Skip to content
← Back to buying guide

Technical reference

Western Digital WD Red Pro WD202KFGX 20TB specifications

One 20TB 3.5-inch SATA HDD, CMR / Helium, OptiNAND Yes, 512 MB cache, 7200 rpm. Enclosure sold separately.

Complete specifications with requirements, upgrade limits and sources. For our buying judgment, reviews and prices, return to the buying guide.

Find a specification

All specifications are shown below. Jump to a category or search for a detail, including its requirements and sources.

Search all 34 specifications, including conditions and limits.

Exact identity & capacity

Match the complete model number and plan usable capacity.

Exact identity & capacity specifications
Formatted capacity20TB decimal[1]
Exact modelWD202KFGX[1]
Same-capacity sibling SKUWD201KFGX[1]

Same-capacity SKU WD201KFGX: 268 MB/s, 6.9W read/write, 1.6W standby, operating shock 30G R/W. Tom's Hardware tested WD201KFGX, not WD202KFGX.

Connection & sector format

Check the physical bay, SATA connection and sector presentation.

Connection & sector format specifications
Form factor / interface3.5-inch / SATA 6Gb/s[1]
Advanced FormatYes; logical/physical byte sizes not stated in this brief[1]

Recording & NAS firmware

These rows distinguish recording method, vibration controls and vendor integration.

Recording & NAS firmware specifications
Recording / drive technologyCMR / Helium[1]
Rotational-vibration sensorsYes[1]
Native command queuingYes[1]
OptiNANDYes[1][6]

Table cell is Yes. Marketing sentences that name OptiNAND only for 22/24/26TB do not erase this 20TB cell.

NASware / TLERUS product page: NASware tuning and Time-Limited Error Recovery for RAID NAS. Not a per-column numeric in the data sheet.[6]

Rated performance

Published ratings describe specific conditions and are not every workload.

Rated performance specifications
Rotational speed7,200 rpm[1]
Cache512 MB[1]
Internal transfer rate, maximum285 MB/s[1]

NAS class & bay guidance

Bay-class statements do not replace the host vendor's compatibility list.

NAS class & bay guidance specifications
Rated bay classCurrent January 2025 data-sheet highlight and US product-page Compatibility field: RAID-optimized NAS systems with unlimited / any bay count. Older briefs and some reviews still say up to 24 bays.[1][6]

Highlight/product page vs older 24-bay language; not a host HCL.

Intended operation24×7 commercial and enterprise NAS[1]

Workload & reliability ratings

Population and workload ratings do not predict one unit's life.

Workload & reliability ratings specifications
Annual workload rating550TB/year transferred[1]

January 2025 footnote 6: Annualized Workload Rate = TB transferred × (8760 / recorded power-on hours); maximum rated at typical 40°C. This 550 TB/year ceiling is not the 220 TB/year condition used for the MTBF projection in footnote 5.

MTBF2,500,000 hours[1]

January 2025 footnote 5: projected population statistic at typical 220 TB/year and 40°C; derating occurs above those parameters up to 550 TB writes/year. Does not predict an individual drive or constitute a warranty. 2021–2022 reviews often still print 1,000,000 h / 300 TB/year — keep those as the article's then-current brief, not this column.

Load/unload cycles600,000[1]
Unrecoverable read error ratingLess than 1 in 10^15 bits read[1]

Warranty & support

Confirm regional coverage and proof-of-purchase requirements.

Warranty & support specifications
Limited warranty5 years[1]

Power & spin-up planning

Size power and cooling for active work as well as idle.

Power & spin-up planning specifications
12V peak current1.80A[1]
Read/write power6.1W[1]
Idle power3.6W[1]
Standby / sleep power0.9W[1]
Power measurement conditionRoom ambient temperature; numeric temperature not stated[1]

Temperature, vibration & shock

Stay within the documented installation and handling limits.

Temperature, vibration & shock specifications
Operating temperature0 to 65°C[1]
Non-operating temperature−40 to 70°C[1]
Shock (2ms)50G read/write; 50G read; 250G non-operating[1]
Vibration limitsUnknown; not stated in the January 2025 data sheet[1]

Published acoustics

Drive ratings do not predict sound from an assembled NAS.

Published acoustics specifications
Idle / seek acoustics20 / 32 dBA[1]

Manufacturer ratings; measurement method is not stated in this brief.

Dimensions & mounting

Confirm tray fit, mounting holes and weight.

Dimensions & mounting specifications
Height × width × depth26.1 × 101.6 × 147 mm[1]
Weight0.69 kg[1]
Country of originThailand[1]

Compliance

Regulatory statements apply to the documented revision.

Compliance specifications
RoHS complianceYes[1]

Exact product identity & open questions

Manufacturer part number
WD202KFGX[1]
Product
One 20TB internal 3.5-inch SATA HDD from the Western Digital WD Red Pro family; enclosure and additional drives sold separately.[1]
Revision rule
Match the complete WD202KFGX suffix on the listing and delivered label; another 20TB family member is not interchangeable evidence.[1]
Same-capacity sibling (not this SKU)
Same-capacity SKU WD201KFGX: 268 MB/s, 6.9W read/write, 1.6W standby, operating shock 30G R/W. Tom's Hardware tested WD201KFGX, not WD202KFGX.[1][6]
  • Long-term reliability: No controlled exact-MPN field failure-rate study is adopted. Workload, MTBF and warranty ratings do not predict the delivered unit.
  • Host compatibility list: WD claims vendor testing and unlimited/any bay count. Synology and QNAP compatibility URLs did not yield a usable per-MPN dump this round (JS shell / generic portal). Confirm the exact NAS.
  • Current US offer coverage: 2026-09-10 Newegg price/seller kept. 2026-09-11 primary .product-seller-sold-by confirms Sold by Newegg, IsNew, Instock, FinalPrice 847.99, ShippingCharge 0.01. Other-seller popover names were not used. Unknown-seller Newegg duplicate of this PDP archived. B&H 403 and Amazon bot wall unchanged; those older timestamps were not edited.
  • Original exact-MPN testing and indexing: No applicable original test with enough configuration and visible results was adopted for this suffix. Related sibling labs stay related. Keep noindex pending suitable testing and independent editorial review.
  • Unpublished exact-model specifications: Vibration limits remain Unknown in the January 2025 table. Logical/physical sector sizes are still not stated in that brief.
  • Video: No exact-WD202KFGX original video candidate this round.

Sources

Research updated Sep 11, 2026. Individual source check dates are listed below. Measurements belong to the named reviewers; tested configurations and software versions may differ from the product you buy.

  1. [1] Western Digital WD Red Pro data sheet — January 2025 ↗

    Checked Sep 11, 2026 · January 2025 family PDF, WD202KFGX column plus footnotes 1–8; highlights 'unlimited # of bays'

  2. [2] B&H: WD202KFGX historical US listing ↗

    Checked Aug 30, 2026 · Catalog record dated 2026-08-30: exact MPN, new condition, seller status retailer, availability in-stock. Historical catalog reference price $953.99. Any usable 2026-09-10 main offer is recorded separately rather than overwriting this historical observation.

  3. [3] Newegg: WD202KFGX historical US listing ↗

    Checked Aug 31, 2026 · Catalog record dated 2026-08-31: exact MPN, new condition, seller status marketplace-unverified, availability listed. No historical price adopted for this URL. Any usable 2026-09-10 main offer is recorded separately rather than overwriting this historical observation.

  4. [4] Western Digital: WD202KFGX historical US listing ↗

    Checked Aug 31, 2026 · Catalog record dated 2026-08-31: exact MPN, new condition, seller status manufacturer, availability listed. No historical price adopted for this URL. Any usable 2026-09-10 main offer is recorded separately rather than overwriting this historical observation.

  5. [5] Newegg: WD202KFGX current US new listing ↗

    Checked Sep 10, 2026 · Exact MPN in H1; selected main offer shows Add to cart, seller Newegg, and a visible price of $847.99.

  6. [6] WD Red Pro NAS Hard Drive — 20TB US product page ↗

    Checked Sep 11, 2026 · Key features, Specifications (Capacity/Model Number/Transfer Rate/Compatibility), FAQ comparing Red Pro vs Red Plus

Research and review record

  • Research: Grok 4.6 · Source research and data update
  • Self-check: Grok 4.6 · Researcher self-check
  • Independent review: GPT-6 (Codex) · Exact official column and revision differences; related-model review identity and supported interpretation; dated primary offers and source archive.
  • Editorial integration: GPT-6 (Codex) · Editorial integration and validation

Independent review completed for the scope recorded in the audit.

Source evidence and review history (JSON)

How we research products·Affiliate disclosure