Skip to content

Synology · NAS buying guide

Synology DS425+ NAS Buying Guide

Product facts and dated cost

Synology DS425+ · Exact identity: DS425+

4 primary bays · Intel Celeron J4125 · 4-core · 2GB DDR4 · max 6GB · 1 × 2.5GbE + 1 × 1GbE · Diskless: hard drives cost extra

Catalog amount: $589 · recent · Price record: 2026-10-09T03:59:21.369798+00:00. Tax and shipping excluded.

Price observed at the store on the shown date. Confirm the current price and availability at the store.

DS425+: specifications and dated store comparison →

Four bays for backups, photos and faster everyday file copies

Diskless enclosure with 2GB RAM. Storage drives and the optional memory upgrade are separate purchases.

The DS425+ is the 2025 four-bay Plus refresh of the J4125 platform with one 2.5GbE port. This page uses Synology’s current tables, ComputerBase and PCMag file copies, TostieTech’s mixed-drive 2.5GbE test, and How-To Geek’s install notes. ChooseCompute has not tested it. DSM 7.3 widened third-party SATA HDDs; M.2 pools/cache stay list-bound. Intel graphics is not a supported Plex hardware-transcode feature. See the review evidence ↓

Synology DS425+ network attached storage system

Is the DS425+ right for you?

Files and backups

The four-bay layout and DSM tools suit shared storage; a suitable 2.5GbE network helps large copies.[1][3]

A good fit with 2.5GbE

Photo library

Facial recognition is supported, but object recognition needs at least 4GB. This model ships with 2GB.[1]

Plan a memory upgrade

NVMe cache

Compatible SSDs can cache data or form pools. One reviewer saw little cache benefit for large transfers.[1][4]

Match it to the workload

Video conversion

Official hardware transcoding is not available as assumed from the Intel CPU; community modifications are separate.[5]

A poor reason to buy

Key NAS specifications

Full specifications ↗

Follow any specification for its full conditions and sources.

Living with it

2.5GbE, memory upgrades and NVMe

01

What the RAID 5 test shows about 2.5GbE

ComputerBase’s four-drive RAID 5 test reached about 260 MB/s writes and 280 MB/s reads for a large file on the single 2.5GbE port. PCMag copied a 4.9 GB mixed folder at 282 MB/s read and write with four Synology 4TB Plus drives in SHR. A Gigabit computer or switch still limits the connection. SSD cache did not raise sequential copies in TostieTech’s pass.[3][13][4]

02

Budget a RAM upgrade for Photos object recognition

The base 2GB handles a different workload from an upgraded system. Photos object recognition needs at least 4GB, while vendor application ceilings often assume maximum memory.[1]

03

Choose NVMe storage or cache for a defined workload

Compatible SSDs can form storage pools or cache. TostieTech saw little change in its read-only-cache transfer comparison; ComputerBase’s warmed read/write cache improved encrypted-folder reads while ordinary copies barely changed. Buy for your workload and supported SSD list.[1][4][3]

04

Check four-bay and hardware-transcoding limits

There is no external bay-expansion or 10GbE upgrade path. Buy for four SATA bays, and treat media storage separately from unsupported default hardware transcoding.[1][5]

What original reviews found

Our buying advice combines official specifications with the original reviews below. We have not tested this product ourselves. Expand a review for its setup, measurements and limitations.

ComputerBase

Frank HüberOct 20, 2025

Synology DS425+ NAS im Test: Übertragungsraten und Backup

Four HAT5310-20T HDDs in RAID 5 on the single 2.5GbE port: 5.9 GB CIFS write/read 259.51 / 280.03 MB/s. Encrypted 15 GB folder write/read 153.65 / 172.95 MB/s. SSD cache did not lift sequential CDM beyond the 2.5GbE ceiling.

Read the original review
Test setup, measurements & limitations

Synology DS425+ NAS im Test: Übertragungsraten und Backup

Updated Oct 22, 2025

Tested: Four HAT5310-20T 20 TB HDDs in RAID 5 with stock 2 GB RAM; one 2.5GbE port, plus separate multi-client aggregation with the 1GbE port. Two SNV3410-400G SSDs formed RAID 1 read/write cache. Benchmarks predate DSM 7.3; the later installation and policy retest is separate.

Applies to: Large-file, encrypted-folder and USB backup evidence.

  • Four HAT5310-20T HDDs in RAID 5 on the single 2.5GbE port: 5.9 GB CIFS write/read 259.51 / 280.03 MB/s. Encrypted 15 GB folder write/read 153.65 / 172.95 MB/s. SSD cache did not lift sequential CDM beyond the 2.5GbE ceiling.Source location: Seite 2 CIFS-Dateitransfer; Seite 3 SSD-Cache CrystalDiskMark
  • The October 20 article discusses DSM 7.3 restoring third-party SATA drive choice; an October 22 correction clarifies that M.2 cache and pools still require compatible SSDs. Manual DSM installation worked when automatic initialization failed.Source location: Seite 1 DSM 7.3 / M.2 Korrektur
  • Warm cache barely changed ordinary file and folder copies, but the encrypted-folder read rose from 172.95 to 216.39 MB/s. Cache benefit depends on the workload and is not uniformly absent.Source location: Page 3, repeated-copy SSD cache charts
Measurements reported by the reviewer
MeasurementResultConditions & source location
5.9GB CIFS file write / read259.51 / 280.03 MB/sFour 20TB HAT5310 HDDs in RAID 5; one 2.5GbE port.CIFS-Dateitransfer – Datei
15GB encrypted-folder write / read153.65 / 172.95 MB/sAES-256 shared-folder encryption; same RAID 5 setup.AES-256-Verschlüsselung – Ordner
15 GB, approximately 4,000 files write / read191.18 / 223.86 MB/sSingle 2.5GbE, four 20 TB HDDs in RAID 5.Page 2, CIFS folder charts
Encrypted 5.9 GB file write / read265.10 / 277.34 MB/sAES-256 shared-folder encryption; same RAID 5.Page 2, AES-256 file charts
Multi-client aggregate file / folder write and readFile 261.30 / 293.37 MB/s; folder 228.95 / 247.94 MB/sMixed 2.5GbE and 1GbE link aggregation raised a link-speed warning; not a guaranteed 3.5Gb/s single-client connection.Page 2, Link Aggregation
Warm-cache file / folder write and readFile 258.99 / 275.75 MB/s; folder 190.95 / 224.62 MB/sRepeated copies with two SNV3410-400G SSDs in RAID 1 read/write cache.Page 3, SSD cache CIFS charts
Warm-cache encrypted file / folder write and readFile 262.45 / 273.57 MB/s; folder 160.94 / 216.39 MB/sSame warmed cache; compare encrypted folder without cache at 153.65 / 172.95 MB/s.Page 3, cache AES-256 charts
USB 25 GB transfer time1 min 13 s write; 1 min 15 s readSeparate USB backup workload.Page 2, USB-Backup
Hibernation / idle / file-write power5.9 / 26.7 / 44.3 WFour HDD test configuration, separate from manufacturer ratings.Page 3, Leistungsaufnahme
Idle / access noise34.6 / 35.9 dB(A), as chart labelsMicrophone distance and calibration unstated; qualitative fan report describes quiet operation without rattling.Page 3, Lautstärke

Limits to keep in mind

  • Synology loaned the unit; author reports no influence or publication obligation; affiliate links.
  • Updated M.2 correction supersedes the original unrestricted-cache claim.
TostieTech

JosSep 4, 2026

Synology DS425+ review: 4-bay NAS met 2,5GbE getest

Windows copy screenshots show 261 MB/s plain and 156 MB/s encrypted writing at different progress points, not full-transfer averages. A separate read-only-cache comparison records read/write of 271/262 MB/s without cache and 271/260 MB/s with cache; warm-up details are missing.

Read the original review
Test setup, measurements & limitations

Synology DS425+ review: 4-bay NAS met 2,5GbE getest

Tested: Three HAT3300-4T 4 TB HDDs plus a WD60EFPX-68C5ZN0 6 TB HDD and SNV3410-400G SSD; stock 2 GB described. Windows client with 10GbE-capable infrastructure, NAS at 2.5GbE. A setup wizard selects SHR but does not show a completed pool; exact final RAID and running DSM build remain unproven. Cache screenshots select read-only cache. Power test uses four HDDs and one SSD.

Applies to: Recent mixed-drive file-copy and cache observations.

  • Windows copy screenshots show 261 MB/s plain and 156 MB/s encrypted writing at different progress points, not full-transfer averages. A separate read-only-cache comparison records read/write of 271/262 MB/s without cache and 271/260 MB/s with cache; warm-up details are missing.Source location: Windows copy; CrystalDiskMark via SMB; SSD-cache table
Measurements reported by the reviewer
MeasurementResultConditions & source location
Windows copy, plain / encrypted write261 / 156 MB/sSame large file; screenshot observations, not sustained averages; RAID not stated.Windows Verkenner
No-cache / cache read and write271/262 versus 271/260 MB/sReviewer’s stated cache comparison; exact cache warm-up and workload details absent.SSD-cache
SMB CrystalDiskMark sequential read / writeQ8T1 295.66 / 278.73 MB/s; Q1T1 176.54 / 171.24 MB/sCrystalDiskMark 9.0.3 x64, three passes, 1 GiB, volume 6% used; SEQ1M workload.SMB-Crystal-Disk-Mark image
SMB CrystalDiskMark random 4K read / writeQ32T1 120.50 / 27.27 MB/s; Q1T1 9.81 / 0.01 MB/sSame three-pass 1 GiB test; separate from sequential throughput.SMB-Crystal-Disk-Mark image
iSCSI CrystalDiskMark sequential read / writeQ8T1 295.07 / 232.34 MB/s; Q1T1 235.24 / 225.63 MB/sCrystalDiskMark 9.0.3 x64, three passes, 1 GiB, separate 500 GiB target.iSCSI-Crystal-Disk-Mark image
iSCSI CrystalDiskMark random 4K read / writeQ32T1 204.01 / 0.42 MB/s; Q1T1 12.15 / 0.01 MB/sSame 500 GiB target and 1 GiB test.iSCSI-Crystal-Disk-Mark image
Idle / loaded system power30.7 / 44.2 WFour HDDs and one NVMe SSD; whole-system measurements. Subtracting nameplate drive watts does not measure an empty enclosure.Power section
Author noise observationsApproximately 37 dB idle / 43 dB loadPhone app, about 10 cm in front; image selects Z weighting, not A. Calibration and ambient noise unknown; not a controlled dB(A) comparison.Noise prose and phone screenshot
Reported HDD / NVMe temperaturesHDD 31 / 33 °C idle/load; NVMe 35 / 35 °CAmbient conditions and sensor mapping incomplete.Temperature section

Limits to keep in mind

  • Affiliate commission disclosed; unit-provision terms not located.
  • No universal cache-benefit conclusion; exact RAID and firmware not stated.
  • Reviewer subtracts theoretical drive watts from measured system power; that derivation is not adopted.
  • The nearby DS923+ row in Synology Assistant shows DSM 7.3.2; it must not be assigned to the DS425+. Its DS425+ row is an uninstalled 7.2.2 Update 4 image, not proof of the final running build.
  • A later second-SSD mention does not establish read/write cache for the displayed test; cache UI explicitly selects read-only.
  • Phone noise screenshot uses Z weighting and cannot substantiate the prose dB(A) notation.
How-To Geek

Jordan GloorAug 28, 2025

Synology DS425+ Review: Enjoyable Experience, Frustrating Restrictions

The two 4 TB drive installation and DSM setup were straightforward, with Android Photos backups, Linux Drive, DLNA/NFS and TV streaming tried over a couple of weeks. The official Drive DEB failed on Kubuntu; an unofficial Flatpak worked. A later editor note states that the certified-HDD requirement was reversed.

Read the original review
Test setup, measurements & limitations

Synology DS425+ Review: Enjoyable Experience, Frustrating Restrictions

Tested: Hands-on DS425+ with two Synology 4TB HDDs; RAID type configured but not named; Photos and Drive set up on Android and Linux. Factory 2 GB described. No throughput table.

Applies to: Exact enclosure qualitative setup and launch-era SATA lock-in. An editor note after publication records that Synology no longer requires certified HDDs. Not a speed test.

  • The two 4 TB drive installation and DSM setup were straightforward, with Android Photos backups, Linux Drive, DLNA/NFS and TV streaming tried over a couple of weeks. The official Drive DEB failed on Kubuntu; an unofficial Flatpak worked. A later editor note states that the certified-HDD requirement was reversed.Source location: Intro editor note; A NAS That's Easy to Manage; drive-restriction section

Limits to keep in mind

  • Two-drive sample, not four-bay RAID 5.
  • No MB/s table.
  • Launch lock-in is historical versus current DSM 7.3 SATA policy; M.2 listing still applies.
  • Tool-free installation applies to 3.5-inch drives; 2.5-inch drives need screws. No measured transcode, power, noise or heavy-application test. The unofficial Linux workaround is not a support guarantee.
PCMag UK

John R. DelaneyNov 11, 2025

Synology DiskStation DS425+ Review

A 4.9 GB mixed music/video/photo/office folder copied at 282 MB/s write and 282 MB/s read versus the desktop PC over 2.5GbE.

Read the original review
Test setup, measurements & limitations

Synology DiskStation DS425+ Review

Tested: Four Synology 4TB Plus Series HDDs supplied for testing; SHR on Btrfs after >6 hours optimize; 2.5GbE switch to a desktop PC. Score 3.5 / Good.

Applies to: Exact enclosure mixed-folder copies on 2.5GbE. M.2 third-party limitation is a software/policy point, not a measured NVMe result.

  • A 4.9 GB mixed music/video/photo/office folder copied at 282 MB/s write and 282 MB/s read versus the desktop PC over 2.5GbE.Source location: Setup and Performance file transfer tests
Measurements reported by the reviewer
MeasurementResultConditions & source location
4.9 GB mixed-folder copy282 MB/s write and 282 MB/s readSHR, Btrfs, four Synology 4TB Plus, 2.5GbE to desktop. PCMag reports MBps.Setup and Performance

Limits to keep in mind

  • Company sent the four 4TB Plus drives.
  • No iSCSI/CDM table.
  • Article still flags no third-party M.2 SSD support.
  • Joseph Maldonado is credited for photographs, not authorship. Exact DSM build and client hardware are unstated; supplied 2 GB RAM is described.
NASCompares

Aug 10, 2025

Synology DS425+ NAS Review — SHOULD YOU BUY?

Setup screenshots confirm stock 2 GB and four-drive SHR. An idle-memory frame shows 28% usage; this is a short observation, not application-capacity testing.

Read the original review
Test setup, measurements & limitations

Synology DS425+ NAS Review — SHOULD YOU BUY?

Tested: Embedded setup frames show DS425+, DSM 7.2.2-72806 Update 3, 2 GB RAM and four 4 TB HDDs in SHR with Btrfs. Exact drive MPNs are not visible. Archived article dated August 15, 2025; original audio/video not reviewed.

Applies to: Exact enclosure acoustic notes. 28.25 W / 6.10 W sentences repeat Synology’s access/hibernation ratings and are not adopted as independent watts.

  • Setup screenshots confirm stock 2 GB and four-drive SHR. An idle-memory frame shows 28% usage; this is a short observation, not application-capacity testing.Source location: DS425 setup and Resource Monitor frames
  • Power-meter frames show 6.1, 25.5, 44.0 and 37.2 W without individual workload labels. The 44 W frame is consistent with the heavy-load prose; the separate 28.25/6.10 W figures repeat Synology ratings.Source location: Power collage and accompanying prose
  • The embedded Plex performance frame identifies a DS224+ server and an August 2023 browser tab. It does not establish DS425+ transcoding performance. Official support remains unavailable without community modifications.Source location: Plex frame 5; checked against Blackvoid
Measurements reported by the reviewer
MeasurementResultConditions & source location
Phone noise readings42.2 / 37.9 / 37.6 / 52.7 dB in four framesIndividual states unlabeled; prose approximates 36–38 dB idle and 53 dB peak. Distance, calibration and weighting unverified.Noise collage
Power-meter readings6.1 / 25.5 / 44.0 / 37.2 WFour unlabelled states; do not assign idle/hibernation from values alone.Power collage
Thermal-camera surface readingsFront 32.8 °C; side 35.8 and 39.2 °C; PSU 33.5 °CSurface observations, not internal drive temperatures; ambient unstated.Thermal collage

Limits to keep in mind

  • Live URL 403; body from Wayback 2025-08-15.
  • Affiliate retailer widgets on the page.
  • Do not treat 28.25 W as a NASCompares wattmeter result.
  • The Plex frame is from DS224+, so claimed 1080p/4K transcoding capacity is excluded. Several other embedded illustrations show different NAS models.
  • Claims that NVMe supports cache only or that link aggregation is absent conflict with current official specifications and ComputerBase testing. The named memory upgrade is also incorrect; official module is D4NS01-4G.

Common HDD combinations

Examples ordered by recorded drive unit price, which may be historical or an editorial reference. Check capacity, vendor compatibility, included storage and price evidence before choosing. These are component checks, not compatibility certifications.

  • DS425+ + 2 × WD Red Plus 2TB (WD20EFPX, 2TB each) →

    Component total: $898.98 · historical · Oldest price record: 2026-10-09T01:23:41.974420+00:00 · 4TB raw, before redundancy.

    Historical price estimate. Calculated from separately purchased components, not a complete-system offer. NAS price record: 2026-10-09T03:59:21.369798+00:00; drive price record: 2026-10-09T01:23:41.974420+00:00. Price observed at the store on the shown date. Confirm the current price and availability at the store. Historical price observation. Recheck the price and availability before buying; this is not a current offer. Recheck component prices, stock, shipping and tax at the stores before purchase; even recent checks do not guarantee live prices.

  • DS425+ + 2 × IronWolf 4TB (ST4000VN006, 4TB each) →

    Component total: $968.98 · recent · Oldest price record: 2026-10-09T03:58:24.994342+00:00 · 8TB raw, before redundancy.

    Dated price estimate. Calculated from separately purchased components, not a complete-system offer. NAS price record: 2026-10-09T03:59:21.369798+00:00; drive price record: 2026-10-09T03:58:24.994342+00:00. Price observed at the store on the shown date. Confirm the current price and availability at the store. Price observed at the store on the shown date. Confirm the current price and availability at the store. Recheck component prices, stock, shipping and tax at the stores before purchase; even recent checks do not guarantee live prices.

  • DS425+ + 2 × WD Red Plus 4TB (WD40EFZZ, 4TB each) →

    Component total: $978.98 · historical · Oldest price record: 2026-09-27T13:58:17.239646+00:00 · 8TB raw, before redundancy.

    Historical price estimate. Calculated from separately purchased components, not a complete-system offer. NAS price record: 2026-10-09T03:59:21.369798+00:00; drive price record: 2026-09-27T13:58:17.239646+00:00. Price observed at the store on the shown date. Confirm the current price and availability at the store. Historical price observation. Recheck the price and availability before buying; this is not a current offer. Recheck component prices, stock, shipping and tax at the stores before purchase; even recent checks do not guarantee live prices.

  • DS425+ + 4 × WD Red Plus 2TB (WD20EFPX, 2TB each) →

    Component total: $1,208.96 · historical · Oldest price record: 2026-10-09T01:23:41.974420+00:00 · 8TB raw, before redundancy.

    Historical price estimate. Calculated from separately purchased components, not a complete-system offer. NAS price record: 2026-10-09T03:59:21.369798+00:00; drive price record: 2026-10-09T01:23:41.974420+00:00. Price observed at the store on the shown date. Confirm the current price and availability at the store. Historical price observation. Recheck the price and availability before buying; this is not a current offer. Recheck component prices, stock, shipping and tax at the stores before purchase; even recent checks do not guarantee live prices.

  • DS425+ + 4 × IronWolf 4TB (ST4000VN006, 4TB each) →

    Component total: $1,348.96 · recent · Oldest price record: 2026-10-09T03:58:24.994342+00:00 · 16TB raw, before redundancy.

    Dated price estimate. Calculated from separately purchased components, not a complete-system offer. NAS price record: 2026-10-09T03:59:21.369798+00:00; drive price record: 2026-10-09T03:58:24.994342+00:00. Price observed at the store on the shown date. Confirm the current price and availability at the store. Price observed at the store on the shown date. Confirm the current price and availability at the store. Recheck component prices, stock, shipping and tax at the stores before purchase; even recent checks do not guarantee live prices.

Before you buy

DS425+ prices and ownership costs

Budget beyond the enclosure

Add SATA drives and a separate backup destination. RAID redundancy does not replace an independent backup.[1]

Decide whether memory is part of the initial purchase

Photos object recognition requires more than the supplied 2GB. Official expansion is one 4GB module, for 6GB total.[1]

Check NVMe compatibility first

M.2 pools require verified SSDs and cache remains compatibility-listed; buy NVMe for a defined workload.[1][2]

Match published workload figures to the installed memory

The full specifications retain manufacturer test conditions. Some application limits use maximum supported RAM or SSD volumes; extra RAM, SSDs and licenses can add to the enclosure cost.[9]

Compare stores for this exact model

Diskless enclosure with 2GB RAM. Storage drives and the optional memory upgrade are separate purchases. Check the total delivered price at the store.

Lowest observed price

$589

In stock at observation

Currency not confirmed

6 stores · 1 recent price observation

Amazon

Sold by RockyStone Electronics

$589

Observed price

Currency not confirmed

In stock at observation · Condition not recorded

Observed Oct 9, 2026, 3:59:21 AM UTC[18]

View exact product at Amazon

B&H Photo Video

Sold by B&H Photo Video

$599.99

Historical price

Stock not confirmed · New

Diskless enclosure; factory 2GB

Free Expedited Shipping Before tax; no Payboo tax/financing benefit deducted. Destination/export restrictions apply.

Observed Sep 8, 2026, 3:37:27 PM UTC[6]

View exact product at B&H Photo Video

Newegg

Sold by Newegg

$599.99

Historical price

Stock not confirmed · New

DS425+; factory configuration; diskless enclosure

Observed shipping: $0.00

Observed Oct 9, 2026, 1:18:55 AM UTC[15]

View exact product at Newegg

Best Buy

Sold by Tech Deal

$599.99

Historical price

Currency not confirmed

Stock not confirmed · Condition not recorded

Observed Sep 26, 2026, 8:18:44 AM UTC[16]

View exact product at Best Buy

Adorama

Seller not recorded

$599.99

Historical price

Currency not confirmed

Stock not confirmed · Condition not recorded

Observed Sep 27, 2026, 4:13:25 AM UTC[17]

View exact product at Adorama

B&H

Seller not recorded

$599.99

Historical price

Currency not confirmed

Stock not confirmed · Condition not recorded

Observed Sep 27, 2026, 5:25:51 AM UTC[19]

View exact product at B&H

Prices are dated observations. Confirm the model, seller, condition, stock and delivered total at the store. Older prices remain visible as history. Links may earn a commission.

Questions before buying

Does it come with hard drives?

No. This page covers the empty four-bay enclosure with factory 2GB RAM.[1]

Can it organize photos with the supplied memory?

Photos and facial recognition are supported, but object recognition needs at least 4GB. The official 4GB upgrade module brings the total to 6GB.[1]

Can I add faster networking or more SATA bays later?

There is no network upgrade slot or expansion-unit port. Capacity growth stays within the four SATA bays; the two compatible M.2 slots are a separate storage option.[1]

Is hardware transcoding supported?

Do not assume it from the Intel CPU. Blackvoid documents missing official support on DS425+ and a community workaround; the latter is not part of this supported purchase configuration.[5]

Sources

Research updated Sep 11, 2026. Individual source check dates are listed below. Measurements belong to the named reviewers; tested configurations and software versions may differ from the product you buy.

  1. [1] Synology DS425+ product specifications ↗

    Checked Sep 11, 2026 · Hardware + DSM tables

  2. [2] DSM 7.3 drive compatibility FAQ (German blog) ↗

    Checked Sep 11, 2026 · FAQ 2: 2025 Plus HDDs broader; M.2 still listed

  3. [3] Synology DS425+ NAS im Test — ComputerBase ↗

    Checked Sep 11, 2026 · Pages 1–3; update 2025-10-20

  4. [4] Synology DS425+ NAS Review — TostieTech ↗

    Checked Sep 11, 2026 · Windows copy, CDM, cache table

  5. [5] Blackvoid: unlocking Plex HW transcoding on x25 Synology models ↗

    Checked Sep 11, 2026 · Community modification; not a factory-supported feature

  6. [6] B&H Photo Video DS425+ new enclosure offer ↗

    Checked Sep 8, 2026 · Main new buy box; MPN; diskless configuration; seller and stock

  7. [7] Best Buy DS425+ new enclosure offer ↗

    Checked Sep 8, 2026 · Main new buy box; MPN; diskless configuration; seller and stock

  8. [8] Adorama DS425+ enclosure listing ↗

    Checked Sep 8, 2026 · MFR DS425+, diskless title and 2GB specification; buy-box price/stock not exposed

  9. [9] Synology DS425+ product page reread ↗

    Checked Sep 11, 2026 · J4125; 2 GB / max 6 GB; 1×2.5GbE + 1×1GbE; 90 W; 21.6 dB(A)

  10. [10] Amazon — DS425+ ↗

    Checked Sep 10, 2026 · Selected buy-box seller; Product information model; New offers. MAP-hidden main price is not inferred from other sellers or recommendations.

  11. [11] Newegg — DS425+ ↗

    Checked Sep 11, 2026 · Item N82E16822108849; $599.99; Sold by Newegg / Shipped by Newegg

  12. [12] How-To Geek DS425+ review ↗

    Checked Sep 11, 2026 · Jordan Gloor 2025-08-28 plus editor HDD-policy note

  13. [13] PCMag UK DS425+ review ↗

    Checked Sep 11, 2026 · 4.9 GB mixed folder 282/282 MB/s

  14. [14] NASCompares DS425+ review ↗

    Checked Sep 11, 2026 · Wayback 2025-08-15 body; live 403

  15. [15] Newegg product price observation ↗

    Checked Oct 9, 2026 · newegg-main-item; sha256:2d3cb98857abefe9e7bab2d638a410f10435852cc387bdee8e177f02742f28cb

  16. [16] Best Buy product price observation ↗

    Checked Sep 26, 2026 · Captured observation; sha256:895ffdeea5dcd22b66304fb76ca7a7170f5c316d50e764ecfe71a6f455252f5e

  17. [17] Adorama product price observation ↗

    Checked Sep 27, 2026 · Captured observation; sha256:0c2601b55b2f962b6d4133ccbdd6e67f8d1d97f75ab5e4f0cee9568766c5c63c

  18. [18] Amazon product price observation ↗

    Checked Oct 9, 2026 · Captured observation; sha256:8b172347470f3b6c0384f642b64f8c2b09ddfd266e60fa15b9848aa80b5b8f92

  19. [19] B&H product price observation ↗

    Checked Sep 27, 2026 · Captured observation; sha256:83b68bb06dfbca012f503fc1983277df4e67545fe4e1346fedd884f8f3e4573d

Research and review record

  • Research: Grok 4.6 · Source research and data update
  • Self-check: Grok 4.6 · Researcher self-check
  • Independent review: GPT-6 (Codex) · Independent full available original articles, current official product-spec PDFs and recorded chart review. Cross-model screenshots, cache states, power/noise methods and source attribution reconciled. Newegg buyboxes rechecked; other merchant dates preserved. Full original video/audio not reviewed.
  • Editorial integration: GPT-6 (Codex) · Editorial integration and validation

Independent review completed for the scope recorded in the audit.

Source evidence and review history (JSON)

How we research products·Affiliate disclosure