Skip to content

Seagate · NAS hard drive buying guide

Seagate IronWolf Pro 12TB (ST12000NT001) Buying Guide

Product facts and dated cost

Seagate IronWolf Pro 12TB · Exact identity: ST12000NT001

12TB decimal capacity · CMR · SATA 6 Gb/s

Catalog amount: $459.99 · historical · Price record: 2026-09-26T15:30:44.000025+00:00. Tax and shipping excluded.

Historical price observation. Recheck the price and availability before buying; this is not a current offer.

IronWolf Pro 12TB: specifications and dated store comparison →

12 TB per bay for a growing shared-storage array

One 12 TB ST12000NT001 drive · 3.5-inch SATA · CMR · 7200 RPM

This guide combines Seagate DS2129.4’s 12TB column with product-manual Rev A (Dec 2023) and Rev B (Jul 2025) tables for ST12000NT001, plus checked US listings. Rev A is the document that still prints MiB/s and MB/s together; Rev B’s changelog is only “Revised model numbers.” No original professional laboratory test of this exact 12TB NT MPN was confirmed. SmartHDD lists one ST12000NT001-3LX101 EN01 result. Two YouTube clips that use NT001 in the title remain a spec recap and an NE0008 label. Older IronWolf Pro 12TB articles measure pre-NT drives. ChooseCompute has not tested this drive. See evidence and test gaps ↓

Seagate IronWolf Pro 12TB NAS hard drive

Is 12TB IronWolf Pro storage right for your NAS?

Shared files and backup targets

CMR recording and the annual workload class suit always-on NAS storage.[1]

Good fit

Large media libraries

12 TB per bay provides substantial raw capacity; usable space depends on redundancy.[1]

Good fit

A NAS beside your desk

Enclosure vibration and seek noise need separate consideration; no room-noise guarantee follows from the specification.[1][2]

Consider placement

Latency-sensitive applications

A 7200 RPM mechanical drive has rotational delay; capacity-focused NAS storage is its main role.[2]

Limited

ST12000NT001 capacity and drive specifications

Full specifications ↗

Follow any specification for its full conditions and sources.

Living with it

Pro workload limits and conflicting specification revisions

01

How much usable capacity do 12TB drives provide?

A pair of 12 TB drives in a simple mirror provides roughly 12 TB before formatting and filesystem overhead. Four equal drives with one drive of parity provide roughly 36 TB before overhead. These are capacity calculations, not measurements; snapshots and reserved space reduce what remains.[1]

02

What does the 550TB/year workload rating cover?

The 550 TB/year workload class, RV sensors and RAID-oriented error recovery suit frequent shared storage use. They do not make a single drive redundant or make an unsupported NAS configuration approved.[1]

03

Will this 12TB drive improve NAS transfer speed?

The 270 MB/s outer-track rating describes the drive under manufacturer conditions. Network speed, parity, small files and the NAS processor can all limit transfers. Buy the capacity and workload class you need; do not equate SATA link speed with file-copy speed.[1]

04

How should you plan NAS noise and cooling?

Treat placement and cooling as part of the purchase. A-weighted laboratory acoustics do not predict the vibration of your enclosure or sound at your desk. Leave ventilation clear and check drive temperature during sustained work.[1][2]

05

Why do ST12000NT001 specification revisions differ?

DS2129.4 gives a dedicated 12TB column: helium, 256 MB, 270 MB/s, 5.0 W idle, 20/26 dBA and 670 g typical. Rev A (Dec 2023) Table 2 names ST12000NT001 alongside ST16000NM000H, with merged rows for 512 MB cache and 272 MiB/s (285 MB/s max). Rev A contains inconsistent adjacent model strings; Rev B (July 2025) says “Revised model numbers” and retains shared values, including 6.19 W idle at 35°C and 2.8/3.2 bels typical sound power. Neither its changelog nor a public firmware/P-N bridge establishes a 12TB hardware change. DS2129.7 only tables 32/30/28TB and cannot replace the 12TB column.[1][2][12]

06

What older 12TB Pro labs can and cannot tell you

Tom's Hardware, StorageReview and Hardwareluxx published original 12TB IronWolf Pro tests on earlier MPNs. StorageReview's eight-drive RAID6 figures are array-level, not a single ST12000NT001 result. Hardwareluxx’s 2023 NT refresh lab is the 20 TB ST20000NT001; page 1 states that NT models from 12 TB receive 2.5 million-hour MTBF, 550 TB/year and unlimited bays. Those family statements match the 12TB datasheet column but are not 12TB measurements.[6][7][8][15]

07

NT001 in a YouTube title is not an original 12TB NT test

Reviewsinside’s 12TB Pro video recites datasheet talking points (including 256 MB cache, which matches the DS2129.4 12TB column, not a unique proof of identity) and shows a generic IronWolf HDD+SSD marketing still. It discloses no test computer or numbers. CineTech’s “NT001” titled clip is mostly music; the 0:48 frame reads ST12000NE0008 on a 12TB IronWolf Pro label, and 5:39 is boxed drives without a benchmark. Neither clip is an independent ST12000NT001 measurement. That is not a claim the videos were AI-generated or that every frame was watched.[10][11][1]

08

What the n=1 SmartHDD row can and cannot do

SmartHDD names ST12000NT001-3LX101 firmware EN01 with units tested 1. The printed maximum read is 264 MiB/s. That is useful identity and a single tool result. It does not settle 256 vs 512 MB cache or 270 vs 285 MB/s, and the page does not disclose the host or test file. Nero Score repeats 3LX101 with sequential 267/264 MB/s and mixed whole-PC scores; that aggregate is not adopted as a test.[13][14]

What still needs a real-world test

We have verified the specifications, but have not found an original test that we can reliably apply to this exact model. The advice above follows the documented features; performance, noise and long-term reliability are not independently established here.

Before you buy

Current and historical ST12000NT001 listings and ownership costs

Dated Newegg and older store listings

On 2026-09-11 Newegg showed Adorama selling ST12000NT001 at $514.77 plus $9.10 listed shipping (FinalPrice $523.87 combines them). Older B&H, Amazon and Adorama rows keep their 2026-09-08 times. None of these is a live checkout quote.[9][3]

Budget for the complete array

Multiply the dated per-drive price by the number of drives you need, then allow for backup storage, a replacement plan and any network upgrade. Compare usable capacity after redundancy rather than adding raw TB alone.[1]

Power is an ongoing cost

The datasheet lists 5 W average idle and 7.8 W average operating power per drive. Actual energy depends on workload, sleep settings and background tasks; include the NAS enclosure itself separately.[1][2]

Match the offered model and condition

Check ST12000NT001, 12 TB, one-drive quantity, new condition and the actual seller before paying. A standard retail listing can also display separate used offers or a different default marketplace seller.[1]

Compare stores for this exact model

One 12 TB ST12000NT001 drive · 3.5-inch SATA · CMR · 7200 RPM Check the total delivered price at the store.

Current price needs checking

Check stores below

4 stores · 0 recent price observations

B&H

Seller not recorded

$459.99

Historical price

Currency not confirmed

Stock not confirmed · Condition not recorded

Observed Sep 27, 2026, 5:24:15 AM UTC[16]

View exact product at B&H

Amazon

Sold by MegaRetailStore

$459.99

Historical price

Currency not confirmed

Stock not confirmed · Condition not recorded

Observed Sep 26, 2026, 3:30:44 PM UTC[17]

View exact product at Amazon

Newegg

Sold by Adorama

$514.77

Historical price

Stock not confirmed · New

One 12TB ST12000NT001 internal SATA HDD

Observed shipping: $9.10

Observed Oct 9, 2026, 1:16:01 AM UTC[18]

View exact product at Newegg

Adorama

Sold by Adorama

Check price

Stock not confirmed · New

One 12 TB ST12000NT001 3.5-inch SATA internal NAS HDD

Check delivery availability and final shipping cost for your address. Price and stock are observations, not guarantees. Confirm exact MPN, new condition, seller and warranty before ordering. Exact MFR and single-drive selector verified; active primary stock not visible, so selector price is not quoted.

Observed Sep 8, 2026, 3:38:55 PM UTC[4]

View exact product at Adorama

Prices are dated observations. Confirm the model, seller, condition, stock and delivered total at the store. Older prices remain visible as history. Links may earn a commission.

IronWolf Pro 12TB questions before buying

Is this exact drive CMR?

Yes. Seagate lists ST12000NT001 as CMR in its model-specific datasheet column.[1]

Does Pro mean it works in any NAS?

No. The drive is designed for NAS use, but controller support, maximum capacity and vendor firmware qualification still matter. Check the exact enclosure and drive model together.[1][2]

Is the workload figure a lifetime write limit?

No. It is an annualized transfer workload that includes reads and writes. It is not an SSD-style lifetime TBW figure.[1][2]

Do the warranty and Rescue service replace a backup?

No. Warranty and recovery services have conditions and do not guarantee recovery. Keep an independent copy of important data.[1][2]

I saw YouTube videos titled IronWolf Pro NT001 12TB. Are those original tests?

The two clips checked here are not. One is a spoken spec recap with a marketing still and affiliate link. The other is mostly music and shows an older ST12000NE0008 label on screen. Title text alone does not make them ST12000NT001 laboratories.[10][11]

Is the cache 256 MB or 512 MB?

Both figures exist on official PDFs that name ST12000NT001. DS2129.4’s 12TB column is 256 MB. Manual Rev A Table 2 prints 512 MB (524,288 KB) in a merged row spanning ST16000NM000H and ST12000NT001, and Rev B repeats 512 MB as a shared 12–24 TB row. Rev B’s changelog does not say the 12TB cache changed. Ask the seller for the delivered label/P-N if cache size matters.[1][2][12]

Can 272 MiB/s in the manual be converted to 285 MB/s?

Inside Rev A, yes: that table prints 272 MiB/s (285 MB/s max) on one row. Rev B dropped the MiB labels. DS2129.4 still prints 270 MB/s for the 12TB column. Conversion inside Rev A does not let us silently replace the datasheet number.[12][2][1]

Sources

Research updated Sep 12, 2026. Individual source check dates are listed below. Measurements belong to the named reviewers; tested configurations and software versions may differ from the product you buy.

  1. [1] Seagate IronWolf Pro model specification table ↗

    Checked Sep 11, 2026 · DS2129.4-2311US p.3 ST12000NT001 column: 256 MB cache, 270 MB/s OD, 550 TB/year, 2.5M MTBF, 5.0 W idle, 7.8 W operating, 20/26 dBA, helium, unlimited bays.

  2. [2] Seagate IronWolf Pro SATA product manual ↗

    Checked Sep 11, 2026 · Cover models ST24000NT002 / ST20000NT001 / ST16000NT001 / ST12000NT001; specification summary tables pp. 7–12 and acoustics/power notes. Shared rows are not per-column.

  3. [3] B&H ST12000NT001 product offer ↗

    Checked Sep 8, 2026 · Product heading / MFR, selected capacity and quantity; primary purchase area and seller disclosure. Exact MFR; single drive; primary new listing says Temporarily Out of Stock. Price is an unavailable listing, not a buy-now quote.

  4. [4] Adorama ST12000NT001 product offer ↗

    Checked Sep 8, 2026 · Product heading / MFR, selected capacity and quantity; primary purchase area and seller disclosure. Exact MFR and single-drive selector verified; active primary stock not visible, so selector price is not quoted.

  5. [5] Amazon ST12000NT001 product offer ↗

    Checked Sep 8, 2026 · Product heading / MFR, selected capacity and quantity; primary purchase area and seller disclosure. Exact title and EPHDirect seller; price behind cart and selected-offer availability not stated. No cart action taken.

  6. [9] Newegg ST12000NT001 product page ↗

    Checked Sep 11, 2026 · Exact MPN in title; Newegg-sold SKU not isolated as the featured in-stock buy box; marketplace Adorama row FinalPrice 523.87 Instock true

  7. [10] Reviewsinside IronWolf Pro 12TB recap (not an original test) ↗

    Checked Sep 11, 2026 · ASR 0:00–7:23 spec recap; ~2:00 generic IronWolf HDD+SSD marketing still

  8. [12] Seagate IronWolf Pro SATA Product Manual 206815300 Rev. A ↗

    Checked Sep 12, 2026 · Cover Dec 2023; Table 2 ST12000NT001 column: cache 512MB (524,288KB); Max Sustained OD 272 MiB/s (285 MB/s max); Sustained OD 259 MiB/s (272 MB/s max)

  9. [16] B&H product price observation ↗

    Checked Sep 27, 2026 · Captured observation; sha256:ecd1b276707db2ae48218ad514c10f5197e1424621187ce6b644b8e7b2704612

  10. [17] Amazon product price observation ↗

    Checked Sep 26, 2026 · Captured observation; sha256:efe6199425af81488ec36d86b740ace67d0b76416a9fb5885b1241d9c3cc615d

  11. [18] Newegg product price observation ↗

    Checked Oct 9, 2026 · newegg-main-item; sha256:b47e919a2124c4682a504aa63e8a0be96ff0ea49e37b973f85e1aec721989d9d

Research and review record

  • Research: Grok 4.6 · Targeted additional original-source research for five mainstream HDDs.
  • Self-check: Grok 4.6 · Source identity, method and data self-check; WD original session also verified the parent-supplied Zigsow lead.
  • Independent review: GPT-6 (Codex) · Original evidence verification, applicability decisions and correction of incomplete case follow-up and document interpretation.
  • Editorial integration: GPT-6 (Codex) · Preserve source history, update five local research records and existing coverage report.

Independent review completed for the scope recorded in the audit.

Source evidence and review history (JSON)

How we research products·Affiliate disclosure