Plan a backup outside the single drive
If this NAS holds the only copy, an internal drive failure loses access to that data. Choose an external USB disk or remote destination and verify restoration.[1]
Synology · NAS buying guide
Synology DS124 · Exact identity: DS124
1 primary bays · Realtek RTD1619B · 4-core · 1GB DDR4 · 1 × 1GbE · Diskless: hard drives cost extra
Catalog amount: $159.99 · recent · Price record: 2026-10-09T03:58:55.468041+00:00. Tax and shipping excluded.
Price observed at the store on the shown date. Confirm the current price and availability at the store.
DS124: specifications and dated store comparison →Compact one-drive storage with a separate backup
Diskless enclosure; 1 GB fixed RAM. Buy a SATA drive separately.
Based on Synology documentation, 2 original reviews and dated US merchant listings. We have not tested this NAS ourselves. See the review evidence ↓

A modest second NAS can hold a copy of data kept elsewhere.[1]
One disk offers no mirror; keep a recoverable external copy.[1]
The owner account found browsing less immediate than iCloud.[3]
Fixed 1 GB RAM and Gigabit networking limit future upgrades.[1]
Follow any specification for its full conditions and sources.
Living with it
If this NAS holds the only copy, an internal drive failure loses access to that data. Choose an external USB disk or remote destination and verify restoration.[1]
A 3.5-inch SATA HDD fits natively. A 2.5-inch SSD needs the optional holder; neither option leaves space for a second internal drive.[1]
Drive and Office guidance is five users under specific vendor workloads. It is not permission to run every package and backup job simultaneously.[1]
FAZ found the backup choices flexible but potentially confusing for beginners.[2]
Our buying advice combines official specifications with the original reviews below. We have not tested this product ourselves. Expand a review for its setup, measurements and limitations.
Michael Seemann
FAZ’s DS124 table reports 113/112 MB/s read/write and 10.8 W during writes, 8.6 W idle and 2.9 W asleep. The exact drive is unspecified; the roundup’s generic two-drive RAID 1 method cannot apply to DS124.
Read the original reviewDie beste NAS für Einsteiger
Updated Jun 5, 2026
Tested: Exact DS124 unit; single bay and fixed 1 GB. Drive MPN/capacity, DSM build and client not disclosed. General methodology specifies two-drive RAID 1, which cannot apply to this model.
Applies to: Practical software and backup configuration.
| Measurement | Result | Conditions & source location |
|---|---|---|
| File transfer read / write | 113 /112 MB/s | DS124 column in comparison table; drive/client/build unspecified; generic RAID 1 method cannot apply to one bayDS124 comparison column |
| Power write / idle / hibernation / off | 10.8 /8.6 /2.9 /1.1 W | DS124 comparison column; exact drive/meter unspecifiedComparison table |
Limits to keep in mind
ShigapapaMay 16, 2026
Shigapapa used a 2 TB WD internal HDD and a separate 2 TB USB backup drive with an iPhone and MacBook. Photo storage was useful, but browsing sometimes felt slower than iCloud. This owner experience is not a controlled speed comparison.
Read the original reviewSynology DS124レビュー|NAS初心者の私が選んだ理由と感想
Tested: One Western Digital 2 TB internal HDD and a separate WD 2 TB USB backup drive; iPhone and MacBook. Exact drive MPNs, network path, DSM build and filesystem not stated; 1 GB fixed RAM.
Applies to: Everyday photo browsing and backup decisions.
Limits to keep in mind
Examples ordered by recorded drive unit price, which may be historical or an editorial reference. Check capacity, vendor compatibility, included storage and price evidence before choosing. These are component checks, not compatibility certifications.
Component total: $314.98 · historical · Oldest price record: 2026-10-09T01:23:41.974420+00:00 · 2TB raw, before redundancy.
Historical price estimate. Calculated from separately purchased components, not a complete-system offer. NAS price record: 2026-10-09T03:58:55.468041+00:00; drive price record: 2026-10-09T01:23:41.974420+00:00. Price observed at the store on the shown date. Confirm the current price and availability at the store. Historical price observation. Recheck the price and availability before buying; this is not a current offer. Recheck component prices, stock, shipping and tax at the stores before purchase; even recent checks do not guarantee live prices.
Component total: $349.98 · recent · Oldest price record: 2026-10-09T03:58:24.994342+00:00 · 4TB raw, before redundancy.
Dated price estimate. Calculated from separately purchased components, not a complete-system offer. NAS price record: 2026-10-09T03:58:55.468041+00:00; drive price record: 2026-10-09T03:58:24.994342+00:00. Price observed at the store on the shown date. Confirm the current price and availability at the store. Price observed at the store on the shown date. Confirm the current price and availability at the store. Recheck component prices, stock, shipping and tax at the stores before purchase; even recent checks do not guarantee live prices.
Component total: $354.98 · historical · Oldest price record: 2026-09-27T13:58:17.239646+00:00 · 4TB raw, before redundancy.
Historical price estimate. Calculated from separately purchased components, not a complete-system offer. NAS price record: 2026-10-09T03:58:55.468041+00:00; drive price record: 2026-09-27T13:58:17.239646+00:00. Price observed at the store on the shown date. Confirm the current price and availability at the store. Historical price observation. Recheck the price and availability before buying; this is not a current offer. Recheck component prices, stock, shipping and tax at the stores before purchase; even recent checks do not guarantee live prices.
Before you buy
This is the empty enclosure. Include an internal SATA drive and an independent backup destination in the total cost.[1]
Snapshots on the internal disk cannot survive loss of that disk. Keep a recoverable external or remote copy.[1]
Optional cloud backup, extra surveillance camera licenses and eligible warranty extensions can add fees.[1]
The full specifications retain manufacturer test conditions. Some application limits use maximum supported RAM or SSD volumes; extra RAM, SSDs and licenses can add to the enclosure cost.[7]
Diskless enclosure; 1 GB fixed RAM. Buy a SATA drive separately. Check the total delivered price at the store.
Lowest observed price
$159.99
In stock at observation
Currency not confirmed
6 stores · 1 recent price observation
Sold by Amazon.com
$159.99
Observed price
Currency not confirmed
In stock at observation · Condition not recorded
Observed Oct 9, 2026, 3:58:55 AM UTC[13]
View exact product at AmazonSeller not recorded
$159.99
Historical price
Currency not confirmed
Stock not confirmed · Condition not recorded
Observed Sep 27, 2026, 5:25:06 AM UTC[10]
View exact product at B&H Photo VideoSold by Newegg
$159.99
Historical price
Stock not confirmed · New
DS124; factory configuration; diskless enclosure
Observed shipping: $5.99
Observed Oct 9, 2026, 1:17:47 AM UTC[11]
View exact product at NeweggSold by Newegg Inc.
$166.98
Historical price
Currency not confirmed
Stock not confirmed · Condition not recorded
Observed Sep 27, 2026, 9:28:07 AM UTC[14]
View exact product at WalmartSeller not recorded
$169.99
Historical price
Currency not confirmed
Stock not confirmed · Condition not recorded
Observed Sep 27, 2026, 4:11:29 AM UTC[12]
View exact product at AdoramaSold by Newegg Official
$175.99
Historical price
Stock not confirmed · New
Diskless enclosure; factory 1 GB
Free shipping to displayed ZIP 20146; pickup unavailable. New marketplace offer; zero drives included; page uses a comma decimal separator.
Observed Sep 8, 2026, 3:58:39 PM UTC[5]
View exact product at Best BuyPrices are dated observations. Confirm the model, seller, condition, stock and delivered total at the store. Older prices remain visible as history. Links may earn a commission.
No. The holder adapts the single bay for a 2.5-inch drive; it does not add storage positions.[1]
No user RAM expansion or network-card slot is provided. The built-in connection is Gigabit Ethernet.[1]
No. Snapshots help restore older file states while the underlying storage is healthy. A separate copy is needed if the internal drive or enclosure is lost.[1]
No. Shut the system down before replacing its single internal drive.[1]
Research updated Sep 11, 2026. Individual source check dates are listed below. Measurements belong to the named reviewers; tested configurations and software versions may differ from the product you buy.
Checked Sep 11, 2026 · Hardware + DSM tables, last updated Aug 6, 2026
Checked Sep 11, 2026 · DS124 qualitative vs BeeStation; methodology uses IronWolf
Checked Sep 11, 2026 · WD 2 TB + USB backup; photo browsing vs iCloud
Checked Sep 8, 2026 · Exact identity and current new offer
Checked Sep 8, 2026 · Exact identity and current new offer
Checked Sep 8, 2026 · Exact identity and current new offer
Checked Sep 11, 2026 · Same current US product page
Checked Sep 10, 2026 · Selected buy-box seller; Product information model; New offers. MAP-hidden main price is not inferred from other sellers or recommendations.
Checked Sep 11, 2026 · Exact-model title, specification table, buybox price/seller and Add to cart; parent captured source
Checked Sep 27, 2026 · Captured observation; sha256:28058df683c7641ffcec83059e5bbffa2305485cbdeae51c7fe3c2f400ff85cd
Checked Oct 9, 2026 · newegg-main-item; sha256:8124e7524ca72ebcb81d4fa9ee70b25bd536bc4e317b3e9493e2cdf864a61f61
Checked Sep 27, 2026 · Captured observation; sha256:08e2d15a5773c0cf9ec7699736a4dfec783ed7080e934a86ab08571ef836f7aa
Checked Oct 9, 2026 · Captured observation; sha256:b7b6e7fffd4aeefbad3123dcce475e4dbb94d21ad8dc21ce1c0aedb20665f391
Checked Sep 27, 2026 · Captured observation; sha256:b222c74e9106d90a01e2a857283da574519e334fcae24067a1230448bca43ba2
Independent review completed for the scope recorded in the audit.
Source evidence and review history (JSON)