Skip to content

Synology · NAS buying guide

Synology DS1825+ NAS Buying Guide

Product facts and dated cost

Synology DS1825+ · Exact identity: DS1825+

8 primary bays · AMD Ryzen V1500B · 4-core · 8GB DDR4 ECC · max 32GB · 2 × 2.5GbE · Diskless: hard drives cost extra

Catalog amount: $1,549.99 · historical · Price record: 2026-09-27T04:11:49.910460+00:00. Tax and shipping excluded.

Historical price observation. Recheck the price and availability before buying; this is not a current offer.

DS1825+: specifications and dated store comparison →

Eight bays for shared storage, with room to grow

Diskless enclosure; 8 GB ECC RAM and dual 2.5GbE included. Drives, expansion shelves and faster network cards cost extra.

Based on Synology documentation, 3 original reviews and dated US merchant listings. We have not tested this NAS ourselves. See the review evidence ↓

Synology DS1825+ network attached storage system

Is the DS1825+ right for you?

Files and backups

Eight internal bays and DSM tools suit shared storage.[1][3]

Strong capacity fit

Future growth

Two DX525 units can expand SATA bay count to 18, with separate hardware and drives.[1]

Budget for add-ons

Virtual machines

ECC memory helps platform capability, but the aging processor is a weaker reason to buy for demanding VMs.[1][5]

Keep expectations modest

One fast file transfer

Standard single-port transfers top out at 2.5GbE; faster cards and suitable client/network hardware cost extra.[1][3]

Upgrade the whole path

Key NAS specifications

Full specifications ↗

Follow any specification for its full conditions and sources.

Living with it

Eight-bay capacity, networking and power

01

Size the archive around eight internal bays

The eight-bay chassis can meet a large storage requirement without an external shelf. Expansion adds cost and should be planned alongside backups.[1]

02

One 2.5GbE port sets a practical transfer ceiling

Profesional Review recorded296.32 MB/s sequential reads with two HDDs. Faster network cards cost extra; neither this two-drive test nor an aggregate claim establishes performance for a fully populated eight-drive system.[4][1]

03

Estimate power with the intended drive configuration

The manufacturer’s60.1 W access and 18.34 W hibernation ratings use its specified configuration. No securely attributed independent eight-drive power test was established from the selected articles.[1]

04

Check RAM requirements for large volumes and apps

Factory memory is 8 GB ECC. Vendor software ceilings often assume maximum RAM, and a volume above 108 TB requires at least 32 GB.[1]

What original reviews found

Our buying advice combines official specifications with the original reviews below. We have not tested this product ourselves. Expand a review for its setup, measurements and limitations.

NASCompares

Rob AndrewsJul 24, 2025

Transfer screenshots cannot be assigned to this model

The performance section contains an ATTO image naming a DS1525plus five-drive pool. Its transfer numbers are excluded from DS1825+ conclusions; the article remains qualitative context with explicit source conflicts.

Read the original review
Test setup, measurements & limitations

Synology DS1825+ NAS Review

Tested: Eight HAT5300 7200rpm HDDs in RAID 6; single 2.5GbE and additional dual-port tests. Factory 8 GB described; exact DSM build, client and memory change not stated.

Applies to: Qualitative article context and reported power states only; its transfer evidence has model-attribution conflicts.

  • The article describes eight drives, but its ATTO image names a DS1525plus five-disk pool. Transfer claims cannot be securely assigned to this DS1825+ configuration.Source location: ATTO frame network path; performance prose

Limits to keep in mind

  • Affiliate links are present; unit-provision terms were not located.
  • Dual-port aggregation details do not establish the speed of one ordinary file transfer.
  • Pre-DSM 7.3 drive-policy criticism is superseded by the current policy.
  • Noise test lacks microphone distance; no comparable acoustic result adopted.
  • ATTO screenshot explicitly names DS1525plus and matches the DS1525+ article; the AJA screenshot also lacks a securely identified DS1825+ configuration. Excluded from DS1825+ transfer evidence.
  • Two drive-policy screenshots show DS925+, not DS1825+.
  • Noise frames conflict with prose and omit a controlled method. Power states are reported without securely matching the pictured drive configuration; neither is adopted as a reliable eight-drive benchmark.
  • Full article and embedded frames read; complete video not watched.
Profesional Review

José Antonio CastilloApr 6, 2026

Two-drive sequential and random tests

With two HAT3300-4T HDDs, 8 GB and DSM 7.3, CrystalDiskMark showed 296.32/289.57 MB/s sequential read/write and 21.29/0.40 MB/s 4K Q1T1. RAID and client are unspecified; this is not an eight-drive test.

Read the original review
Test setup, measurements & limitations

Synology DiskStation DS1825+ Review en Español (Análisis completo)

Tested: Synology supplied the NAS and two HAT3300-4T HDDs. DSM 7.3; 8 GB described, no upgrade stated. Exact RAID, client and transfer workload not identified. CrystalDiskMark 9.0.1x64, four passes1 GiB, 2.5GbE.

Applies to: Two-drive setup and network observations.

  • The two-drive setup reached 296.32 MB/s sequential read and 289.57 MB/s write in the 1 MiB Q8T1 test.Source location: CrystalDiskMark screenshot
Measurements reported by the reviewer
MeasurementResultConditions & source location
CrystalDiskMark sequential1MiB Q8T1 read / write296.32 / 289.57 MB/sTwo HAT3300-4T drives, 8 GB, DSM 7.3;four passes1 GiB; RAID and client unspecifiedCrystalDiskMark screenshot
Sequential128KiB Q32T1 read / write296.39 / 182.41 MB/sSame configurationCrystalDiskMark screenshot
Random4KiB Q32T16 read / write277.01 / 51.27 MB/sSame configuration; small working set and high queue depthCrystalDiskMark screenshot
Random4KiB Q1T1 read / write21.29 / 0.40 MB/sSame configuration; not a sustained multi-client workloadCrystalDiskMark screenshot

Limits to keep in mind

  • Synology provided the unit and two drives.
  • The two-drive test does not establish eight-drive noise or power.
  • Drive-restriction commentary conflicts with the current DSM 7.3 policy; current official policy takes precedence.
ITdaily

Michaël AussemsMay 4, 2026

DSM and easy trays, with reservations about demanding apps

ITdaily liked the tray installation and DSM experience under DSM 7.3, but questioned the older processor for demanding containers and VMs. The review does not identify a controlled benchmark or exact drive configuration.

Read the original review
Test setup, measurements & limitations

Synology DS1825+ review: familiar ingredients, a trusted recipe

Tested: Original DS1825+ evaluation with DSM 7.3; factory 8 GB described. Test drive models, RAID and client hardware not stated.

Applies to: Qualitative setup, usability and platform assessment.

  • The reviewer values the tool-free trays and DSM experience, while questioning the aging processor for demanding containers and VMs.Source location: Installation; processor and conclusion

Limits to keep in mind

  • No controlled performance measurements or exact storage configuration identified.
  • Unit-provision terms not located.
  • Dutch and English versions are the same original test and count once.

Common HDD combinations

Examples ordered by recorded drive unit price, which may be historical or an editorial reference. Check capacity, vendor compatibility, included storage and price evidence before choosing. These are component checks, not compatibility certifications.

  • DS1825+ + 2 × WD Red Plus 2TB (WD20EFPX, 2TB each) →

    Component total: $1,859.97 · historical · Oldest price record: 2026-09-27T04:11:49.910460+00:00 · 4TB raw, before redundancy.

    Historical price estimate. Calculated from separately purchased components, not a complete-system offer. NAS price record: 2026-09-27T04:11:49.910460+00:00; drive price record: 2026-10-09T01:23:41.974420+00:00. Historical price observation. Recheck the price and availability before buying; this is not a current offer. Historical price observation. Recheck the price and availability before buying; this is not a current offer. Recheck component prices, stock, shipping and tax at the stores before purchase; even recent checks do not guarantee live prices.

  • DS1825+ + 2 × IronWolf 4TB (ST4000VN006, 4TB each) →

    Component total: $1,929.97 · historical · Oldest price record: 2026-09-27T04:11:49.910460+00:00 · 8TB raw, before redundancy.

    Historical price estimate. Calculated from separately purchased components, not a complete-system offer. NAS price record: 2026-09-27T04:11:49.910460+00:00; drive price record: 2026-10-09T03:58:24.994342+00:00. Historical price observation. Recheck the price and availability before buying; this is not a current offer. Price observed at the store on the shown date. Confirm the current price and availability at the store. Recheck component prices, stock, shipping and tax at the stores before purchase; even recent checks do not guarantee live prices.

  • DS1825+ + 2 × WD Red Plus 4TB (WD40EFZZ, 4TB each) →

    Component total: $1,939.97 · historical · Oldest price record: 2026-09-27T04:11:49.910460+00:00 · 8TB raw, before redundancy.

    Historical price estimate. Calculated from separately purchased components, not a complete-system offer. NAS price record: 2026-09-27T04:11:49.910460+00:00; drive price record: 2026-09-27T13:58:17.239646+00:00. Historical price observation. Recheck the price and availability before buying; this is not a current offer. Historical price observation. Recheck the price and availability before buying; this is not a current offer. Recheck component prices, stock, shipping and tax at the stores before purchase; even recent checks do not guarantee live prices.

  • DS1825+ + 8 × WD Red Plus 2TB (WD20EFPX, 2TB each) →

    Component total: $2,789.91 · historical · Oldest price record: 2026-09-27T04:11:49.910460+00:00 · 16TB raw, before redundancy.

    Historical price estimate. Calculated from separately purchased components, not a complete-system offer. NAS price record: 2026-09-27T04:11:49.910460+00:00; drive price record: 2026-10-09T01:23:41.974420+00:00. Historical price observation. Recheck the price and availability before buying; this is not a current offer. Historical price observation. Recheck the price and availability before buying; this is not a current offer. Recheck component prices, stock, shipping and tax at the stores before purchase; even recent checks do not guarantee live prices.

  • DS1825+ + 8 × IronWolf 4TB (ST4000VN006, 4TB each) →

    Component total: $3,069.91 · historical · Oldest price record: 2026-09-27T04:11:49.910460+00:00 · 32TB raw, before redundancy.

    Historical price estimate. Calculated from separately purchased components, not a complete-system offer. NAS price record: 2026-09-27T04:11:49.910460+00:00; drive price record: 2026-10-09T03:58:24.994342+00:00. Historical price observation. Recheck the price and availability before buying; this is not a current offer. Price observed at the store on the shown date. Confirm the current price and availability at the store. Recheck component prices, stock, shipping and tax at the stores before purchase; even recent checks do not guarantee live prices.

Before you buy

DS1825+ prices and ownership costs

Add drives and an independent backup

The offer is for an empty enclosure. RAID provides drive redundancy; keep a separate backup destination.[1]

Price the expansion path

DX525 shelves, their drives, a compatible network card, and suitable faster network equipment are additional purchases.[1]

Separate factory memory from volume limits

It ships with one 8 GB ECC module. The 32 GB maximum uses two matching 16 GB modules; volumes above 108 TB require at least 32 GB.[1]

Check optional recurring and license costs

C2 services, cameras beyond the two included licenses, additional MailPlus accounts and eligible extended warranty are separate costs.[1]

Match published workload figures to the installed memory

The full specifications retain manufacturer test conditions. Some application limits use maximum supported RAM or SSD volumes; extra RAM, SSDs and licenses can add to the enclosure cost.[9]

Compare stores for this exact model

Diskless enclosure; 8 GB ECC RAM and dual 2.5GbE included. Drives, expansion shelves and faster network cards cost extra. Check the total delivered price at the store.

Current price needs checking

Check stores below

4 stores · 0 recent price observations

Newegg

Sold by Newegg

$1,549.99

Historical price

Stock not confirmed · New

DS1825+; factory configuration; diskless enclosure

Observed shipping: $0.00

Observed Oct 9, 2026, 1:18:06 AM UTC[12]

View exact product at Newegg

Best Buy

Sold by Tech Deal

$1,549.99

Historical price

Currency not confirmed

Stock not confirmed · Condition not recorded

Observed Sep 27, 2026, 1:52:14 PM UTC[13]

View exact product at Best Buy

Adorama

Seller not recorded

$1,549.99

Historical price

Currency not confirmed

Stock not confirmed · Condition not recorded

Observed Sep 27, 2026, 4:11:49 AM UTC[14]

View exact product at Adorama

Prices are dated observations. Confirm the model, seller, condition, stock and delivered total at the store. Older prices remain visible as history. Links may earn a commission.

Questions before buying

Are drives or a faster network card included?

No. This page covers the diskless enclosure with factory 8 GB ECC memory and two 2.5GbE ports.[1]

How many drives can it hold?

Eight SATA drives internally, plus two compatible M.2 SSDs. Two separately purchased DX525 units can increase the SATA bay count to 18.[1]

Can one file use both network ports at once?

Do not assume that link aggregation doubles one transfer. Client, switch, protocol and connection configuration determine whether multiple links help.[1]

Can I create a 200 TB volume with factory memory?

No. The listed volume limit above 108 TB requires at least 32 GB RAM, as well as a suitable storage configuration.[1]

Can I use third-party drives?

DSM 7.3 broadened SATA HDD choice, while M.2 cache and pools remain compatibility-listed. Check the exact drive and firmware policy before purchase.[2]

Sources

Research updated Sep 11, 2026. Individual source check dates are listed below. Measurements belong to the named reviewers; tested configurations and software versions may differ from the product you buy.

  1. [1] Synology DS1825+ product specifications ↗

    Checked Sep 11, 2026 · Hardware + DSM tables, last updated Aug 6, 2026

  2. [2] Synology DSM 7.3 drive compatibility blog ↗

    Checked Sep 11, 2026 · SATA vs M.2 policy

  3. [3] NASCompares DS1825+ review ↗

    Checked Sep 11, 2026 · Wayback; 290–295 MB/s single 2.5GbE; 21–22 / 57–62 W idle

  4. [4] Profesional Review DS1825+ ↗

    Checked Sep 11, 2026 · Synology-supplied NAS + two HAT3300-4T; ~296 MB/s

  5. [5] ITdaily DS1825+ review ↗

    Checked Sep 11, 2026 · DSM 7.3 qualitative; aging CPU for VMs

  6. [6] B&H Photo Video DS1825+ new enclosure listing ↗

    Checked Sep 8, 2026 · Main new offer, seller, exact model and factory memory

  7. [7] Best Buy DS1825+ new enclosure listing ↗

    Checked Sep 8, 2026 · Main new offer, seller, exact model and factory memory

  8. [8] Adorama DS1825+ new enclosure listing ↗

    Checked Sep 8, 2026 · Main new offer, seller, exact model and factory memory

  9. [9] Synology DS1825+ product page ↗

    Checked Sep 11, 2026 · Same current US product page

  10. [10] Newegg — DS1825+ ↗

    Checked Sep 11, 2026 · Exact-model title, specification table, buybox price/seller and Add to cart; parent captured source

  11. [11] B&H product price observation ↗

    Checked Sep 27, 2026 · Captured observation; sha256:3738983893eda280b647c7b6010b71c677e2b3ed6ede1bc6d23d17ea0fea02d1

  12. [12] Newegg product price observation ↗

    Checked Oct 9, 2026 · newegg-main-item; sha256:a0a59441e08814f14b8c5f3f421a715c88eaa3b3bd4a9eb027fafa092f70a2be

  13. [13] Best Buy product price observation ↗

    Checked Sep 27, 2026 · Captured observation; sha256:d4d9786879bf32fd0ac548fec5bce5d5c2ff687dd6963aa8c06ad94caa2c0f8e

  14. [14] Adorama product price observation ↗

    Checked Sep 27, 2026 · Captured observation; sha256:151a31b0ac9ffc6a366b189830be58735fdb2bf78e77e81a3ac27b51d145039a

Research and review record

  • Research: Grok 4.6 · Source research and data update
  • Self-check: Grok 4.6 · Researcher self-check
  • Independent review: GPT-6 (Codex) · Independent available original prose, official hardware/software tables and recorded chart review. Source-specific contradictions resolved or excluded. Current Newegg buyboxes checked; inaccessible merchants retain historical dates. Full videos not reviewed.
  • Editorial integration: GPT-6 (Codex) · Editorial integration and validation

Independent review completed for the scope recorded in the audit.

Source evidence and review history (JSON)

How we research products·Affiliate disclosure