Skip to content

Western Digital · NAS hard drive buying guide

WD Red Plus 8TB (WD80EFPX) Buying Guide

Product facts and dated cost

Western Digital WD Red Plus 8TB · Exact identity: WD80EFPX

8TB decimal capacity · CMR · SATA 6 Gb/s

Catalog amount: $354.99 · historical · Price record: 2026-09-27T13:56:41.754814+00:00. Tax and shipping excluded.

Historical price observation. Recheck the price and availability before buying; this is not a current offer.

WD Red Plus 8TB: specifications and dated store comparison →

An 8TB CMR Red Plus with owner sequential numbers; empty-volume USB CDM is not a NAS rating.

One 8 TB WD80EFPX drive ·3.5-inch SATA ·CMR ·5640 RPM

WD80EFPX is the 8TB Red Plus SKU in the September 2025 table: CMR, 5640 RPM, 256 MB cache, 215 MB/s rated transfer, 24/28 dBA, 180 TB/year and a three-year limited warranty. Two original owner screenshots add performance evidence with explicit limits. GNOME Disks names WD80EFPX-68C4ZN0 / 81.00A81 in a DXP2800 and reports 175.7/96.1 MB/s across 100 partition samples. Zigsow author MihailJP shows CrystalDiskMark 8.0.5, five passes, 1 GiB, N: 0% used and USB conversion, with SEQ1M Q8T1 245.36/241.18 MB/s. The latter identifies the base MPN through the article and typed label, not SMART. ChooseCompute has not tested this drive. See the review evidence ↓

Western Digital WD Red Plus 8TB NAS hard drive

Is this 8TB drive right for your NAS?

Shared files and backup targets

CMR and the 180 TB/year class suit NAS data storage within the stated limits.[1]

Good fit

A NAS beside your desk

Datasheet 24/28 dBA is a lab rating. One Synology owner described a repeating tick/click on WD80EFPX that tape damping did not remove.[1][9]

Consider placement

Latency-sensitive applications

Mechanical storage is capacity-oriented; application response depends on seeks and the whole NAS.[1]

Limited

Key hard drive specifications

Full specifications ↗

Follow any specification for its full conditions and sources.

Living with it

Capacity, NAS workload and placement

01

What two 8TB drives provide in RAID1

Two equal 8 TB drives in RAID1 provide roughly 8 TB before formatting and reserved space. Redundancy protects availability in some failures; keep an independent backup.[1]

02

Drive speed is only part of a NAS transfer

The 215 MB/s rating is an internal drive figure. Your NAS processor, network, filesystem, RAID and file sizes determine end-to-end transfers. Small-file applications also encounter mechanical seek delays.[1]

03

180TB/year workload and the eight-bay design

This model is rated for 180 TB/year of reads and writes. Annual workload is not lifetime writes. Red Plus is designed for up to eight bays; frequent transfers can consume the annual rating even if the drive is not full.[1]

04

Acoustic ratings and NAS placement

The datasheet lists 24 dBA idle and 28 dBA average seek. These are laboratory ratings, not noise measured at your desk. Mount securely, leave cooling clearance, and avoid relying on brand or family names to predict quietness.[1]

05

8TB Red Plus tests that are not this MPN

Adorama's Paul Ip article installed four 8TB WD Red Plus drives in a Synology DS1520+ RAID 6 and ran HD Tune Pro 5.75 against a 210 MB/s advertised figure. The page never states WD80EFPX. Treat it as family context. Nero Score lists WDC WD80EFPX-68C4ZN0 with mixed-host submissions; the 5708 MB/s sequential-read average is not a HDD result and is not used.[5][6][1]

06

Exact-suffix owner chart versus dock zeros

The DXP2800 GNOME Disks screenshot identifies WD80EFPX-68C4ZN0 / 81.00A81. Read/write averages are 175.7/96.1 MB/s over 100 samples of 10 MiB; access time is 15.49 ms over 1000 samples. This is a partition benchmark. A separate owner reports zero-fill times of 13 h 23 min and 13 h 31 min in the same dock, but omits the tool, command and byte count. Keep those times as a limited record without deriving whole-drive MB/s or explaining the GNOME result.[7][8][1]

07

Zigsow USB CrystalDiskMark is an empty-volume snapshot

The April 24, 2026 Zigsow article includes a CrystalDiskMark 8.0.5 screenshot: five passes, 1 GiB, N: 0% of 7452 GiB and USB conversion. Sequential Q8T1 read/write is 245.36/241.18 MB/s. Physical test location, host and cache policy are unspecified. An empty-volume indicator alone does not establish LBA 0 or an outer-track test. These figures do not resolve their difference from the 215 MB/s rating or predict sustained 8TB copies.[10][1]

WD80EFPX owner benchmarks and their test conditions

Our buying advice combines official specifications with the original reviews below. We have not tested this product ourselves. Expand a review for its setup, measurements and limitations.

Reddit r/DataHoarder

jcodesMar 19, 2025

Owner GNOME Disks benchmark of WD80EFPX-68C4ZN0 in a UGREEN DXP2800

GNOME Disks average read: 175.7 MB/s; GNOME Disks average write: 96.1 MB/s; GNOME Disks average access time: 15.49 msec. Exact MPN with factory suffix 68C4ZN0. The averages describe that NAS SATA path and GNOME Disks method. They are not Windows CrystalDiskMark and not a warranty of other hosts.

Read the original review
Test setup, measurements & limitations

Owner GNOME Disks benchmark of WD80EFPX-68C4ZN0 in a UGREEN DXP2800

Tested: UGREEN DXP2800; GNOME Disks; /dev/sda1 partition 1 of an 8.0 TB disk; WDC WD80EFPX-68C4ZN0 firmware 81.00A81; sample size 10.0 MiB (10485760 bytes); 100 read/write samples; 1000 access-time samples; timestamp Wed Mar 19 18:15:04 2025.

Applies to: Exact MPN with factory suffix 68C4ZN0. The averages describe that NAS SATA path and GNOME Disks method. They are not Windows CrystalDiskMark and not a warranty of other hosts.

  • The on-screen identity is WDC WD80EFPX-68C4ZN0 firmware 81.00A81, matching the Nero Score suffix string.Source location: GNOME Disks 'Disk or Device' line in i.redd.it/exv81y365ppe1.png via Wayback 2025-03-23
  • The read trace generally declines over the displayed partition range; the reported 175.7 MB/s is an average of 100 samples, each 10 MiB. It is not a continuous whole-drive transfer.Source location: GNOME Disks 0–100% graph, Sample Size and Average Read Rate rows
  • The red write trace lies below the blue read trace; average write is 96.1 MB/s. The screenshot does not isolate a cause for this gap.Source location: Write trace and Average Write Rate row
Measurements reported by the reviewer
MeasurementResultConditions & source location
GNOME Disks average read175.7 MB/s100 samples, 10.0 MiB sample size, partition 1, DXP2800, 2025-03-19Average Read Rate line
GNOME Disks average write96.1 MB/s100 samples, 10.0 MiB sample size, same partition run; cause of read/write difference not establishedAverage Write Rate line
GNOME Disks average access time15.49 msec1000 samplesAverage Access Time line

Limits to keep in mind

  • One owner sample; GNOME Disks version, OS, filesystem and cache policy not disclosed.
  • Measured /dev/sda1, not a continuous full-device write; 100 × 10 MiB samples and 1000 access-time samples.
  • Reddit post and screenshot were read from archived originals; author names DXP2800 and GNOME Disks.
  • Neither a RAID/file-copy result nor proof of a DXP2800 hardware fault; no noise, power or endurance measurement.
Zigsow

MihailJPApr 24, 2026

Zigsow owner CrystalDiskMark 8.0.5 of WD80EFPX over USB

SEQ1M Q8T1 read: 245.36 MB/s; SEQ1M Q8T1 write: 241.18 MB/s; SEQ1M Q1T1 read: 243.46 MB/s; SEQ1M Q1T1 write: 240.15 MB/s; RND4K Q32T1 read: 1.37 MB/s; RND4K Q32T1 write: 3.97 MB/s; RND4K Q1T1 read: 1.25 MB/s; RND4K Q1T1 write: 3.74 MB/s. Exact base MPN WD80EFPX identified by article title and author-entered CDM label, without SMART identity. The result covers a 1 GiB USB-attached workload on N: showing 0% used. The screenshot does not reveal physical LBA or track location; it is not whole-drive sustained throughput or a NAS/RAID result.

Read the original review
Test setup, measurements & limitations

Zigsow owner CrystalDiskMark 8.0.5 of WD80EFPX over USB

Tested: CrystalDiskMark 8.0.5 Shizuku Edition x64 [Admin]; 5 passes; 1 GiB; N: 0% (0/7452 GiB); MB/s; caption 'ベンチマーク結果 (USB変換)'. Host, USB generation, bridge chipset, cache policy and filesystem are unspecified. Screenshot target label is typed WD80EFPX.

Applies to: Exact base MPN WD80EFPX identified by article title and author-entered CDM label, without SMART identity. The result covers a 1 GiB USB-attached workload on N: showing 0% used. The screenshot does not reveal physical LBA or track location; it is not whole-drive sustained throughput or a NAS/RAID result.

  • SEQ1M Q8T1 read/write 245.36/241.18 MB/s and Q1T1 243.46/240.15 MB/s. The visible 1 GiB workload and unspecified host/cache/USB path do not reproduce manufacturer rating conditions or establish a whole-drive average.Source location: CDM window SEQ1M rows; N: 0% (0/7452GiB) selector
  • RND4K Q32T1 read/write 1.37/3.97 MB/s and Q1T1 1.25/3.74 MB/s, on the same 1 GiB profile. These are recorded MB/s values, not NAS IOPS.Source location: CDM window RND4K rows
  • The author reports replacing a 6TB drive and purchasing from Dospara on 2025-01-16 for ¥30,750. No sponsorship statement was found in the short article; commercial relationships remain undisclosed.Source location: Review body; purchase-info-list; datePublished 2026-04-24T20:20
Measurements reported by the reviewer
MeasurementResultConditions & source location
SEQ1M Q8T1 read245.36 MB/sCDM 8.0.5, 5 passes, 1 GiB, N: 0%/7452 GiB, USB conversionRead column SEQ1M Q8T1
SEQ1M Q8T1 write241.18 MB/sSame runWrite column SEQ1M Q8T1
SEQ1M Q1T1 read243.46 MB/sSame runRead column SEQ1M Q1T1
SEQ1M Q1T1 write240.15 MB/sSame runWrite column SEQ1M Q1T1
RND4K Q32T1 read1.37 MB/sSame runRead column RND4K Q32T1
RND4K Q32T1 write3.97 MB/sSame runWrite column RND4K Q32T1
RND4K Q1T1 read1.25 MB/sSame runRead column RND4K Q1T1
RND4K Q1T1 write3.74 MB/sSame runWrite column RND4K Q1T1

Limits to keep in mind

  • One owner sample; ChooseCompute has not tested the drive.
  • 1 GiB workload on a volume shown as 0% used; physical test region is not disclosed.
  • USB conversion stated; host, bridge, USB generation, filesystem and cache policy are unspecified.
  • WD80EFPX in the CDM footer is an author annotation, not SMART identity.
  • No NAS/RAID, acoustic, power or reliability measurements.

Before you buy

Current and historical WD80EFPX listings and ownership costs

1 usable current main offer checked on 2026-09-10

Each current row keeps the selected main seller, condition, availability and only a price visible without a cart action. Null price means the main buy box hid it; every current fact is a dated observation that requires a fresh check before purchase.[4]

Compare the cost of usable storage

Budget for all drives in the array, backup capacity and eventual replacements. Compare the cost after your chosen redundancy overhead.[1]

Include power and the enclosure

The drive is rated at 3.4 W idle and 5.2 W read/write at room temperature. Actual consumption depends on operation; the NAS adds its own power.[1]

Verify the offered unit

Check WD80EFPX, one 8 TB drive, new condition, the actual seller and regional warranty. A retailer suffix is preserved in offer notes for verification.[1]

Compare stores for this exact model

One 8 TB WD80EFPX drive ·3.5-inch SATA ·CMR ·5640 RPM Check the total delivered price at the store.

Current price needs checking

Check stores below

5 stores · 0 recent price observations

Best Buy

Seller not recorded

$354.99

Historical price

Currency not confirmed

Stock not confirmed · Condition not recorded

Observed Sep 27, 2026, 1:56:41 PM UTC[14]

View exact product at Best Buy

Newegg

Sold by Newegg

$374.99

Historical price

Stock not confirmed · New

One 8TB 3.5-inch SATA HDD

Observed shipping: $0.00

Observed Oct 9, 2026, 1:23:24 AM UTC[13]

View exact product at Newegg

B&H

Seller not recorded

$415.99

Historical price

Currency not confirmed

Stock not confirmed · Condition not recorded

Observed Sep 27, 2026, 3:10:12 PM UTC[11]

View exact product at B&H

Prices are dated observations. Confirm the model, seller, condition, stock and delivered total at the store. Older prices remain visible as history. Links may earn a commission.

Compatibility, capacity and backup questions

Is this model CMR?

Yes; the official exact WD80EFPX column specifies CMR.[1]

Does the MTBF rating predict years of life?

No. It is a population estimate under specified workload and temperature conditions, not a promise for one drive.[1]

Does the NAS bay rating mean universal compatibility?

No. Check the exact enclosure, firmware and capacity qualification.[1]

Does RAID replace a backup?

No. Redundancy does not protect against every deletion, malware incident or whole-device loss. Keep an independent copy.[1]

Did anyone bench the exact WD80EFPX suffix?

Yes. An owner GNOME Disks chart on 19 Mar 2025 shows WDC WD80EFPX-68C4ZN0 firmware 81.00A81 in a UGREEN DXP2800: 175.7 MB/s average read, 96.1 MB/s average write, 15.49 ms access. It is one sample on that NAS.[7]

The Zigsow screenshot shows about 245 MB/s. Is that faster than the 215 MB/s rating?

The screenshot reports that value under a 1 GiB USB CrystalDiskMark workload. Host, cache policy and physical test region are unspecified, so it cannot be equated to the datasheet’s 215 MB/s conditions or used as a sustained NAS transfer guarantee.[10][1]

Sources

Research updated Sep 12, 2026. Individual source check dates are listed below. Measurements belong to the named reviewers; tested configurations and software versions may differ from the product you buy.

  1. [1] WD Red Plus HDD data sheet (September 2025) ↗

    Checked Sep 11, 2026 · September 2025 p.2 column WD80EFPX; footnotes 1–10

  2. [2] B&H WD80EFPX product listing ↗

    Checked Sep 8, 2026 · MFR WD80EFPX-SPC4ZN0; exact base MPN, 8 TB and quantity 1; In Stock and Add to Cart.

  3. [3] Western Digital WD80EFPX product listing ↗

    Checked Sep 8, 2026 · Exact SKU title/model confirmed; price and inventory appear as unresolved template fields. No stock inference from hidden buttons.

  4. [4] Newegg: WD80EFPX current US new listing ↗

    Checked Sep 10, 2026 · Exact MPN in H1; selected main offer shows Add to cart, seller Newegg, and a visible price of $354.99.

  5. [7] r/DataHoarder: WD80EFPX benchmark on DXP2800 (GNOME Disks chart) ↗

    Checked Sep 12, 2026 · Wayback 2025-03-23 post + i.redd.it/exv81y365ppe1.png GNOME Disks window

  6. [8] r/DataHoarder: two WD80EFPX write-zeros timings ↗

    Checked Sep 12, 2026 · Wayback capture of opening post and Carnildo reply

  7. [10] Zigsow: MihailJP WD80EFPX review with CrystalDiskMark screenshot ↗

    Checked Sep 12, 2026 · datePublished 2026-04-24T20:20; purchase 2025-01-16 Dospara ¥30,750; CDM 8.0.5 image mi_126334_1777029345_1714207931.jpg

  8. [11] B&H product price observation ↗

    Checked Sep 27, 2026 · Captured observation; sha256:5827ddba17cc770f0dbef0ec5af74dab6c75ab8ff3a8957fded09a2b135ed85b

  9. [12] Western Digital product price observation ↗

    Checked Sep 26, 2026 · Captured observation; sha256:860c0772de8a4dbd46ff86eae69b4c4003f596a611e1a860521c7d4ac5bd3d56

  10. [13] Newegg product price observation ↗

    Checked Oct 9, 2026 · newegg-main-item; sha256:cf986f33f55558a828f7239913ae11366a3e01b32ce5d941374b92b6ef048846

  11. [14] Best Buy product price observation ↗

    Checked Sep 27, 2026 · Captured observation; sha256:7516c281783e6493c36251c718d9438db7e6c35fd1425b5d5ea5522d1c431415

Research and review record

  • Research: Grok 4.6 · Targeted additional original-source research for five mainstream HDDs.
  • Self-check: Grok 4.6 · Source identity, method and data self-check; WD original session also verified the parent-supplied Zigsow lead.
  • Independent review: GPT-6 (Codex) · Original evidence verification, applicability decisions and correction of incomplete case follow-up and document interpretation.
  • Editorial integration: GPT-6 (Codex) · Preserve source history, update five local research records and existing coverage report.

Independent review completed for the scope recorded in the audit.

Source evidence and review history (JSON)

How we research products·Affiliate disclosure