Compare large-block tests with mixed-file copies
Large blocks can approach the 2.5GbE link limit; mixed-file copies were slower. Use the workload closest to yours.[2]
Synology · NAS buying guide
Synology DS725+ · Exact identity: DS725+
2 primary bays · AMD Ryzen R1600 · 2-core · 4GB DDR4 ECC · max 32GB · 1 × 2.5GbE + 1 × 1GbE · Diskless: hard drives cost extra
Catalog amount: $527.99 · recent · Price record: 2026-10-09T03:59:25.699572+00:00. Tax and shipping excluded.
Price observed at the store on the shown date. Confirm the current price and availability at the store.
DS725+: specifications and dated store comparison →Compact DSM storage with a fixed 2.5GbE ceiling
Diskless DS725+ with factory 4GB ECC memory; drives, NVMe and expansion shelf are separate.
The DS725+ is a compact two-bay 2025 Plus with 2.5GbE, ECC RAM to 32 GB, and a DX525 path to seven bays. IT Pro, PC-WELT and TechRadar all tested the enclosure; none of them make it a 10GbE or heavy-VM box. ChooseCompute has not tested it. See the review evidence ↓

Follow any specification for its full conditions and sources.
Living with it
Large blocks can approach the 2.5GbE link limit; mixed-file copies were slower. Use the workload closest to yours.[2]
The external five-bay shelf is optional. Buying more internal bays initially is a separate choice.[1]
TechRadar’s media workflow validates file storage and sync experience, with no transcoding measurement.[3]
Our buying advice combines official specifications with the original reviews below. We have not tested this product ourselves. Expand a review for its setup, measurements and limitations.
Simon HandbyFeb 20, 2026
Cache did not accelerate the simple transfers; the SSD volume improved mixed-file copies.
Read the original reviewSynology DiskStation DS725+ review: a near-perfect NAS for startups
Tested: Two 6TB WD Red Plus HDDs in RAID 1; two supplied 800GB SNV3400-series SSDs tested as RAID 1 and cache. Windows 11 client, 2.5GbE; factory 4GB described, exact DSM build not stated.
Applies to: Controlled HDD, SSD-volume and cache comparisons.
| Measurement | Result | Conditions & source location |
|---|---|---|
| ATTO 2MB read / write | 296 / 272 MB/s | Uncached HDD RAID 1 over 2.5GbE.Performance |
| Mixed 11.1GB copy write / read | 92 / 99.2 MB/s HDD; 105 / 129 MB/s SSD | Windows 11 client; separate RAID 1 volumes.Performance |
| ATTO 4 KB write / read | 56 / approximately 60 MB/s | HDD RAID 1; Windows 11 client over 2.5GbE. Large blocks reach higher speeds.Performance |
| PCMark 10 Data Drive | 487 points | HDD RAID 1; synthetic score is not a transfer rate.Performance |
Limits to keep in mind
Collin ProbstFeb 25, 2026
Setup and cross-device file access were straightforward in this media workflow.
Read the original reviewSynology DS725+ review: a compact NAS with powerful performance, and perhaps one flaw
Tested: Several weeks; two 8TB Seagate IronWolf HDDs and two Synology NVMe cache drives, reported 800GB cache. Zyxel switch, 2.5GbE, two media computers and separate 1GbE failover. DSM 7; exact build, RAM and RAID not stated.
Applies to: Media-file storage and cloud-sync experience.
Limits to keep in mind
Ines Walke-ChomjakovMar 15, 2026
The faster port improved both the film copy and the many-file backup.
Read the original reviewSynology DS725+ im Test: Flottes NAS mit viel Upgrade-Potenzial
Tested: Seagate IronWolf Pro HDDs with unspecified capacities/MPNs and RAID; 4 GB RAM, no SSD accelerator. Article prints DSM 7.3.2.-86009 Update 1 with an extra dot; exact build string is therefore not silently normalized. Separate 1GbE and 2.5GbE tests; client hardware unstated.
Applies to: Current-firmware file and port comparison.
| Measurement | Result | Conditions & source location |
|---|---|---|
| UHD film write / read | 227.60 / 238.90 MB/s | Tears of Steel over 2.5GbE; exact RAID not stated.Test-Ergebnisse |
| 4195-file, 2GB backup write | 72.65 MB/s | 2.5GbE; factory memory, HDD volume.Test-Ergebnisse |
| 1GbE UHD film write / read | 105.00 / 109.64 MB/s | Same film test as 2.5GbE; drive capacity and RAID unspecified.Test-Ergebnisse |
| 1GbE 4,195-file backup write | 48.10 MB/s | 2 GB many-file backup versus 72.65 MB/s on 2.5GbE.Test-Ergebnisse |
| Concurrent film and backup | 160.45 MB/s at 2.5GbE; 87.28 MB/s at 1GbE | Combined workload; not an additional independent large-file speed.Test-Ergebnisse |
| Idle / hibernation / load / off power | 22.3 / 8.6 / 33.7 / 0.1 W | No SSD accelerator. Load chart/table says 33.7 W; prose says approximately 31 W.Test-Ergebnisse |
| Idle / load temperature | 29.9 / 31.2 °C | Sensor location and ambient temperature unspecified.Test-Ergebnisse |
Limits to keep in mind
Examples ordered by recorded drive unit price, which may be historical or an editorial reference. Check capacity, vendor compatibility, included storage and price evidence before choosing. These are component checks, not compatibility certifications.
Component total: $837.97 · historical · Oldest price record: 2026-10-09T01:23:41.974420+00:00 · 4TB raw, before redundancy.
Historical price estimate. Calculated from separately purchased components, not a complete-system offer. NAS price record: 2026-10-09T03:59:25.699572+00:00; drive price record: 2026-10-09T01:23:41.974420+00:00. Price observed at the store on the shown date. Confirm the current price and availability at the store. Historical price observation. Recheck the price and availability before buying; this is not a current offer. Recheck component prices, stock, shipping and tax at the stores before purchase; even recent checks do not guarantee live prices.
Component total: $907.97 · recent · Oldest price record: 2026-10-09T03:58:24.994342+00:00 · 8TB raw, before redundancy.
Dated price estimate. Calculated from separately purchased components, not a complete-system offer. NAS price record: 2026-10-09T03:59:25.699572+00:00; drive price record: 2026-10-09T03:58:24.994342+00:00. Price observed at the store on the shown date. Confirm the current price and availability at the store. Price observed at the store on the shown date. Confirm the current price and availability at the store. Recheck component prices, stock, shipping and tax at the stores before purchase; even recent checks do not guarantee live prices.
Component total: $917.97 · historical · Oldest price record: 2026-09-27T13:58:17.239646+00:00 · 8TB raw, before redundancy.
Historical price estimate. Calculated from separately purchased components, not a complete-system offer. NAS price record: 2026-10-09T03:59:25.699572+00:00; drive price record: 2026-09-27T13:58:17.239646+00:00. Price observed at the store on the shown date. Confirm the current price and availability at the store. Historical price observation. Recheck the price and availability before buying; this is not a current offer. Recheck component prices, stock, shipping and tax at the stores before purchase; even recent checks do not guarantee live prices.
Before you buy
The enclosure includes 4GB RAM and no storage drives. Budget for a separate backup destination.[1]
The DX525, additional HDDs, memory and NVMe SSDs are separate purchases. There is no supported NIC upgrade.[1]
Photos object recognition requires at least 4GB; AI de-identification requires at least 8GB and Container Manager. Application ceilings often assume maximum RAM.[1]
Two camera licenses and five MailPlus accounts are included; additional licenses and eligible warranty extensions cost extra.[1]
The full specifications retain manufacturer test conditions. Some application limits use maximum supported RAM or SSD volumes; extra RAM, SSDs and licenses can add to the enclosure cost.[7]
Diskless DS725+ with factory 4GB ECC memory; drives, NVMe and expansion shelf are separate. Check the total delivered price at the store.
Lowest observed price
$527.99
In stock at observation
Currency not confirmed
5 stores · 1 recent price observation
Sold by Amazon.com
$527.99
Observed price
Currency not confirmed
In stock at observation · Condition not recorded
Observed Oct 9, 2026, 3:59:25 AM UTC[12]
View exact product at AmazonSold by B&H Photo Video
$529.99
Historical price
Stock not confirmed · New
Diskless enclosure; factory 4GB
Free Expedited Shipping Limited promotional supply; before tax; export restrictions apply.
Observed Sep 8, 2026, 3:48:53 PM UTC[5]
View exact product at B&H Photo VideoSold by Newegg
$551.49
Historical price
Stock not confirmed · New
DS725+; factory configuration; diskless enclosure
Observed shipping: $0.00
Observed Oct 9, 2026, 1:19:07 AM UTC[10]
View exact product at NeweggSold by Newegg Official
$699.99
Historical price
Currency not confirmed
Stock not confirmed · Condition not recorded
Observed Sep 27, 2026, 1:53:39 PM UTC[13]
View exact product at Best BuySeller not recorded
$829.99
Historical price
Currency not confirmed
Stock not confirmed · Condition not recorded
Observed Sep 27, 2026, 4:13:35 AM UTC[11]
View exact product at AdoramaPrices are dated observations. Confirm the model, seller, condition, stock and delivered total at the store. Older prices remain visible as history. Links may earn a commission.
There is no network upgrade slot. The included interfaces are one 2.5GbE and one 1GbE port.[1]
Yes, RAID 1 or a suitable SHR layout can protect against a drive failure. They reduce usable capacity and do not replace an independent backup.[1]
It connects the separately sold DX525 expansion unit. The USB-A port is separate.[1]
No. IT Pro found no benefit on its simple transfers, while a separate SSD volume improved mixed-file copying.[2]
Research updated Sep 11, 2026. Individual source check dates are listed below. Measurements belong to the named reviewers; tested configurations and software versions may differ from the product you buy.
Checked Sep 11, 2026 · Hardware + DSM tables
Checked Sep 11, 2026 · ATTO 296/272 MB/s; 11.1 GB copy
Checked Sep 11, 2026 · Weeks of media/DaVinci use; no MB/s table
Checked Sep 11, 2026 · DSM 7.3.2-86009; UHD 227.60/238.90 MB/s
Checked Sep 8, 2026 · Exact model and 4GB diskless configuration; main offer
Checked Sep 8, 2026 · Exact model and 4GB diskless configuration; main offer
Checked Sep 11, 2026 · R1600; 4 GB ECC / 32 GB; 1×2.5GbE+1×1GbE; DX525 to 7 bays; 65 W
Checked Sep 10, 2026 · Selected buy-box seller; Product information model; New offers. MAP-hidden main price is not inferred from other sellers or recommendations.
Checked Sep 11, 2026 · N82E16822108852; $527.99 (was $558.99); Sold by Newegg
Checked Oct 9, 2026 · newegg-main-item; sha256:ad58be3f340261c9c0ee980c9ce83b52c16cecfd7da4b85254ff85f2d54a1a81
Checked Sep 27, 2026 · Captured observation; sha256:a89f2944256268eb92b8a7bf5e01d02378f7eb46e92a01ce29b397941afe1deb
Checked Oct 9, 2026 · Captured observation; sha256:66d3f5347aed4b429108ec90dcded946f1702371f300f6f6b2139cccc433842e
Checked Sep 27, 2026 · Captured observation; sha256:6160a73dfa3f6404f3ef8c60e6205bae36ec02776c5f7514d394879d16477b95
Independent review completed for the scope recorded in the audit.
Source evidence and review history (JSON)