Skip to content

Seagate · NAS hard drive buying guide

Seagate IronWolf Pro 24TB (ST24000NT002) Buying Guide

Product facts and dated cost

Seagate IronWolf Pro 24TB · Exact identity: ST24000NT002

24TB decimal capacity · CMR · SATA 6 Gb/s

Catalog amount: $859.99 · historical · Price record: 2026-09-26T07:27:09.798520+00:00. Tax and shipping excluded.

Historical price observation. Recheck the price and availability before buying; this is not a current offer.

IronWolf Pro 24TB: specifications and dated store comparison →

24 TB per bay for a growing shared-storage array

One 24 TB ST24000NT002 drive · 3.5-inch SATA · CMR · 7200 RPM

This guide combines Seagate DS2129.4 and Seagate’s CMR/SMR list with two original ST24000NT002 tests: NASCompares (USB-dock mixed copy) and Fireblsblog (desktop lab power, sequential charts and a metered sound level). 24TB IronWolf Pro is in the conventional CMR class, not Mozaic HAMR CMR. ComputerBase later used a 24TB Pro as a non-HAMR comparison point in its 32TB article. ChooseCompute has not tested this drive. See the review evidence ↓

Seagate IronWolf Pro 24TB NAS hard drive

Is 24TB IronWolf Pro storage right for your NAS?

Shared files and backup targets

CMR recording and the annual workload class suit always-on NAS storage.[1]

Good fit

Large media libraries

24 TB per bay provides substantial raw capacity; usable space depends on redundancy.[1]

Good fit

A NAS beside your desk

Enclosure vibration and seek noise need separate consideration; no room-noise guarantee follows from the specification.[1][2]

Consider placement

Latency-sensitive applications

A 7200 RPM mechanical drive has rotational delay; capacity-focused NAS storage is its main role.[2]

Limited

ST24000NT002 capacity and drive specifications

Full specifications ↗

Follow any specification for its full conditions and sources.

Living with it

24TB usable capacity and mixed-file copy limits

01

How much usable capacity do 24TB drives provide?

A pair of 24 TB drives in a simple mirror provides roughly 24 TB before formatting and filesystem overhead. Four equal drives with one drive of parity provide roughly 72 TB before overhead. These are capacity calculations, not measurements; snapshots and reserved space reduce what remains.[1]

02

What does the 550TB/year workload rating cover?

The 550 TB/year workload class, RV sensors and RAID-oriented error recovery suit frequent shared storage use. They do not make a single drive redundant or make an unsupported NAS configuration approved.[1]

03

Will this 24TB drive improve NAS transfer speed?

The 285 MB/s outer-track rating describes the drive under manufacturer conditions. Network speed, parity, small files and the NAS processor can all limit transfers. Buy the capacity and workload class you need; do not equate SATA link speed with file-copy speed.[1]

04

Short benchmarks and full-disk scans answer different questions

Fireblsblog’s original24TB screenshots show287.45/275.90MB/s sequential read/write in a1GiB CrystalDiskMark test. A full-span HD Tune pass averaged226.5/211.5MB/s. The difference matters when filling or reading most of the disk: a short outer-zone result is not a whole-drive transfer promise.[9]

05

How should you plan NAS noise and cooling?

Treat placement and cooling as part of the purchase. A-weighted laboratory acoustics do not predict the vibration of your enclosure or sound at your desk. Leave ventilation clear and check drive temperature during sustained work.[1][2]

06

Why do ST24000NT002 specification revisions differ?

The exact-model datasheet and shared manual differ on some performance, power and environmental values. Confirm the supplied revision before designing near a limit.[1][2]

07

How much does the available noise test tell you?

Fireblsblog reported a24.7dBA average over a selected operating interval, but the article does not state microphone distance or background level. NASCompares reused a20TB recording. These sources cannot guarantee the noise of a24TB drive in your enclosure; placement and vibration still matter.[9][3][1]

08

ComputerBase later used 24TB Pro as a non-HAMR yardstick

In the IronWolf Pro 32TB test, ComputerBase's comparison set includes IronWolf Pro 24TB traces (average write 221.4 MB/s in that suite, ahead of the uncooled 32TB). Charts label the capacity and year, not always ST24000NT002. Treat that as same-family ComputerBase methodology, not a second NASCompares-style USB-dock test.[10]

What original 24TB tests found

Our buying advice combines official specifications with the original reviews below. We have not tested this product ourselves. Expand a review for its setup, measurements and limitations.

NASCompares

Rob AndrewsApr 17, 2024

A 20GB mixed-file copy through a USB dock

NASCompares reported 205 MB/s average and 260 MB/s peak for a 20GB mixed-file copy using a Windows 10 Pro i5-11400 PC and Sabrent USB 3.2 Gen 2 dock. This single-drive result does not establish RAID speed. The reused 20TB noise recording supplies no 24TB acoustic evidence.

Read the original review
Test setup, measurements & limitations

Seagate 24TB Ironwolf Pro NAS Hard Drive Review

Updated Jul 15, 2025

Tested: Single ST24000NT002-3N1101, EN01 firmware; Windows10 Pro i5-11400/B560M/16GBDDR4-2666, SabrentUSB3.2Gen2 dock. Separate Synology GIF shows DS923+ named host with87.3TB RAID0 volume and AJA testing; it is not the same single-drive test.

Applies to: 24 TB NT002 test; article contains model-number typos and unrelated reused assets.

  • Mixed-file transfers differed from synthetic sequential performance.Source location: Testing: 20 GB Windows Transfer paragraph
Measurements reported by the reviewer
MeasurementResultConditions & source location
20 GB mixed-file copy205 MB/s average; 260 MB/s peakAuthor-reported mixed-file copy onto the24TB drive through the USB dock. GIF only covers34–40% completion; shown speeds254–260MB/s cannot independently verify the reported205MB/s whole-copy average.Testing: paragraph before 20 GB Windows Transfer
CDM8.0.4 sequential Q8T1 read/write278.20/273.09 MB/s at1GiB;271.62/270.59 MB/s at16GiBOne pass each, empty22352GiB USB-connected volume.4GiB272.40/272.73MB/s;16GiB4KQ32T16 read/write2.69/3.42MB/s.OriginalPerformance2/3/4 screenshots

Limits to keep in mind

  • Single-drive short test; no array endurance evidence.
  • Ignore the incorrect 256 MB claim and reused 20 TB noise recording; no 24 TB acoustic measurement is adopted.
  • Historical DS923+ result does not establish current vendor approval.
  • Amazon/B&H affiliate links disclosed. Short CDM runs and mixed-file copy observations do not establish sustained full-surface performance.
  • Original identity screenshot confirms EN01 firmware; sample supply remains unconfirmed.
  • The Synology GIF contradicts the prose claim that all tests are single-drive/internal benchmarks: it shows a RAID0 share and client AJA5K/512MB test around790MB/s write. Link speed, full membership MPNs and client setup are not established, so no single-drive or general NAS throughput is inferred.
Fireblsblog

Firebls

Fireblsblog ST24000NT002 lab

The original24TB charts show287.45/275.90MB/s sequential in a1GiB CDM test and226.5/211.5MB/s full-span HD Tune averages. Reported idle/copy powers are3.14/7.07W, with inconsistencies in the article’s voltage/current table. The24.7dBA selected operating interval lacks a stated distance or background level.

Read the original review
Test setup, measurements & limitations

Seagate IronWolf Pro, 24 TB, ST24000NT002 im Test

Tested: Exact ST24000NT002, HD Tune label suffix3N1. Benchmark subsection explicitly uses the older Hardwareluxx test PC via linked method; the separate main platform list is i9-12900KS/MSIZ690/32GBDDR5-5200/Windows11 withfourQ5SSDs and Adaptec controller and should not automatically be applied to those benchmarks. Power uses separate5V/12V oscilloscope rails. Acoustic microphone distance/background not stated.

Applies to: Exact24TB sample; original CDM, ATTO, HD Tune, scope and sound screenshots independently inspected. No array reliability claim.

  • Idle was too quiet to measure on the author's meter; average A-weighted operating level was 24.7 dB(A) under that protocol.Source location: Schallpegelmessung
  • Startup current on this 24TB sample was described as limited versus the 22TB predecessor, which the author treats as friendlier to smaller PSUs.Source location: Messung 1 Anlauf
Measurements reported by the reviewer
MeasurementResultConditions & source location
Author-stated sequential range270–290 MB/s peakAuthor overall characterization; original CDM8.0.4 and full-surface HD Tune readings listed separately.Bewertung
Idle power (both rails, scope)About 3.14 WSum of author-tabulated rail powers1.98+1.16W; voltage/current columns do not reproduce all listed powers, and waveform screenshots omit numeric statistics. Retained as author-reported, not independently recomputed; not datasheet idle definition.Messung 2 Idle
Copy-test power7.07 W averageSum of author-tabulated3.64+3.43W; same internal voltage/current/power inconsistency. Not independently recalculated from raw samples.Messung 3
Average operating sound level24.7 dB(A)Selected A–B interval average24.7dBA in Dec9,2024 screenshot; whole displayed dataset average24.4, peak28.0,min20.0. Distance/background unspecified and plotted graph blank below30dB. Not calibrated evidence of a universally quiet NAS.Schallpegelmessung
CDM8.0.4 sequential Q8T1 read/write287.45 / 275.90 MB/sFive1GiB passes on near-empty22352GiB volume; Q1T1283.63/275.52MB/s,4KQ1T11.07/3.08MB/s. TwoGiB Q8T1282.78/273.55MB/s.OriginalCDM8-1/2 screenshots
HD Tune Pro5.70 full-surface read/write averages226.5 / 211.5 MB/sSingle24TB pass; read min/max125.9/286.4MB/s, write78.2/277.9MB/s. Read access12.0ms, write4.10ms; lower average than outer-zone peak.OriginalHDTune_R/W
HD Tune random4K read85 IOPS;11.670ms average access4KB aligned full-span random-read test;33.343ms maximum,0.335MB/s.OriginalHDTune_RAR

Limits to keep in mind

  • Single sample. Do not treat 3.14 W idle as equivalent to the 6.3 W datasheet idle figure.
  • Acoustic dBA has no stated mic distance or background floor on the linked method pages; do not rank against other dBA sources.
  • Article says “Link zum Video” with no href; YouTube not transcribed.
  • Publication stated only as January 2025; publishedAt left null because the day is unknown.
  • Several power-table voltage/current entries do not reproduce reported power. Preserve author values with this discrepancy rather than claiming independent precision.
  • Startup1.5A limit is the author’s interpretation; separate rail peaks are not a simultaneous combined-power maximum.

Before you buy

Current and historical ST24000NT002 listings and ownership costs

Dated Newegg-sold listing and older store rows

On 2026-09-11 Newegg’s visible primary price for ST24000NT002 was $859.99 in stock (Newegg-sold). Older marketplace and store rows keep their original dates.[11]

Budget for the complete array

Multiply the dated per-drive price by the number of drives you need, then allow for backup storage, a replacement plan and any network upgrade. Compare usable capacity after redundancy rather than adding raw TB alone.[1]

Power is an ongoing cost

The datasheet lists 6.3 W average idle and 7.8 W average operating power per drive. Actual energy depends on workload, sleep settings and background tasks; include the NAS enclosure itself separately.[1][2]

Match the offered model and condition

Check ST24000NT002, 24 TB, one-drive quantity, new condition and the actual seller before paying. A standard retail listing can also display separate used offers or a different default marketplace seller.[1]

Compare stores for this exact model

One 24 TB ST24000NT002 drive · 3.5-inch SATA · CMR · 7200 RPM Check the total delivered price at the store.

Current price needs checking

Check stores below

5 stores · 0 recent price observations

Amazon

Sold by MegaRetailStore

$859.99

Historical price

Currency not confirmed

Stock not confirmed · Condition not recorded

Observed Sep 26, 2026, 7:27:09 AM UTC[13]

View exact product at Amazon

B&H

Sold by B&H Photo Video

$999

Historical price

Stock not confirmed · New

One 24 TB ST24000NT002 3.5-inch SATA internal NAS HDD

Free Expedited Shipping shown. Price and stock are observations, not guarantees. Confirm exact MPN, new condition, seller and warranty before ordering. MFR ST24000NT002; 24 TB; quantity 1; Temporarily Out of Stock.$999 primary new listing; used offer excluded.

Observed Sep 8, 2026, 3:45:27 PM UTC[4]

View exact product at B&H

Newegg

Sold by Lucky Store 4 You

$1,027.99

Historical price

Stock not confirmed · New

Observed shipping: $0.00

Observed Oct 9, 2026, 1:16:27 AM UTC[12]

View exact product at Newegg

MemoryC

Seller not recorded

$1,313.89

Historical price

Currency not confirmed

Stock not confirmed · Condition not recorded

Observed Sep 27, 2026, 8:40:54 AM UTC[14]

View exact product at MemoryC

Adorama

Sold by Adorama

Check price

Stock not confirmed · New

One 24 TB ST24000NT002 3.5-inch SATA internal NAS HDD

Check delivery availability and final shipping cost for your address. Price and stock are observations, not guarantees. Confirm exact MPN, new condition, seller and warranty before ordering. Exact model page; active offer availability not established. Selector pricing is not a verified primary offer.

Observed Sep 8, 2026, 3:45:27 PM UTC[6]

View exact product at Adorama

Prices are dated observations. Confirm the model, seller, condition, stock and delivered total at the store. Older prices remain visible as history. Links may earn a commission.

IronWolf Pro 24TB questions before buying

Is this exact drive CMR?

Yes. Seagate lists ST24000NT002 as CMR in its model-specific datasheet column.[1]

Does Pro mean it works in any NAS?

No. The drive is designed for NAS use, but controller support, maximum capacity and vendor firmware qualification still matter. Check the exact enclosure and drive model together.[1][2]

Is the workload figure a lifetime write limit?

No. It is an annualized transfer workload that includes reads and writes. It is not an SSD-style lifetime TBW figure.[1][2]

Do the warranty and Rescue service replace a backup?

No. Warranty and recovery services have conditions and do not guarantee recovery. Keep an independent copy of important data.[1][2]

Sources

Research updated Sep 11, 2026. Individual source check dates are listed below. Measurements belong to the named reviewers; tested configurations and software versions may differ from the product you buy.

  1. [1] Seagate IronWolf Pro model specification table ↗

    Checked Sep 11, 2026 · DS2129.4-2311US p.2 ST24000NT002 column: 512 MB cache, 285 MB/s OD, 550 TB/year, 6.3 W idle, 7.8 W operating, 20/26 dBA, 5 °C min ambient.

  2. [2] Seagate IronWolf Pro SATA product manual ↗

    Checked Sep 11, 2026 · Cover models ST24000NT002 / ST20000NT001 / ST16000NT001 / ST12000NT001; specification summary tables pp. 7–12 and acoustics/power notes. Shared rows are not per-column.

  3. [3] Seagate 24 TB Ironwolf Pro NAS Hard Drive Review ↗

    Checked Sep 11, 2026 · Live URL HTTP 403; reread via Wayback; mixed-file 205/260 MB/s retained

  4. [4] B&H ST24000NT002 product offer ↗

    Checked Sep 8, 2026 · Product heading / MFR, selected capacity and quantity; primary purchase area and seller disclosure. MFR ST24000NT002; 24 TB; quantity 1; Temporarily Out of Stock.$999 primary new listing; used offer excluded.

  5. [5] Newegg ST24000NT002 product offer ↗

    Checked Sep 8, 2026 · Product heading / MFR, selected capacity and quantity; primary purchase area and seller disclosure. Exact 24 TB model; selected PC Parts Hub offer with Add to cart.

  6. [6] Adorama ST24000NT002 product offer ↗

    Checked Sep 8, 2026 · Product heading / MFR, selected capacity and quantity; primary purchase area and seller disclosure. Exact model page; active offer availability not established. Selector pricing is not a verified primary offer.

  7. [7] Amazon: ST24000NT002 current US new listing ↗

    Checked Sep 10, 2026 · Exact MPN in title; selected new main buy box provides Add to cart and shows seller QuickDealStore; ships from Amazon; numeric price is hidden behind cart.

  8. [8] Newegg: ST24000NT002 current US new listing ↗

    Checked Sep 10, 2026 · Exact MPN in H1; selected main offer shows Add to cart, seller Adorama, and a visible price of $951.23.

  9. [9] Fireblsblog: Seagate IronWolf Pro 24 TB ST24000NT002 im Test ↗

    Checked Sep 11, 2026 · Exact ST24000NT002; power rails, CDM/ATTO/HD Tune, Schallpegelmessung 24.7 dB(A)

  10. [11] Newegg ST24000NT002 product page ↗

    Checked Sep 11, 2026 · Newegg item 22-185-104 FinalPrice 859.99 Instock true

  11. [12] Newegg product price observation ↗

    Checked Oct 9, 2026 · newegg-main-item; sha256:d8cd916dfed5aa25fdc62940c239df35c7f74f1de96235207a24272ebc33b7ca

  12. [13] Amazon product price observation ↗

    Checked Sep 26, 2026 · Captured observation; sha256:5e8ed7502f0151c16b496aa60f984c8dcb5a0918af58daa8e271601967438510

  13. [14] MemoryC product price observation ↗

    Checked Sep 27, 2026 · Captured observation; sha256:a261d635644f26b36cc10c03bb34b9425481740f3bf5cd4bb2a28cba43754c80

Research and review record

  • Research: Grok 4.6 · Source research and data update
  • Self-check: Grok 4.6 · Researcher self-check
  • Independent review: GPT-6 (Codex) · Exact-model official table/manual and original article/test-chart verification, retained owner-video ASR/frame limits and dated primary merchant observations.
  • Editorial integration: GPT-6 (Codex) · Editorial integration and validation

Independent review completed for the scope recorded in the audit.

Source evidence and review history (JSON)

How we research products·Affiliate disclosure