Technical reference
Synology Plus Series HAT3320-8T 8TB specifications
One Synology Plus Series 8TB HAT3320-8T internal SATA hard drive. NAS enclosure and other drives sold separately.
Complete specifications with requirements, upgrade limits and sources. For our buying judgment, reviews and prices, return to the buying guide.
Find a specification
All specifications are shown below. Jump to a category or search for a detail, including its requirements and sources.
Search all 32 specifications, including conditions and limits.
Exact identity & capacity
Connection & sector format
Recording & NAS firmware
These rows distinguish recording method, vibration controls and vendor integration.
| Recording / drive design | CMR / Air[1] |
|---|---|
| DSM firmware updates | Supported directly in compatible Synology DSM systems[1] |
| Validation statement | More than 500,000 hours of Synology compatibility and stress testing[1] Family validation statement; not this unit's operating age. |
Rated performance
Workload & reliability ratings
Population and workload ratings do not predict one unit's life.
| MTBF | 1,200,000 hours[1] Population/design statistic, not individual-drive lifespan. |
|---|---|
| Workload rating | 300TB/year read, written or verified[1] |
| Unrecoverable read error rating | Unknown; not stated in the current Synology data sheet[1] |
| Load/unload cycle rating | Unknown; not stated in the current Synology data sheet[1] |
Warranty & support
Confirm regional coverage and proof-of-purchase requirements.
| Limited warranty | 3 years from documented purchase date[1] |
|---|
Power & spin-up planning
Size power and cooling for active work as well as idle.
| Supply voltage | 12V ±10%; 5V +10/−7%[1] |
|---|---|
| Idle power average | 5.74W[1] |
| Average operating power | 9.07W[1] |
| Startup current | Unknown; not stated in the current Synology data sheet[1] |
| Standby / sleep power | Unknown; not stated in the current Synology data sheet[1] |
Temperature, vibration & shock
Stay within the documented installation and handling limits.
| Operating temperature | 5 to 60°C[1] |
|---|---|
| Non-operating temperature | −40 to 70°C[1] |
| Operating / non-operating shock (2ms) | 686 / 2,450 m/s²[1] |
| Operating vibration | 5–300 Hz: 7.35 m/s²; 300–500 Hz: 2.45 m/s²[1] |
| Non-operating vibration | 5–500 Hz: 29.4 m/s²[1] |
| Operating / non-operating altitude | −304.8 to 3,048m / −304.8 to 12,192m[1] |
| Operating / non-operating humidity | 5–90% / 5–95% RH, non-condensing[1] |
Published acoustics
Drive ratings do not predict sound from an assembled NAS.
| Idle / seek acoustics, typical | 34 / 35 dB[1] Manufacturer source preserves the unit as dB and does not state a sound-pressure/sound-power method. |
|---|
Dimensions & mounting
Compliance
Regulatory statements apply to the documented revision.
| Certifications | CE, RCM, BSMI, KC, UKCA, UL, TUV, ICES, RoHS[1] |
|---|
Compatibility & revision boundaries
Verify the exact host and do not substitute a neighboring MPN.
| Host compatibility | Check the exact Synology NAS model and drive compatibility list before purchase[1] |
|---|
Exact product identity & open questions
- Manufacturer part number
- HAT3320-8T[1]
- Product
- One 8TB internal 3.5-inch SATA HDD from the Synology Plus Series family; enclosure and additional drives sold separately.[1]
- Revision rule
- Match the complete HAT3320-8T suffix on the listing and delivered label; another 8TB family member is not interchangeable evidence.[1]
- Long-term reliability: No controlled exact-MPN field failure-rate or service-life study is adopted. Workload, MTBF/MTTF and warranty ratings do not predict the life of the delivered unit.
- Host compatibility: The target NAS model, bay position, firmware and capacity ceiling were not specified. Family NAS positioning does not establish arbitrary host compatibility.
- Current US offer coverage: No exact-MPN new main offer returned a usable selected page on 2026-09-10; attempts were blocked, redirected, mismatched, lacked a qualifying main offer or exposed unresolved templates. 3 older listing(s) remain historical only.
- Original exact-MPN testing and indexing: Reasonable exact-MPN review searches found no applicable original test with enough configuration and visible results to adopt. Keep the page noindex pending suitable testing and independent editorial review.
- Unpublished exact-model specifications: The adopted official source does not state: Unrecoverable read error rating, Load/unload cycle rating, Startup current, Standby / sleep power. These fields remain Unknown rather than being copied from another MPN.
Sources
Research updated Sep 11, 2026. Individual source check dates are listed below. Measurements belong to the named reviewers; tested configurations and software versions may differ from the product you buy.
- [1] Synology Plus Series HDD data sheet — 2026 ↗
Checked Sep 11, 2026 · Technical Specifications, exact HAT3320-8T column; shared environmental rows and document footnotes.
- [2] B&H: HAT3320-8T historical US listing ↗
Checked Aug 30, 2026 · Catalog record dated 2026-08-30: exact MPN, new condition, seller status retailer, availability in-stock. Historical catalog reference price $419.99. Any usable 2026-09-10 main offer is recorded separately rather than overwriting this historical observation.
- [3] Adorama: HAT3320-8T historical US listing ↗
Checked Aug 31, 2026 · Catalog record dated 2026-08-31: exact MPN, new condition, seller status retailer, availability listed. No historical price adopted for this URL. Any usable 2026-09-10 main offer is recorded separately rather than overwriting this historical observation.
- [4] Amazon: HAT3320-8T historical US listing ↗
Checked Aug 31, 2026 · Catalog record dated 2026-08-31: exact MPN, new condition, seller status marketplace-unverified, availability listed. No historical price adopted for this URL. Any usable 2026-09-10 main offer is recorded separately rather than overwriting this historical observation.
- [5] Synology drive compatibility policies FAQ ↗
Checked Sep 11, 2026 · FAQ on 2025-and-later storage compatibility; host-specific list still required
- [6] Synology Plus Series 3.5-inch SATA HDD ↗
Checked Sep 11, 2026 · Series marketing, CMR/firmware claims, applied-model names in HTML
Research and review record
- Research: Grok 4.6 · Source research and data update
- Self-check: Grok 4.6 · Researcher self-check
- Independent review: GPT-6 (Codex) · Exact official specifications/footnotes, distinction between direct tests and related/vendor evidence, reader projection and dated offers; explicit coverage gaps retained; no new index approval.
- Editorial integration: GPT-6 (Codex) · Editorial integration and validation
Independent review completed for the scope recorded in the audit.
Source evidence and review history (JSON)