiNANDNo[1]

Rated performance

Published ratings describe specific conditions and are not every workload.

Rated performance specifications
Rotational speed7,200 rpm[1]
Cache512 MB[1]
Internal transfer rate, maximum267 MB/s[1]

NAS class & bay guidance

Bay-class statements do not replace the host vendor's compatibility list.

NAS class & bay guidance specifications
Rated bay classRAID-optimized NAS systems with no fixed bay-count limit stated[1]

January2025 data sheet and current official product page say unlimited number of bays. Check the exact host compatibility list; this is not proof of performance in an arbitrarily large array.

Intended operation24×7 commercial and enterprise NAS[1]

Workload & reliability ratings

Population and workload ratings do not predict one unit's life.

Workload & reliability ratings specifications
Annual workload rating550TB/year transferred[1]

Annualized transferred data: TB transferred ×8760 / recorded power-on hours; not lifetime TBW. Maximum rated workload is specified at a typical40°C operating temperature.

MTBF2,000,000 hours[1]

Projected population estimate at220TB/year and40°C drive temperature; derates above these parameters, up to550TB/year. Not an individual-drive lifespan or warranty.

Load/unload cycles600,000[1]
Unrecoverable read error ratingLess than 1 in 10^15 bits read[1]

Warranty & support

Confirm regional coverage and proof-of-purchase requirements.

Warranty & support specifications
Limited warranty5 years[1]

Power & spin-up planning

Size power and cooling for active work as well as idle.

Power & spin-up planning specifications
12V peak current1.90A[1]
Read/write power8.8W[1]
Idle power6.1W[1]
Standby / sleep power0.3W[1]
Power measurement conditionRoom ambient temperature; numeric temperature not stated[1]

Temperature, vibration & shock

Stay within the documented installation and handling limits.

Temperature, vibration & shock specifications
Operating temperature0 to 65°C[1]
Non-operating temperature−40 to 70°C[1]
Shock (2ms)70G read/write; 70G read; 250G non-operating[1]
Vibration limitsUnknown; not stated in the January 2025 data sheet[1]

Published acoustics

Drive ratings do not predict sound from an assembled NAS.

Published acoustics specifications
Idle / seek acoustics34 / 39 dBA[1]

Manufacturer ratings; measurement method is not stated in this brief.

Dimensions & mounting

Confirm tray fit, mounting holes and weight.

Dimensions & mounting specifications
Height × width × depth26.1 × 101.6 × 147 mm[1]
Weight0.75 kg ±3%[1]
Country of originThailand[1]

Compliance

Regulatory statements apply to the documented revision.

Compliance specifications
RoHS complianceYes[1]

Exact product identity & open questions

Manufacturer part number
WD103KFBX[1]
Product
One 10TB internal 3.5-inch SATA HDD from the Western Digital WD Red Pro family; enclosure and additional drives sold separately.[1]
Revision rule
Match the complete WD103KFBX suffix on the listing and delivered label; another 10TB family member is not interchangeable evidence.[1]
  • Controlled lab test: The only exact-MPN original test is a Tweakers owner review without host/tool settings.
  • Exact NAS compatibility: Family rating is unlimited bays; no enclosure list was confirmed for WD103KFBX.
  • Amazon live PDP: amazon.com/dp/B0DF9C92SW returned a bot-wall. 2026-09-10 Adorama-sold Amazon row is not refreshed.
  • B&H live PDP: Not re-fetched; dated 538.99 on 2026-08-30 is historical.
  • Exact-MPN original video: None obtained.
  • Vibration numeric limits: Still unpublished in the January 2025 sheet besides the RV-sensor yes/no flag.

Sources

Research updated Sep 11, 2026. Individual source check dates are listed below. Measurements belong to the named reviewers; tested configurations and software versions may differ from the product you buy.

  1. [1] WD Red Pro NAS Hard Drive data sheet (January 2025) ↗

    Checked Sep 11, 2026 · January 2025 WD103KFBX column among WD161KFGX–WD102KFBX table

  2. [2] WD Red Pro 10TB (WD103KFBX) product review ↗

    Checked Sep 10, 2026 · Exact-MPN original test; configuration, findings, measurements and limitations preserved in the matching review record.

  3. [3] B&H: WD103KFBX historical US listing ↗

    Checked Aug 30, 2026 · Catalog record dated 2026-08-30: exact MPN, new condition, seller status retailer, availability in-stock. Historical catalog reference price $538.99. Any usable 2026-09-10 main offer is recorded separately rather than overwriting this historical observation.

  4. [4] Amazon: WD103KFBX historical US listing ↗

    Checked Aug 31, 2026 · Catalog record dated 2026-08-31: exact MPN, new condition, seller status marketplace-unverified, availability listed. No historical price adopted for this URL. Any usable 2026-09-10 main offer is recorded separately rather than overwriting this historical observation.

  5. [5] Newegg: WD103KFBX historical US listing ↗

    Checked Aug 31, 2026 · Catalog record dated 2026-08-31: exact MPN, new condition, seller status marketplace-unverified, availability listed. No historical price adopted for this URL. Any usable 2026-09-10 main offer is recorded separately rather than overwriting this historical observation.

  6. [6] Western Digital: WD103KFBX historical US listing ↗

    Checked Aug 31, 2026 · Catalog record dated 2026-08-31: exact MPN, new condition, seller status manufacturer, availability listed. No historical price adopted for this URL. Any usable 2026-09-10 main offer is recorded separately rather than overwriting this historical observation.

  7. [7] Amazon: WD103KFBX current US new listing ↗

    Checked Sep 10, 2026 · Exact MPN in title; selected new main buy box provides Add to cart and shows seller Adorama; numeric price is hidden behind cart.

  8. [8] Newegg: WD103KFBX current US new listing ↗

    Checked Sep 10, 2026 · Exact MPN in H1; selected main offer shows Add to cart, seller BeachAudio, and a visible price of $607.68.

Research and review record

  • Research: Grok 4.6 · Source research and data update
  • Self-check: Grok 4.6 · Researcher self-check
  • Independent review: GPT-6 (Codex) · Exact official MPN specifications, power/acoustic/environment columns and footnotes; original test evidence and applicability; primary merchant states and dated retained offers. Partial coverage and original-image/video gaps remain explicit.
  • Editorial integration: GPT-6 (Codex) · Editorial integration and validation

Independent review completed for the scope recorded in the audit.

Source evidence and review history (JSON)

How we research products·Affiliate disclosure