Technical reference
Ubiquiti UNAS 2 specifications
UNAS-2 · official colors UNAS-2-B / UNAS-2-W · Quad-core ARM Cortex-A55 at 1.7 GHz · 4 GB factory memory · (2) 3.5-inch HDD bays · 1×2.5GbE PoE++ · UniFi Drive 3.1.7+
Complete specifications with requirements, upgrade limits and sources. For our buying judgment, reviews and prices, return to the buying guide.
Find a specification
All specifications are shown below. Jump to a category or search for a detail, including its requirements and sources.
Search all 59 specifications, including conditions and limits.
Identity
Exact-model specifications and documented limits.
| Exact manufacturer part number / configuration ID | UNAS-2[1] |
|---|---|
| Manufacturer | Ubiquiti[1] |
| Model | UNAS 2[1] |
| Official color SKUs | UNAS-2-B (Black) and UNAS-2-W (White) on the UNAS 2 product; displaySku UNAS-2[1][2] |
| Certifications | NDAA compliant; FCC, CE, IC[2] |
Compute and memory
Exact-model specifications and documented limits.
| Processor | Quad-core ARM Cortex-A55 at 1.7 GHz[2] |
|---|---|
| Factory memory | 4 GB factory memory (official table: 4 GB)[2][1] NAS Compares describes the 4 GB as LPDDR4 and not user-upgradeable. Official tech specs only print “4 GB”. |
| Physical CPU cores | 4[2] |
| Factory memory | 4 GB[2] |
| Host memory ECC | Not stated on the official UNAS 2 memory row (prints “4 GB” only). Remains unknown, not a confirmed no.[2] |
| Official memory upgrade path | Not offered in official UNAS 2 documentation (single 4 GB memory row; no DIMM/SODIMM spec). NAS Compares: fixed 4 GB LPDDR4.[2][8] |
| Official memory limit | 4 GB as printed. No higher official ceiling.[2] |
Storage and expansion
Exact-model specifications and documented limits.
| Cataloged drive-bay count | 2[1] M.2 positions are listed separately and are not silently added to SATA bay count. |
|---|---|
| Supported drive layout | (2) 3.5-inch HDD bays / 3.5-inch HDD support[2] Official hardware table does not list 2.5-inch or M.2 media on UNAS 2. Prior catalog wording that included 2.5-inch SATA SSD is not supported by the opened tech-specs row. |
| Replaceable storage drives | Yes — official QIG shows releasing the underside cage and seating a 3.5-inch HDD in the tray with a 6#-32 screw. Procedure takes the cage out of the chassis (not a front hot-swap bay).[5][6] |
| M.2 expansion | Not listed. UNAS 2 storage/hardware tables document only two 3.5-inch bays; the UNAS 4 table on the same template lists two M.2 NVMe bays.[2] |
| Official external drive enclosure expansion | USB Drive support is flagged, via (1) 5 Gbps USB-C. That is USB storage attachment, not a certified SAS/USB DAS expansion chassis.[2] |
| Physical M.2 slots | Not listed on UNAS 2 (contrast UNAS 4: two M.2 NVMe bays on the same spec template).[2] |
| SATA without a mandatory model whitelist | Official page has a “3rd-Party Qualified HDD/SSD” store tab, but this round did not extract a mandatory lock versus a qualified list. Reviewers used WD Red Plus, IronWolf and 22 TB HDDs. Boundary of any technical whitelist remains unpublished in the opened tech-specs JSON.[1][6][7] |
| M.2 without a mandatory model whitelist | Not applicable — UNAS 2 official tables do not list M.2 slots.[2] |
Network
Exact-model specifications and documented limits.
| Installed Ethernet | 1 × 2.5GbE RJ45 (2.5G/1G/100M/10M), PoE++[2][1] The same jack carries data and PoE++. Multiple ports are not present. |
|---|---|
| Fastest installed single network port | 2.5 Gbps[2] |
| Official network upgrade path | One installed 2.5GbE port; no supported USB Ethernet-adapter upgrade is established by the opened official table. Reviewer USB-NIC claims without an actual test are not adopted.[2] |
| Management interface | Ethernet[2] |
Software and data protection
Exact-model specifications and documented limits.
| Factory operating system | UniFi Drive (application requirement 3.1.7 and later) on UniFi OS[2] |
|---|---|
| RAID support | RAID 1 mirror with two disks; single-disk use described in the original reviews.[2][13] Dong Knows: a second internal disk is taken as RAID 1 redundancy, not RAID 0 or a second pool. NAS Compares also recorded single-disk setups. |
| Backup through the graphical interface | Yes — UniFi Drive backup tasks in the Drive UI (official feature list plus reviewer dashboards).[2][7] |
| Backup to an independent target | Yes — backup to a remote UNAS, a CIFS/SMB server, and cloud services (Google Drive, OneDrive, Dropbox, Amazon S3, Backblaze B2, Wasabi).[2] |
| Documented restore path | Snapshots are documented as instant data versions for backup; Time Machine restore is performed on the Mac. File-level restore from a Drive backup job is present in the product UI according to reviewers, but Ubiquiti’s help article for pools/restore returned 403 this round.[2][6] Help Center Time Machine and storage-pool articles were HTTP 403 on 2026-09-11; tech-specs flags still stand. |
| Scheduled backup | Supported as UniFi Drive backup/snapshot features. Dong Knows reported snapshot and backup schedules capping at once per day on the Drive 3.2.10 sample.[2][6] |
| Restore from snapshots | Yes — Snapshots flagged on the official UNAS 2 software table (“Create instant data versions for quick and reliable backup”).[2] |
| Version retention | Snapshot versions exist. Dong Knows reported up to 256 versions per shared drive on the tested Drive 3.2.10 build, at most daily.[2][6] 256 / daily is a reviewer observation of that build, not a numbered official tech-specs cell. |
| Immutable protection | Not established. File encryption is flagged; an immutability / legal-hold period is not on the opened UNAS 2 tech-specs table.[2] |
| Remote snapshot replication | Backup to Remote UNAS is flagged. That is a backup job, not documented as Synology-style snapshot replication.[2] |
| Native endpoint restore | Time Machine is supported. Client-app access is documented; full endpoint recovery, continuous photo backup and restore success are not established by feature flags alone.[2] |
| Official system update path | UniFi OS / UniFi Drive application updates through the UniFi interface (reviewers recorded Drive 3.x→4.x and NAS OS 5.x on desktop UNAS units).[2][9] |
| System status interface | Yes — UniFi Drive dashboard plus 1.47-inch color LCM. StorageReview described RAID, throughput, drive and snapshot panels on the live UI.[2][7] |
| System log interface | Drive 4.x health/status additions are described in the August 2026 follow-up; a dedicated log application is not specified in the model table.[2][9] |
| File protocols | SMB and NFS[2] |
| UniFi Drive version requirement | Version 3.1.7 and later; iOS app 10.28.0+ / Android 10.28.3+[2] |
| Additional Drive features (official flags) | Personal & Shared Drive; file encryption; share links; client app support; user groups[2] |
| Storage pool and RAID group limit | One storage pool with one RAID group.[13] |
| RAID conversion boundary | The current help article limits its conversion-without-reformat procedure to UNAS Pro. No non-destructive RAID-type conversion guarantee is established here.[13] |
| File encryption | Supported in the current official feature table.[2] Launch-review text saying encryption is absent is historical and conflicts with current primary documentation. |
Warranty and support
Exact-model specifications and documented limits.
| Standard warranty | Official webstore: two years from delivery. Authorized distributor/reseller: one year from shipment to that distributor/reseller, not one year from the end buyer’s purchase.[3] Replacement does not restart the warranty. Confirm channel eligibility; optional UI Care is separate. |
|---|---|
| Warranty and data responsibility | Hardware repair/replacement terms exclude software and third-party products; preserve backups before RMA. Replacement does not extend the original term.[3] |
Physical, power and acoustics
Exact-model specifications and documented limits.
| Dimensions | 135 x 129 x 223.7 mm (5.3 x 5.1 x 8.8 in)[2] |
|---|---|
| Weight | 1.3 kg (2.85 lb)[2] |
| Power supply and consumption | PoE++; 60W PoE++ adapter included; max. power consumption 60W; max. power budget for drives 52W[2] |
| Acoustic conditions | Not published on official tech specs. NAS Compares measured about 31–32 dBA idle and 35–38 dBA under load on their sample (drive vibration dominated).[2][8] dBA figures are one lab/room setup, not a manufacturer rating. |
| USB expansion | (1) 5 Gbps USB-C; USB Drive supported[2] |
| Front display | 1.47-inch color LCM[2] |
| Bluetooth | Bluetooth 4.1 (management/setup RF)[2] |
| Enclosure material | Polycarbonate[2] |
| Form factor | Desktop[2] |
| System indicator | System LED supported[2] |
| Operating temperature | -5 to 40°C (23 to 104°F)[2] |
| Operating humidity | 10–90%, non-condensing[2] |
| USB power budget | 4.5 W maximum; official drive-power note excludes cable loss.[2] |
Exact product identity & open questions
- Product ID
- ubiquiti-unas-2[1]
- Model
- UNAS 2[1]
- Official color aliases
- UNAS-2-B (black), UNAS-2-W (white)[1]
- Factory compute and memory
- Quad-core ARM Cortex-A55 at 1.7 GHz; 4 GB[2]
- Storage layout
- (2) 3.5-inch HDD bays; no M.2 on official table[2]
- Help Center articles: Time Machine and storage-pool help URLs returned HTTP 403 this round. Feature existence still rests on tech specs plus reviews.
- Immutable backup: No official immutability period on the UNAS 2 software table.
- Host ECC: Memory row does not state ECC.
- SATA qualified list: Store tab exists; full qualified-HDD table was not extracted cell-by-cell this round.
- Amazon / Newegg / B&H / CDW / Micro Center: Amazon B0G26S3HS8 is a UNAS-2-W PDP but buy-box seller and in-stock state were not verified. Newegg CAPTCHA. B&H/Micro Center 403. CDW search HTML had no clean PDP.
- NAS Compares video ASR: YouTube 1jcQaWI5C_g title/description opened; timedtext download empty. Written review used instead.
- Acoustic standard: No official dBA. Reviewer 31–38 dBA is setup-specific.
Sources
Research updated Sep 11, 2026. Individual source check dates are listed below. Measurements belong to the named reviewers; tested configurations and software versions may differ from the product you buy.
- [1] Ubiquiti US Store UNAS 2 ↗
Checked Sep 11, 2026 · NEXT_DATA collection.products[0]: displaySku UNAS-2; variants UNAS-2-B/W Available; $199 / $214 with surcharges
- [2] UniFi UNAS 2 tech specs ↗
Checked Sep 11, 2026 · technicalSpecification sections Overview/Hardware/Software; product.name UNAS-2
- [3] Ubiquiti limited warranty ↗
Checked Sep 11, 2026 · Full policy read: two years from direct delivery; one year from shipment to authorized distributor/reseller; replacement does not extend term.
- [4] UNAS 2 store category alias ↗
Checked Sep 11, 2026 · Same product family URL retained from baseline; primary facts taken from /products/unas-2
- [5] UNAS 2 installation guide (UNAS-2-B QIG) ↗
Checked Sep 11, 2026 · Rendered QIG pages 3 and 5: underside cage removal; 3.5-inch HDD + 6#-32 screw
- [6] Dong Knows Tech UNAS 2 review ↗
Checked Sep 11, 2026 · Wayback 20260513193946 plus search extract; RAID 1 ~200 MB/s; UNAS-2-W
- [7] StorageReview UniFi UNAS 2 review ↗
Checked Sep 11, 2026 · Dylan Dougherty 2025-12-08; FIO NFS section
- [8] NAS Compares UniFi UNAS 2 review ↗
Checked Sep 11, 2026 · Parent read full available original written article via web; figure access limits recorded in audit.
- [9] NAS Compares UNAS 2 and UNAS 4 one year later ↗
Checked Sep 11, 2026 · Parent read full available original written article via web; figure access limits recorded in audit. Follow-up continues the same original test family.
- [10] Ubiquiti US Store UNAS-2 offer ↗
Checked Sep 11, 2026 · Same NEXT_DATA as official-product; $214 with surcharges, Available
- [11] Microcom UNAS-2-B ↗
Checked Sep 11, 2026 · Item# UNAS-2-B $199.00; Usually ships in 6-8 weeks; HDD not included
- [12] Amazon UNAS-2-W PDP ↗
Checked Sep 11, 2026 · Title Ubiquiti UNAS 2 … White (UNAS-2-W); buy-box seller/stock not cleanly verified
- [13] Ubiquiti storage protection and RAID ↗
Checked Sep 11, 2026 · For UNAS: single pool/group, drive counts and RAID footnotes; Pro-only conversion is not generalized.
Research and review record
- Research: Grok 4.6 · Source research and data update
- Self-check: Grok 4.6 · Researcher self-check
- Independent review: GPT-6 (Codex) · Independent original written-source, table and specified figure inspection; exact-model reconciliation and dated merchant terms. Video and blocked figures excluded.
- Editorial integration: GPT-6 (Codex) · Editorial integration and validation
Independent review completed for the scope recorded in the audit.
Source evidence and review history (JSON)