Skip to content

Ubiquiti · NAS buying guide

Ubiquiti UNAS 4 (UNAS-4) NAS Buying Guide

Product facts and dated cost

Ubiquiti UNAS 4 · Exact identity: UNAS-4

4 primary bays · Ubiquiti embedded processor · 4GB factory memory · 1 × 2.5GbE · Diskless: hard drives cost extra

Catalog amount: $417 · recent · Price record: 2026-10-09T03:58:56.371550+00:00. Tax and shipping excluded.

Price observed at the store on the shown date. Confirm the current price and availability at the store.

UNAS 4: specifications and dated store comparison →

Four bays and NVMe cache, still one 2.5GbE PoE+++ cable

UNAS-4 · official colors UNAS-4-B / UNAS-4-W · Quad-core ARM Cortex-A55 at 1.7 GHz · 4 GB · (4) 2.5/3.5-inch bays · (2) M.2 NVMe cache · 1×2.5GbE PoE+++ · UniFi Drive 3.4.5+

Based on the current US UniFi Store and UNAS 4 tech-specs tables (opened 2026-09-11), Ubiquiti’s limited warranty, NAS Compares’ original UNAS 4 review and August 2026 follow-up, and Dong Knows’ preliminary first look (no UNAS 4 speed charts). ChooseCompute has not tested this NAS itself. See the review evidence ↓

Ubiquiti UNAS 4 network attached storage system

Is the UNAS 4 right for you?

Desktop four-bay UniFi file NAS with RAID 5/6/10

Official RAID 5/6/10, 2.5/3.5-inch trays, PoE+++ with a 90W adapter in the box, snapshots and multi-target backup.[2][1]

Good fit

Need NVMe as a separate pool or >2.5GbE

Official SSD cache with 2 TiB max per slot; NAS Compares: M.2 is cache only, trays extra, and a four-disk array can exceed one 2.5GbE link.[2][4]

Consider another model

Docker, VMs, media apps or 10GbE

Same UniFi Drive storage-only platform as UNAS 2. Dong Knows’ first look and NAS Compares both treat apps as out of scope.[6][4]

Consider another model

Key exact-configuration specifications

Full specifications ↗

Follow any specification for its full conditions and sources.

Living with it

Hardware, software and ownership tradeoffs

01

Same brain as UNAS 2, more disks

UNAS-4 uses the same 1.7 GHz Cortex-A55 and 4 GB memory as UNAS 2, in a 246×129×224.5 mm chassis. Official storage is four 2.5/3.5-inch bays plus two M.2 NVMe cache bays (2 TiB max). Power is PoE+++ with a 90W adapter included (80W drive budget, 90W max). On 2026-09-11 the US store showed $379 list / $408 with surcharge; UNAS-4-W Available, UNAS-4-B ComingSoon.[2][1]

02

What the original UNAS 4 test actually measured

NAS Compares reports 180–250 MB/s mixed transfers over 2.5GbE and about 46 W idle / 50–51 W active with four HDDs plus two NVMe. The RAID and drive models are not disclosed. Coywolf adds direct home-deployment and cloud-backup experience, without a throughput benchmark. Dong Knows is a preliminary first look.[4][12][6]

03

Software matches the family, not QNAP/Synology

Current official documentation supports encryption, snapshots, Time Machine and remote/SMB/cloud backups. UNAS 4 has one storage pool and one RAID group. Cache supports suitable HDD pools; it cannot be newly assigned to an all-SSD pool or a legacy pool made before UniFi OS 4.3. Minimum Drive 3.4.5 is not a current shipping-version claim.[2][11][10]

04

Software follow-up and evidence limits

NAS Compares’ August 2026 follow-up describes approximately 8 months with its UNAS 4, and Drive 4.3.10 / NAS OS 5.1.30 by August. This continues the original test, rather than adding an independent sample. USB-network stalls and iPhone photo-backup problems cited from other owners are reports, not measured defect rates or this reviewer’s controlled test.[5]

What original use and tests found

Our buying advice combines official specifications with the original reviews below. We have not tested this product ourselves. Expand a review for its setup, measurements and limitations.

NAS Compares

Rob AndrewsMar 6, 2026

NAS Compares UniFi UNAS 4 review

Mixed file transfers roughly 180–250 MB/s on 2.5GbE; cache helped repeated/small work more than huge sequential streams. ~14.1 W with no drives; ~46 W idle with 4 HDDs + 2 NVMe; ~50–51 W active.

Read the original review
Test setup, measurements & limitations

NAS Compares UniFi UNAS 4 review

Updated Mar 7, 2026

Tested: UNAS 4; mixed Windows file transfers including a 50 GB copy over native 2.5GbE, NVMe cache compared enabled/disabled. Power with four HDDs and two NVMe, plus empty chassis. Exact drive MPNs, RAID, firmware and client NIC are not specified in the available prose.

Applies to: Direct UNAS 4. Power figures include the stated HDD+NVMe set. Do not treat as UNAS 2 or UNAS Pro 4.

  • Mixed file transfers roughly 180–250 MB/s on 2.5GbE; cache helped repeated/small work more than huge sequential streams.Source location: Noise, temp and performance section
  • ~14.1 W with no drives; ~46 W idle with 4 HDDs + 2 NVMe; ~50–51 W active.Source location: Power paragraph
  • Individual SATA trays; M.2 trays not included; USB-C mostly external storage.Source location: Design / cons
Measurements reported by the reviewer
MeasurementResultConditions & source location
Mixed transfersAbout 180–250 MB/sMixed file types and a 50 GB Windows copy over 2.5GbE; no isolated cache-on/off numerical pair.Performance section
Power empty14.1 WNo drivesPower paragraph
Power populated idle/active~46 W idle; ~50–51 W active4 HDDs + 2 NVMePower paragraph

Limits to keep in mind

  • Full written original article read by parent; ten attempted performance/power figures remained blocked, so recorded values are the author’s prose readings.
  • Cache effect is workload-specific; no matched raw numerical cache-on/off dataset was recovered.
  • Exact RAID, firmware, drive models and measurement instruments are not disclosed. August follow-up is the same test family.
Coywolf

Jon HenshawMar 29, 2026

Coywolf UNAS 4 home deployment

Author reports successful monthly Backblaze B2 backup, Endpoint-assisted shared-folder access and very quiet operation with SATA SSDs.

Read the original review
Test setup, measurements & limitations

Coywolf UNAS 4 home deployment

Updated Jun 14, 2026

Tested: UNAS 4; four reused WD Red SATA SSDs in RAID 10, two 500 GB NVMe installed, 90W injector, Flex Mini 2.5G switch and Dream Router 7. Firmware unspecified.

Applies to: Direct qualitative deployment experience; no numeric performance benchmark.

  • Author reports successful monthly Backblaze B2 backup, Endpoint-assisted shared-folder access and very quiet operation with SATA SSDs.Source location: Cloud backup / shared-folder / noise sections

Limits to keep in mind

  • No controlled restore, endurance, acoustic or throughput test. Time Machine illustration identifies UNAS-2, so it does not verify UNAS 4 restore.
  • Installed NVMe is not proof of effective caching: current official instructions exclude SSD pools. RAID 10 cannot survive arbitrary two-drive failures.
  • Affiliate links present; sample/payment disclosure not established.

Common HDD combinations

Examples ordered by recorded drive unit price, which may be historical or an editorial reference. Check capacity, vendor compatibility, included storage and price evidence before choosing. These are component checks, not compatibility certifications.

  • UNAS 4 + 2 × WD Red Plus 2TB (WD20EFPX, 2TB each) →

    Component total: $726.98 · historical · Oldest price record: 2026-10-09T01:23:41.974420+00:00 · 4TB raw, before redundancy.

    Historical price estimate. Calculated from separately purchased components, not a complete-system offer. NAS price record: 2026-10-09T03:58:56.371550+00:00; drive price record: 2026-10-09T01:23:41.974420+00:00. Price observed at the store on the shown date. Confirm the current price and availability at the store. Historical price observation. Recheck the price and availability before buying; this is not a current offer. Recheck component prices, stock, shipping and tax at the stores before purchase; even recent checks do not guarantee live prices.

  • UNAS 4 + 2 × IronWolf 4TB (ST4000VN006, 4TB each) →

    Component total: $796.98 · recent · Oldest price record: 2026-10-09T03:58:24.994342+00:00 · 8TB raw, before redundancy.

    Dated price estimate. Calculated from separately purchased components, not a complete-system offer. NAS price record: 2026-10-09T03:58:56.371550+00:00; drive price record: 2026-10-09T03:58:24.994342+00:00. Price observed at the store on the shown date. Confirm the current price and availability at the store. Price observed at the store on the shown date. Confirm the current price and availability at the store. Recheck component prices, stock, shipping and tax at the stores before purchase; even recent checks do not guarantee live prices.

  • UNAS 4 + 2 × WD Red Plus 4TB (WD40EFZZ, 4TB each) →

    Component total: $806.98 · historical · Oldest price record: 2026-09-27T13:58:17.239646+00:00 · 8TB raw, before redundancy.

    Historical price estimate. Calculated from separately purchased components, not a complete-system offer. NAS price record: 2026-10-09T03:58:56.371550+00:00; drive price record: 2026-09-27T13:58:17.239646+00:00. Price observed at the store on the shown date. Confirm the current price and availability at the store. Historical price observation. Recheck the price and availability before buying; this is not a current offer. Recheck component prices, stock, shipping and tax at the stores before purchase; even recent checks do not guarantee live prices.

  • UNAS 4 + 4 × WD Red Plus 2TB (WD20EFPX, 2TB each) →

    Component total: $1,036.96 · historical · Oldest price record: 2026-10-09T01:23:41.974420+00:00 · 8TB raw, before redundancy.

    Historical price estimate. Calculated from separately purchased components, not a complete-system offer. NAS price record: 2026-10-09T03:58:56.371550+00:00; drive price record: 2026-10-09T01:23:41.974420+00:00. Price observed at the store on the shown date. Confirm the current price and availability at the store. Historical price observation. Recheck the price and availability before buying; this is not a current offer. Recheck component prices, stock, shipping and tax at the stores before purchase; even recent checks do not guarantee live prices.

  • UNAS 4 + 4 × IronWolf 4TB (ST4000VN006, 4TB each) →

    Component total: $1,176.96 · recent · Oldest price record: 2026-10-09T03:58:24.994342+00:00 · 16TB raw, before redundancy.

    Dated price estimate. Calculated from separately purchased components, not a complete-system offer. NAS price record: 2026-10-09T03:58:56.371550+00:00; drive price record: 2026-10-09T03:58:24.994342+00:00. Price observed at the store on the shown date. Confirm the current price and availability at the store. Price observed at the store on the shown date. Confirm the current price and availability at the store. Recheck component prices, stock, shipping and tax at the stores before purchase; even recent checks do not guarantee live prices.

Before you buy

US product pages and ownership costs

Four disks, optional cache, surcharge

Budget SATA drives and optional NVMe trays/SSDs. Ubiquiti’s dated price is $408 including surcharge; white Available, black ComingSoon. Flytec displays $379 plus a separate MemorySurcharge 29.00 field and quote-only ordering; its structured offer says OutOfStock. Confirm a complete quote before comparing totals.[1][5][8]

PoE+++ is not ordinary PoE+

90W PoE+++ exceeds typical PoE+ switch ports. Use the included injector unless the switch port is actually 90W-class.[2][6]

Warranty depends on purchase channel

Official webstore coverage is two years from delivery. Authorized-channel coverage runs one year from shipment to that distributor/reseller. A reseller’s own purchase date is not automatically the warranty start date. UI Care is optional.[3]

Compare stores for this exact model

UNAS-4 · official colors UNAS-4-B / UNAS-4-W · Quad-core ARM Cortex-A55 at 1.7 GHz · 4 GB · (4) 2.5/3.5-inch bays · (2) M.2 NVMe cache · 1×2.5GbE PoE+++ · UniFi Drive 3.4.5+ Check the total delivered price at the store.

Lowest observed price

$417

In stock at observation

Currency not confirmed

3 stores · 1 recent price observation

Ubiquiti

Seller not recorded

$417

Observed price

Currency not confirmed

In stock at observation · Condition not recorded

Observed Oct 9, 2026, 3:58:56 AM UTC[13]

View exact product at Ubiquiti

Flytec Computers

Sold by Flytec Computers

$379

Historical price

Stock not confirmed · New

UNAS-4-W white diskless four-bay + M.2 cache slots

Not verified. Quote request / Online Reseller Restriction. Headline and structured price $379; separate MemorySurcharge field 29.00 means this is not a verified delivered total. Structured availability OutOfStock. Confirm final quote and stock.

Observed Sep 11, 2026, 9:55:00 AM UTC[8]

View exact product at Flytec Computers

Microcom

Sold by Microcom

$379

Historical price

Stock not confirmed · New

UNAS-4-B black diskless enclosure; HDD not included

6–8 week estimate only. 6–8 week ship estimate; confirm availability, any surcharge and authorized-channel eligibility. Ubiquiti coverage through authorized resellers runs from shipment to the reseller, not from the end buyer’s purchase.

Observed Sep 11, 2026, 9:55:00 AM UTC[9]

View exact product at Microcom

Prices are dated observations. Confirm the model, seller, condition, stock and delivered total at the store. Older prices remain visible as history. Links may earn a commission.

Questions before buying

Which exact UNAS 4 configuration does this guide cover?

UNAS-4, sold as UNAS-4-B or UNAS-4-W. Same 1.7 GHz Cortex-A55 and 4 GB as UNAS 2, with four 2.5/3.5-inch bays, two M.2 cache slots and PoE+++.[1][2]

Are data drives or M.2 trays included?

Drives are not included. NAS Compares: M.2 trays are sold separately even though the slots are in the chassis.[1][4]

Will four disks go faster than UNAS 2?

Often only until 2.5GbE fills. NAS Compares saw ~180–250 MB/s mixed transfers — similar order of magnitude to UNAS 2’s link-limited tests — with cache helping some workloads.[4]

Can the M.2 SSDs be a separate volume?

Official feature is SSD cache, max 2 TiB per NVMe. Reviewers report cache-only, not a second pool.[2][4]

Sources

Research updated Sep 11, 2026. Individual source check dates are listed below. Measurements belong to the named reviewers; tested configurations and software versions may differ from the product you buy.

  1. [1] Ubiquiti US Store UNAS 4 ↗

    Checked Sep 11, 2026 · NEXT_DATA displaySku UNAS-4; UNAS-4-W Available $379/$408; UNAS-4-B ComingSoon

  2. [2] UniFi UNAS 4 tech specs ↗

    Checked Sep 11, 2026 · technicalSpecification Overview/Hardware/Software; RAID 5/6/10; SSD cache 2 TiB

  3. [3] Ubiquiti limited warranty ↗

    Checked Sep 11, 2026 · Full policy read: two years from direct delivery; one year from shipment to authorized distributor/reseller; replacement does not extend term.

  4. [4] NAS Compares UniFi UNAS 4 review ↗

    Checked Sep 11, 2026 · Parent read full available original written article via web; figure access limits recorded in audit.

  5. [5] NAS Compares UNAS 2 and UNAS 4 one year later ↗

    Checked Sep 11, 2026 · Parent read full available original written article via web; figure access limits recorded in audit. Follow-up continues the same original test family.

  6. [6] Dong Knows UNAS 4 first take ↗

    Checked Sep 11, 2026 · Full original preliminary article read; no original throughput experiment. Daily scheduling assertions are historical.

  7. [7] Ubiquiti US Store UNAS-4 offer ↗

    Checked Sep 11, 2026 · UNAS-4-W Available $408 with surcharge

  8. [8] Flytec UNAS-4-W ↗

    Checked Sep 11, 2026 · schema.org Offer price 379 USD, NewCondition, OutOfStock, sku UNAS-4-W

  9. [9] Microcom UNAS-4-B ↗

    Checked Sep 11, 2026 · Item# UNAS-4-B $379.00; Usually ships in 6-8 weeks

  10. [10] Ubiquiti storage protection and RAID ↗

    Checked Sep 11, 2026 · For UNAS: single pool/group, drive counts and RAID footnotes; Pro-only conversion is not generalized.

  11. [11] Ubiquiti adding SSD cache on UNAS/ENAS ↗

    Checked Sep 11, 2026 · UNAS 4 explicitly included; assignment, exclusion and failure behavior.

  12. [12] Coywolf UNAS 4 home deployment ↗

    Checked Sep 11, 2026 · Jon Henshaw, published March 29 / updated June 14, 2026; original deployment and backup experience. Figures not independently recovered.

  13. [13] Ubiquiti product price observation ↗

    Checked Oct 9, 2026 · Captured observation; sha256:accc149c2412b8e68ac9ea4e5b1f4059b523ae4bdf4be02b033a4ab04cd40eb7

Research and review record

  • Research: Grok 4.6 · Source research and data update
  • Self-check: Grok 4.6 · Researcher self-check
  • Independent review: GPT-6 (Codex) · Independent original written-source, table and specified figure inspection; exact-model reconciliation and dated merchant terms. Video and blocked figures excluded.
  • Editorial integration: GPT-6 (Codex) · Editorial integration and validation

Independent review completed for the scope recorded in the audit.

Source evidence and review history (JSON)

How we research products·Affiliate disclosure