Technical reference
Western Digital WD Red Pro WD260KFGX 26TB specifications
One 26TB 3.5-inch SATA HDD, CMR / Helium, OptiNAND Yes, 512 MB cache, 7200 rpm. Enclosure sold separately.
Complete specifications with requirements, upgrade limits and sources. For our buying judgment, reviews and prices, return to the buying guide.
Find a specification
All specifications are shown below. Jump to a category or search for a detail, including its requirements and sources.
Search all 33 specifications, including conditions and limits.
Exact identity & capacity
Connection & sector format
Recording & NAS firmware
These rows distinguish recording method, vibration controls and vendor integration.
| Recording / drive technology | CMR / Helium[1] |
|---|---|
| Rotational-vibration sensors | Yes[1] |
| Native command queuing | Yes[1] |
| OptiNAND | Yes[1] |
| NASware / TLER | US product page: NASware tuning and Time-Limited Error Recovery for RAID NAS. Not a per-column numeric in the data sheet.[10] |
Rated performance
NAS class & bay guidance
Bay-class statements do not replace the host vendor's compatibility list.
| Rated bay class | Current January 2025 data-sheet highlight and US product-page Compatibility field: RAID-optimized NAS systems with unlimited / any bay count. Older briefs and some reviews still say up to 24 bays.[1][10] Highlight/product page vs older 24-bay language; not a host HCL. |
|---|---|
| Intended operation | 24×7 commercial and enterprise NAS[1] |
Workload & reliability ratings
Population and workload ratings do not predict one unit's life.
| Annual workload rating | 550TB/year transferred[1] January 2025 footnote 6: Annualized Workload Rate = TB transferred × (8760 / recorded power-on hours); maximum rated at typical 40°C. This 550 TB/year ceiling is not the 220 TB/year condition used for the MTBF projection in footnote 5. |
|---|---|
| MTBF | 2,500,000 hours[1] January 2025 footnote 5: projected population statistic at typical 220 TB/year and 40°C; derating occurs above those parameters up to 550 TB writes/year. Does not predict an individual drive or constitute a warranty. 2021–2022 reviews often still print 1,000,000 h / 300 TB/year — keep those as the article's then-current brief, not this column. |
| Load/unload cycles | 600,000[1] |
| Unrecoverable read error rating | Less than 1 in 10^15 bits read[1] |
Warranty & support
Confirm regional coverage and proof-of-purchase requirements.
| Limited warranty | 5 years[1] |
|---|
Power & spin-up planning
Temperature, vibration & shock
Stay within the documented installation and handling limits.
| Operating temperature | 5 to 65°C[1] |
|---|---|
| Non-operating temperature | −40 to 70°C[1] |
| Shock (2ms) | 40G read/write; 40G read; 200G non-operating[1] |
| Vibration limits | Unknown; not stated in the January 2025 data sheet[1] |
Published acoustics
Drive ratings do not predict sound from an assembled NAS.
| Idle / seek acoustics | 25 / 32 dBA[1] Manufacturer ratings; measurement method is not stated in this brief. |
|---|
Dimensions & mounting
Compliance
Regulatory statements apply to the documented revision.
| RoHS compliance | Yes[1] |
|---|
Exact product identity & open questions
- Manufacturer part number
- WD260KFGX[1]
- Product
- One 26TB internal 3.5-inch SATA HDD from the Western Digital WD Red Pro family; enclosure and additional drives sold separately.[1]
- Revision rule
- Match the complete WD260KFGX suffix on the listing and delivered label; another 26TB family member is not interchangeable evidence.[1]
- Long-term reliability: No controlled exact-MPN field failure-rate study is adopted. Workload, MTBF and warranty ratings do not predict the delivered unit.
- Host compatibility list: WD claims vendor testing and unlimited/any bay count. Synology and QNAP compatibility URLs did not yield a usable per-MPN dump this round (JS shell / generic portal). Confirm the exact NAS.
- Current US offer coverage: 2026-09-10 Newegg price/seller kept. 2026-09-11 primary .product-seller-sold-by confirms Sold by Newegg, IsNew, Instock, FinalPrice 1144.99, ShippingCharge 0.01. Other-seller popover names were not used. Unknown-seller Newegg duplicate of this PDP archived. B&H 403 and Amazon bot wall unchanged; those older timestamps were not edited.
- Unpublished exact-model specifications: Vibration limits remain Unknown in the January 2025 table. Logical/physical sector sizes are still not stated in that brief.
- Video: No exact-WD260KFGX original video candidate this round.
Sources
Research updated Sep 11, 2026. Individual source check dates are listed below. Measurements belong to the named reviewers; tested configurations and software versions may differ from the product you buy.
- [1] Western Digital WD Red Pro data sheet — January 2025 ↗
Checked Sep 11, 2026 · January 2025 family PDF, WD260KFGX column plus footnotes 1–8; highlights 'unlimited # of bays'
- [2] Testing one 26TB WD Red Pro WD260KFGX ↗
Checked Sep 10, 2026 · Exact-MPN original test; configuration, findings, measurements and limitations preserved in the matching review record.
- [3] B&H: WD260KFGX historical US listing ↗
Checked Aug 30, 2026 · Catalog record dated 2026-08-30: exact MPN, new condition, seller status retailer, availability in-stock. Historical catalog reference price $1240.99. Any usable 2026-09-10 main offer is recorded separately rather than overwriting this historical observation.
- [4] Amazon: WD260KFGX historical US listing ↗
Checked Aug 31, 2026 · Catalog record dated 2026-08-31: exact MPN, new condition, seller status marketplace-unverified, availability listed. No historical price adopted for this URL. Any usable 2026-09-10 main offer is recorded separately rather than overwriting this historical observation.
- [5] Best Buy: WD260KFGX historical US listing ↗
Checked Aug 31, 2026 · Catalog record dated 2026-08-31: exact MPN, new condition, seller status marketplace-unverified, availability listed. No historical price adopted for this URL. Any usable 2026-09-10 main offer is recorded separately rather than overwriting this historical observation.
- [6] Newegg: WD260KFGX historical US listing ↗
Checked Aug 31, 2026 · Catalog record dated 2026-08-31: exact MPN, new condition, seller status marketplace-unverified, availability listed. No historical price adopted for this URL. Any usable 2026-09-10 main offer is recorded separately rather than overwriting this historical observation.
- [7] Western Digital: WD260KFGX historical US listing ↗
Checked Aug 31, 2026 · Catalog record dated 2026-08-31: exact MPN, new condition, seller status manufacturer, availability listed. No historical price adopted for this URL. Any usable 2026-09-10 main offer is recorded separately rather than overwriting this historical observation.
- [8] Amazon: WD260KFGX current US new listing ↗
Checked Sep 10, 2026 · Exact MPN in title; selected new main buy box provides Add to cart and shows seller Amazon.com; numeric price is hidden behind cart.
- [9] Newegg: WD260KFGX current US new listing ↗
Checked Sep 10, 2026 · Exact MPN in H1; selected main offer shows Add to cart, seller Newegg, and a visible price of $1144.99.
- [10] WD Red Pro NAS Hard Drive — 26TB US product page ↗
Checked Sep 11, 2026 · Key features, Specifications (Capacity/Model Number/Transfer Rate/Compatibility), FAQ comparing Red Pro vs Red Plus
- [11] igor’sLAB WD Red Pro 26 TB test (WD260KFGX label) ↗
Checked Sep 11, 2026 · Front label WD260KFGX-68CNGN0; CDM-01.jpg; ATTO-32.jpg 32GB; 52-HDD-Idle.png 12V
Research and review record
- Research: Grok 4.6 · Source research and data update
- Self-check: Grok 4.6 · Researcher self-check
- Independent review: GPT-6 (Codex) · Exact official column/footnotes, complete ITmedia and Igor original text with applicable image verification, primary Newegg and dated retained offers.
- Editorial integration: GPT-6 (Codex) · Editorial integration and validation
Independent review completed for the scope recorded in the audit.
Source evidence and review history (JSON)