Technical reference
Western Digital WD Red Pro WD6005FFBX 6TB specifications
One retail 6TB 3.5-inch SATA WD6005FFBX. Enclosure and extra drives sold separately.
Complete specifications with requirements, upgrade limits and sources. For our buying judgment, reviews and prices, return to the buying guide.
Find a specification
All specifications are shown below. Jump to a category or search for a detail, including its requirements and sources.
Search all 35 specifications, including conditions and limits.
Identity & capacity
Interface
Recording & firmware
Performance
7200 rpm, 256 MB, 267 MB/s table.
| Rotational speed | 7,200 rpm[1] |
|---|---|
| Cache | 256 MB[1] |
| Internal transfer rate, maximum | 267 MB/s[1][9] Unresolved official conflict on 2026-09-11: the January 2025 data-sheet column lists 267 MB/s (footnote 3, up to, read-based) while the US store specification block prints a lower figure that is numerically the same as the adjacent previous-generation column. That numerical match is suggestive, not proof of a page-implementation error. Do not average or silently pick one. |
NAS support
Unlimited-bay marketing plus TLER copy.
| Rated bay class | Unlimited # of bays (January 2025 family highlight and 2026-09-11 US store Compatibility line)[1][9] Family positioning; confirm the exact NAS compatibility list. Older WD Red Pro briefs said up to 24 bays. The specification table has no per-column bay-count cell. Unlimited marketing is not a vendor HCL entry. Baseline value “Up to 24 bays” is superseded by the current official surfaces. |
|---|---|
| Intended operation | 24×7 commercial and enterprise NAS[1] |
| Time-Limited Error Recovery (TLER) | Claimed on the US store RAID copy for the Red Pro family[9] Not a labeled January 2025 table cell. |
Reliability
550 TB/year and 2M-hour MTBF.
| Annual workload rating | 550TB/year transferred[1] Footnote 6: annualized TB transferred × (8760 / power-on hours); maximum rating specified at typical 40 °C. Not a lifetime TBW guarantee. |
|---|---|
| MTBF | 2,000,000 hours[1][9] Footnote 5: projected sample MTBF at 220 TB/year and 40 °C; derates above those parameters up to 550 TB/year. Does not predict one drive and is not a warranty. This air column is 2,000,000 hours, not the helium 2.5M-hour family headline. |
| Load/unload cycles | 600,000[1] |
| Unrecoverable read error rating | Less than 1 in 10^15 bits read[1] |
Support
5-year limited warranty.
| Limited warranty | 5 years[1] |
|---|
Power
2.00 A peak; 6.9/4.9/0.3 W.
| 12V peak current | 2.00A[1] |
|---|---|
| Read/write power | 6.9W[1] |
| Idle power | 4.9W[1] |
| Standby / sleep power | 0.3W[1] |
| Power measurement condition | Room ambient temperature; numeric temperature not stated[1] Footnote 8: power measurements at room-ambient temperature. Not NAS-pack watts. |
Environment
Acoustics
29 / 36 dBA ratings.
| Idle / seek acoustics | 29 / 36 dBA[1] Manufacturer ratings; measurement method is not stated in this brief. |
|---|
Physical
Compliance
Exact product identity & open questions
- Product
- One 6TB internal 3.5-inch SATA HDD from the Western Digital WD Red Pro family; enclosure and additional drives sold separately.[1]
- Revision rule
- Match the complete WD6005FFBX suffix. WD6003FFBX and older 6TB Red Pro SKUs are not interchangeable evidence.[1]
- Exact-model independent tests: No professional original lab test with method, charts and the exact current MPN was adopted. Older Red Pro capacities (WD4001FFSX, WD4003FFBX, WD6003FFBX, WD8003FFBX) are related family history only. User-submitted Nero Score and one Kakaku install note do not replace a controlled NAS benchmark.
- Exact NAS compatibility: WD store copy says RAID-optimized NAS with unlimited bay count and mentions vendor testing, but Synology and QNAP public HCL pages did not return a usable exact-MPN qualification table in this round (JS/search shells). Confirm the enclosure, DSM/QTS version and the exact MPN on the vendor list before buying an array.
- Family comparison video unread: YouTube DXM7znUSIPg (SomeTechGuy, WD Red Plus/Pro vs IronWolf/Pro) was found by title only. No ASR or identity frames were obtained. Do not treat it as a measured result for these MPNs.
- Official transfer-rate conflict: Unresolved official conflict: data sheet 267 MB/s vs US store 238 MB/s for WD6005FFBX on 2026-09-11. Equality with WD6003FFBX is suggestive, not proof.
- Unpublished exact-model specifications: Vibration limits remain Unknown; not stated in the January 2025 data sheet column.
- Current US offer coverage: Qualified: Newegg Brute Networks $434.45 (2026-09-10 kept), Amazon Buy New OneDealOutlet $438.38 3 left, CDW backordered $364.99. Unknown-seller Amazon/Newegg historical duplicates archived. B&H/MemoryC blocked. Walmart not adopted.
Sources
Research updated Sep 11, 2026. Individual source check dates are listed below. Measurements belong to the named reviewers; tested configurations and software versions may differ from the product you buy.
- [1] Western Digital WD Red Pro data sheet — January 2025 ↗
Checked Sep 11, 2026 · January 2025 PDF page 4 WD6005FFBX column, footnotes 1–8, page 1 unlimited-bays highlight
- [2] B&H: WD6005FFBX historical US listing ↗
Checked Aug 30, 2026 · Catalog record dated 2026-08-30: exact MPN, new condition, seller status retailer, availability in-stock. Historical catalog reference price $368.99. Any usable 2026-09-10 main offer is recorded separately rather than overwriting this historical observation.
- [3] Amazon: WD6005FFBX historical US listing ↗
Checked Aug 31, 2026 · Catalog record dated 2026-08-31: exact MPN, new condition, seller status marketplace-unverified, availability listed. No historical price adopted for this URL. Any usable 2026-09-10 main offer is recorded separately rather than overwriting this historical observation.
- [4] MemoryC: WD6005FFBX historical US listing ↗
Checked Aug 31, 2026 · Catalog record dated 2026-08-31: exact MPN, new condition, seller status retailer, availability listed. No historical price adopted for this URL. Any usable 2026-09-10 main offer is recorded separately rather than overwriting this historical observation.
- [5] Newegg: WD6005FFBX historical US listing ↗
Checked Aug 31, 2026 · Catalog record dated 2026-08-31: exact MPN, new condition, seller status marketplace-unverified, availability listed. No historical price adopted for this URL. Any usable 2026-09-10 main offer is recorded separately rather than overwriting this historical observation.
- [6] Western Digital: WD6005FFBX historical US listing ↗
Checked Aug 31, 2026 · Catalog record dated 2026-08-31: exact MPN, new condition, seller status manufacturer, availability listed. No historical price adopted for this URL. Any usable 2026-09-10 main offer is recorded separately rather than overwriting this historical observation.
- [7] Amazon: WD6005FFBX current US new listing ↗
Checked Sep 10, 2026 · Exact MPN in title; selected new main buy box provides Add to cart and shows seller Platinum Micro, Inc.; ships from Amazon; numeric price is hidden behind cart.
- [8] Newegg: WD6005FFBX current US new listing ↗
Checked Sep 10, 2026 · Reread 2026-09-11: still Sold/Shipped by Brute Networks at $434.45 Instock true. Original checkedAt kept.
- [9] WD US store: 6TB WD Red Pro WD6005FFBX ↗
Checked Sep 11, 2026 · Selected 6TB variant; Specifications 238MB/s vs table 267MB/s
- [10] Amazon WD6005FFBX B0D1V42F9B buy box 2026-09-11 ↗
Checked Sep 11, 2026 · Buy New accordion; OneDealOutlet Online; $438.38; Only 3 left
- [11] CDW WD6005FFBX 7892245 ↗
Checked Sep 11, 2026 · $364.99; InventoryAvailability Item Backordered
- [12] Western Digital warranty policy ↗
Checked Sep 11, 2026 · Region-specific limited warranty
Research and review record
- Research: Grok 4.6 · Source research and data update
- Self-check: Grok 4.6 · Researcher self-check
- Independent review: GPT-6 (Codex) · Exact Jan2025 WD Red Pro4/6/8TB columns and footnotes, conflicting official store values, exact current merchant primary offers and dated historical rows; bounded Kakaku user experience for4TB. No exact-MPN lab benchmark claimed; gaps and index decisions preserved.
- Editorial integration: GPT-6 (Codex) · Editorial integration and validation
Independent review completed for the scope recorded in the audit.
Source evidence and review history (JSON)